We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My family went to this resort for a week in April and really enjoyed ourselves. We had our 4 year old with us and she had a blast as well, this resort is very family friendly. The service by the staff was excellent. In particular our waiter Luis Daniel Yekon in the Ventanas was superb. He made our daughter ballon animals and a special strawberry milkshake, which she loved. It was my birthday and he did his best to make it a very special experience for me as well, we truly enjoyed our dinner with him.

We have stayed at Palace Resorts for the past 6 years when traveling to Mexico. On our prior vacations we were always allowed to use the amenities at other Palace Resorts. Apparently this has now changed and unless you are a member you can no longer use the amenities at the other resorts. So if you are staying at Aventura do not plan on using the beach or facilities at Playacar Palace. This was very disappointing and we will consider other resorts on our next vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Hello Jeremy A , thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great stay and felt the family vibe we strive to portray. Thank you for your nice comments about the service, we will let Luis Yekon know you thought he did an awesome job. We sincerely hope you visit us again in the near future so we can pamper you with the best service in the Riviera Maya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,683 - 6,689 of 10,281 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

A top notch resort with some of the best staff, from the bellboy all the way to the travel advisors and restaurant personell. Palace Resorts members, take note, this is NOT a palace resort, it is transitioning to Hard Rock, however, this is did NOT make our trip anything less than a top notch experience. Two very important points to note: 1) altough an exercise facility is advertised on the website, this is false advertising. There was NO gym at this resort, one has to go over to the Aventura Spa resort, which does NOT allow children below 18 years of age (this was a disappointment to my 17 year old). The Spa resort is an adults only place, however I did not see anything 'adults only' about the Spa Palace. 2) there is NO beach at this and the Spa Palace resort. There is a cove for snorkeling, however, if snorkeling is your primary aim to stay at this resort, do not bother. Go to some other Palace resort.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is closer to the Spa Palace, so that you have easy access ot both the Cove and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hi Raj P, we appreciate your comments.

We offer you services and facilities from high quality to enjoy your vacation we are glad to know that we met your expectations.

With all due respect we show you on our webpage information about the locations that we have in each area we also include a paragraph concerning the beach area and the cove that we have.

Thank you again for your comments.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Wow, what a great place, the staff are wonderful and the service is incredible. We stayed at the Aventura Cove from Apr 1 to Apr 8 and we enjoyed it immensely. The snorkeling in the ocean was great, the activities during the day at the pool were fun, the shows at night were a blast. This was our first all inclusive family vacation and everyone in our family returned very satisfied. Thank You for the great time Aventura Cove you really do a great job keeping the guests happy !

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank somosloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hi somosloco, we are very exiting hearing that you enjoyed your first all inclusive experience with us.

We include extreme activities as snorkel and kayak, our entertainment team works very hard innovating shows and activities to complement your vacation.

Once again thank you very much for sharing your experience. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My family stayed at this resort for a week in April. We had a phenomenal time. It's a great resort for kids, with tons of activies and a pool that my family loved. My daughter is 10 and had a wonderful time. The cove is beautiful and offers snorkeling and kayaking which we loved. The $1500 in resort credits was nice. We used all $1500 on activities ranging from a tour of Chitzen Itza, golf, swimming with the dolphins and spa.

The resort is in need of updating in terms of the rooms and lobby. It looks a bit worn but they are in process of becoming a Hard Rock so I'm sure it will look great when finished. The hot tubs in the rooms are a waste of space. I mean who needs a double jacuzzi in a double room on a family vacation? The room would have been so much better without the monsterous jacuzzi.

The best part of the resort was the wonderful staff. Everyone treated us great and went out of their way to provide good service. Overall, we had a great time and a great trip. I would recommend the hotel for families who want to have a fun filled vacation experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hello Amanda W, Thank you very much for your kind comments; we are glad hearing that you spent a good time with us and that your daughter enjoyed the kid´s area.

As you mentioned we are a huge resort and we have a lot of activities to do, our facilities have big pools, gym and a great spa, it´s good that you took advantage from it.

Also as you mentioned we are in a transition process and I am sure that you will love our upcoming style.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

we were at Aventura Cove from March 30th to Apr 6th. We were taken by third class bus from airport to the hotel. It was very dirty inside the bus so I was afraid our 3 kids were not touching anything and put fingers in their mouth afterwards. Not sure if this is problem of Sunwing Travel Agency or Aventura Hotel, but please don't treat your Customers with such a ride to 5 start hotel we were paying for... when we came we were given room and bus boy and everything was OK. We had to call receiption that first day around 9:30pm after we found out nobody set 2 cribs for our twin girls when we came back to room from walk. They sent them 20 minutes later but it wasn't a nice wait especially with 2 babys waiting for them so they can sleep after a long trip from toronto. First night was noisy one too. Lot's of noise from stuff carts thru hallways all night long. For some reason second night was much better, not so much traffic in acoustic ground level hallways. Our biggest dissapointment was beach. There is very little sand beach available. I would avoid this resort if you like natural beauty white sand beach... Not much shade to hide from sun if you have 3 kids with you. Second day we forgot everything for kids play tools including swim support rings and inflating pool on the beach. It was all gone tomorrow morning. I was told to go to Lost & Found dep at the reception just to learn that nobody reported it was found. It was hard to believe someone would have taken ALL gears for 3 kids, so they had to play and swim with little that I was able to buy in resort shop (extremelly expensive!). Anyways, we were glad to see almost all stuff was helpful, and people treated us nice. Food was quite good and no problems there. One more thing we did not find is entertainment. There was no much programm going on in the evenings at the Cove side. I've been to resort before that is 4 star and every night I was enetertained better then at Aventura which was advirtised to us as 5 star.
Overall, for guys who have kids (especially younger ones) and like sand beach I would not recommend this resort. Oh yes we did not find use to jakuzzi that takes 1/4 of room. Would rather not have it in our room, but they all have them.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PavleP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hello PavleP_13 thank you for sharing your experience with us.

First of all accept our apologies for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay.

We regret to know that you had an inconvenience with the transportation service, we rarely receive this kind of comments, also is noteworthy to mention that On Tour is an independent contractor, but rest assured that we will pass them your comments. We do everything in our power to comply your requests as soon as we can, but you should understand that exists a procedure and we attend the requests in the order that we receive so we attended yours as soon as was possible.

We do not have any reports from other guests concerning noise issues, we recommend report these matters to our attention during your stay to take immediate actions.

In reference to your comments about the lack of beach, with all due respect allow me to inform you that we clearly included this information at our website and we strongly invite you to check it.

Our lost & found process is an exhaustive procedure where we involved our collaborators and guests, then once we set up the report we inform you if we receive any information, unfortunately we did not had good news but keep in mind that it still pending, so if we know something we will let you know.

We appreciate you mentioned the warmness and kindness that characterize our staff.

We appreciate that you shared your experience.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went in Feb/13 for 8 days. I have 2 kids 13 and 15 year old .

The only bad thing I can say is there is NO Beach which we did miss but the Lagoon was fun. Bring bread with you and feed the fish. Lots to see in lagoon.
Iguana's love grapes and mango.

The rooms were clean and the staff is Great !!!

Food is just Ok had better but what are you going to do.

For my kids there was nothing to do, everything was on the spa side which is a must to do. Loved the Spa. But my kids could not go there . They had to use the cove side. No big deal there.

Night life ... nothing really. Everything ended aroound 11pm
Show's the rest as any other resort.

So if you just want to sit around the pool. This is your resort!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AAMW1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hi marylou m, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our readers.

It´s good to know that you felt our warm service, we work very hard innovating items to surprise you.

We really loved that you enjoyed the wild life, as you may already know we are in the middle of the jungle and we have direct interaction with iguanas and other reptiles.

Our kids club is a huge area where children can experience authentic moments. The housekeeping is pending to do their job to leave the rooms as our guests deserve.

Our entertainment team works very hard they provide you with familiar games, kids activities you can find it in our different facilities.

Our daily activities include shows as live bands, karaoke nights, and fire shows those are AMAZING!

In regards to your comments about the lack of beach, please let me inform you that you can visit our website and you will find detailed information concerning this topic.

Thank you again for your time.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We travelled to the Aventura Spa Palace (now a Hard Rock Hotel) from Dec 23 - 30, 2012. We thought we'd like to try being away over Christmas and based on this experience, we wouldn't do it again! (At least not at a big hotel.)

I have been to this resort and loved it, especially the $1,500 room credit. We went the morning of our first day there to book everything - I would recommend others to do this. Others that arrived on Dec 26 & 27 went to book and nothing was available - no spa appointments, no tours, etc. Be specific when you book your appointments at the spa. I did not specify that I preferred a woman therapist, and when I went to change it, you'd think I was asking for the world! (Despite my best efforts, I never did get a woman.) The therapists I did have were great and professional.

As usual, the food at the resort was great. However, due to the Christmas season, it was an hour long wait at any of the a la carte restaurants. We adapted, but the wait was especially frustrating when we'd see many empty tables at the restaurant.

This resort has no "natural" beach - you cannot swim in the open ocean. There is a wall built so the ocean water flows through a lagoon in the resort. We enjoyed swimming in here. There are a few little pockets of quieter areas which we sought out, as the pool was way to loud for us all day. BTW, you had to be up and claiming a chair at 7 a.m. at the latest anywhere on the resort or you weren't getting one. We actually saw two ladies get into a fight over a chair!

Rooms were nice and clean. We had asked for a King bed and they did not have this available, so they put two doubles together which wasn't ideal. Also, we had booked the Aventura as it was an Adults Only resort. Right beside our room was a sign that said no kids beyond this point - our neighbours had a child in their room! It seems that perhaps the Aventura Cove was overbooked so they put families on the adult side of the resort? This was disappointing as many of us pay extra for adults only.

We had some interesting situations with room service, but nothing to worry about. They never seemed to get our wine order right, but it really wasn't a big deal. We ended up treating it a bit like a game to see what kind of wine we'd get that evening!

Checking out was a bit of a hassle as they argued with us for 1.5 hours that we owed extra on our room ($200) and we did not. Thank goodness we had kept some of our spa receipts! Finally we ended up talking to someone higher up that promptly understood the problem and cleared our account just in time for us to jump on the shuttle. This was frustrating and not a good way to end our otherwise pleasant vacation.

I would certainly re-visit the Aventura Spa Palace, but not over Christmas. They did not seem equipped for all the people.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiprhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hello Hiprhonda, We much appreciate your review.

As you mentioned you traveled on Dec which is the highest season everywhere and some of your suggestions came from that reason.

The lounge chairs issue is fixed, trust me we have new equipment and it is not happening again.

Since you book we clarify the special what is a special request and that those are subject to availability, unfortunately we were up to 100% and we were not able to attend special needs as the type of bed; long check out is normal, that is why we try to prevent it and we take actions to avoid it occurs, we send you a ledger with your charges a day before your departure.

We have 8 restaurants, those provide you food every day, but most of the time guests want to go to a specific restaurant at the same time that is why is a little bit hard to us offer you quickly service.

All our staff is a professional and certificated team, and we are glad hearing that you enjoyed the services that our therapists offered you.

That is what we recommend to our guests, book in advance the services and treatments that they want, so you will save time and you will be able to get a relaxing experience. Is good to know that took advantage from it. We also have an email contact on our webpage where you are able to send your requests before your arrival.

Once again we appreciate your time.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
17.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Ri...
#2 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,677 reviews
2.5 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,191 reviews
14 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#30 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
7,711 reviews
13.9 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#21 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
9,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $335 - $749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the 1,264-room Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya. And this is where luxury meets satisfaction on a stage of stunning tropical views, a private white sand beach, and exclusive saltwater snorkeling areas. It's all capped off with an inviting traditional design, legendary Hard Rock hospitality, and undeniable excess at every turn. Live large at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya and enjoy the very best of paradise for all. Or, pack your appetite for opulence and hit Heaven - an elevated and exclusive retreat for adult guests only featuring a private adult beach, superlative amenities, and dining at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Cove Palace Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing