We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second trip since becoming hard rock”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hard rock in November. While there was still construction going on it was NEVERan inconvenience. The food was great and generally all the staff were great. While we did have a problem with our room, remember they had just reopened the rest of our stay was great. If you go to have a good time you will. We have booked again for April, bringing along our son and his girlfriend with us this time and while we have separate rooms we are all looking forward to having a great time. I will post when we get there if we are disappointed but I don't think so

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Hi Margaret M,

Thank you for sharing your experience, on behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya I would like to thank you for your great review and high recommendations. I am really glad to see you had a terrific time and that you are actually coming back within a few weeks for another Rock Star vacation. See you soon. ALL IS ONE.

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,691 - 6,697 of 10,656 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

Having visited the other three HARD ROCK Resorts , (Punta Cana, Cancun, and Puerto Vallarta) I was very curious to see the resort at Riviera Maya (formerly Adventura Spa/Cove). Arrival and reception were excellent and the greeting by Rosy and her staff made us feel right at home. Although there is no beach here, the lagoon offers a clear venue where one can bath in the ocean in a very protected area with the fish. The cabanas and small sandy beach are quickly booked in the morning as these spots are covered.
The entertainment crew kept things upbeat and the shows could use some improvement.
The resort is divided for an adult section(HEAVEN) and a family section (HACIENDA) where there is a great Kids Club and entertainment and supervision for children throughout the day.

The Spa was a highlight for me and my wife. Luis Martinez and Alberto Paris gave us unbelievable service. Guest services helped us to meet all of our needs..kudos to Danialle and Ester .
The new French restaurant drew us there for dinner for three nights. The hostess, Brigida, waiters Hermelindo and Edwin, and the Sommelier Edgar made each evening an EVENT.

Two butlers that served us (Jose and Carlos) were very attentive and were the best that we have experienced at all of the Hard Rock resorts.

Before I left, I had the privilege of meeting Rodrigo del Toro (hotel Manager) and Roberta Ortiz (Sales Manager). Both of these gentlemen assisted us in every way they could including having one of the new SKYVIEW TERRACE Suites where your spa is located on the top level giving you a magnificent view of the ocean and the resort while relaxing in your hot tub with a mood modifying beverage in your hand.
Although there were still some renovations taking place, they were minuscule and did not stop us from having a fantastic week at the Riviera Mayas.

Room Tip: Skyview terrace if you like great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GaryM523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear GaryM523,

Thank you for your great review. I am glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay from the beginning to the end and that so many members of our staff made you feel like a true celebrity. Be ensured that Luis Martinez, Alberto Paris, Danialle, Ester, Brigida, Hermelindo, Edwin, Edgar, Jose and Carlos will know what a great job they did at making your stay unforgettable. I am happy to know that you enjoyed at the fullest our new sky terraces and I hope we will have the chance to host you soon, once again here at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya.

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Wow...where do I start?
We have just returned from the best vacation we have ever had! ( and we have had many)
We were a party of 12 adults we were all there for our wedding. Accompanied by our 5 adult children ( all in their 20's) and friends.
Edith, our wedding planner was delightful and so much help.
We stayed on the Heaven side and loved every bit of it. Aside from the lobby area being a little bare everything else was perfect. The service, the beds were so comfortable, the resort is so clean, the check in was great, the food was good, the excursions we did were hilarious and the service level was top shelf!
Eddie by the pool is absolutely amazing! He kept us laughing all day every day! The live band was amazing as well by the pool.
I just cant say enough good about the HR Riviera Maya ! We are already planning our next trip for same time next year!
Feel free to contact me if you need any more information! dawnjewell6@gmail.com

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Hi Dawn M M,

I am very pleased to see that you had a wonderful Rock Star vacation. On behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Rivera Maya I would like to thank you for choosing our resort as the stage for your weeding. We love hearing feedback when our staff members provide a service that rock; thank you for mentioning the service from Edith and Eddie. We are looking forward to welcome you again next year for another excellent experience. LOVE ALL, SERVE ALL.

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
15
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I paid for 3 rooms over a 2 week period and 2 of the 3 had jet tubs that didn't work… the internet never worked and so on… The staff is friendly and the place is very nice… But they did not give me the room I paid for and I had several other issues that were never tended to…

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, Gerente at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. This office is aware of your dissatisfaction; I am personally concerned about your experience at our resort; on behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your visit. I would like to have the opportunity to change your perspective about our resort reason so I'm going to have a specialist contacting you via PM to address your concerns and I can assure you I will be on the top of the situation. Best regards

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I recommend you pick a different hotel. Check in time is 3pm. We didn't get our room until 7pm. We had arrived at the resort at 11 am fir a special event and wasted our whole first day trying to get our room. They kept telling us it wasn't ready and to come back to the desk in an hour. We stood in long lines every hour 4 times. They told us the people had not vacated our room yet. I am sure there was at least one clean and empty room out of 1600 they could have put us in!!
When we did get our room there was a half consumed bottle of water in our refrigerator. They never refreshed any pop, water or beer until our 3rd out of 4 days. They were very stingy with towels. The WIFI did not work in our room. I had to go to the lobby to get WIFI. There were large crickets in our room. We were on the 2nd floor and most of the elevators didn't work so we carried our suitcases up and down the stairs. The resort is large. There are two lobbies. We were close to one but had to go all the way to the other one to exchange any money. They made us check in and out in the convention hall so we had to drag our suitcases at least a quarter mile on cobblestone walks. Overall, not a great experience for $500.00 per night. we actually moved our bed to the opposite side of the room each night because the air conditioner blew straight onto us at night which was miserable. The in room safe battery died TWICE so we had to wait for maintenance to open it to get to our belongings and money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, Gerente at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Esteemed guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are much appreciated. This office is aware of your dissatisfaction, I am personally concerned about your experience at our resort. On behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your visit. Please allow us to have the opportunity to change your point of view about our resort. I will have a specialist contacting you to via PM to address your concerns and I can assure you I will be on the top of the situation. Once again thank you for your feedback, best regards.

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

After reading all the bad reviews we were very apprehensive on what to expect. We stayed in the "Heaven side". Our rooms were excellent, with the exception of water leaking from the shower. We were very impressed to have ocean view rooms. Housekeeping was below average for a 5 star resort. Buffets were well stocked with a good selection. Ala cartes were great. Serving staff were excellent for the most part. Victor in the Spanish resteraunt made our first night a great experience. Premium liquor throughout the resort was very nice to have. Entertainment at the pool was a lot of fun. It is great to see guys that really love their job. Massages were fantastic as was the golf at Playacar on the resort credits.

There is still construction going on but it was fairly limited. Our only complaint with that was hearing a tile saw operating at 1 AM for about 10-15 minutes.

Overall a very nice resort. Would be fantastic if there was a beach!

I hope to return and see the finished product

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gord F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, Director General at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Hi Gord F,

Thank you for sharing your opinion. We try our best to accommodate the requests of all our guests, and are glad that we could exceed your expectations this time. Thank you for mentioning Victor and the entertainment staff by the pool, I am going to tell them how great they did to make of your vacation a great experience. It is wonderful that you are planning to come back. We will roll out the red carpet for another Rock Star vacation.
Kind regards.

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

If you are accustomed to the type of service and luxury offered by Palace Resorts, you may not be happy here. The rooms were nice but not much higher quality than a Holiday Inn. We were bored stiff after 3 days and switched to the HR Cancun. Then the vacation really began. The service was beyond exceptional, the rooms were amazing and the food was so much better than the Riviera Maya. I must say though that this more of a party resort and many of the woman wear next to nothing in the way of bottoms and the night life clothing isn't much better. Very young crowd. I would likely stay at a Palace Resort instead if we took the kids ever. Bottom line-skip the Riviera Maya unless you want mid level service, food and rooms. One huge perk is the spa. If you stay there make sure you understand how the Hydrotherapy room works ect. Well worth making a spa appointment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flowerandkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, Gerente at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Esteemed guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are much appreciated. This office is aware of your dissatisfaction; I am personally concerned about your experience at our resort. On behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your visit. I would like to have the opportunity to change your point of view about our resort so I will have a specialist contacting you via PM to address your concerns and I can assure you I will be on the top of the situation. Once again thank you for your feedback, best regards.

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
17.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Ri...
#2 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,831 reviews
2.5 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,487 reviews
16.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#5 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
3,424 reviews
14 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
7,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $331 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the 1,264-room Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya. And this is where luxury meets satisfaction on a stage of stunning tropical views, a private white sand beach, and exclusive saltwater snorkeling areas. It's all capped off with an inviting traditional design, legendary Hard Rock hospitality, and undeniable excess at every turn. Live large at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya and enjoy the very best of paradise for all. Or, pack your appetite for opulence and hit Heaven - an elevated and exclusive retreat for adult guests only featuring a private adult beach, superlative amenities, and dining at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Cove Palace Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing