We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as last year”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gringo's Cantina - CLOSED

Gringo's Cantina
Price range: $3 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Gringo's Cantina was formerly Gringo Dave's. Dave has sold the place but the new owners have kept the same theme and made it even better. Gringo's offers great food at reasonable prices as well as live music, sports, and Karaoke. The location on the marina overlooking the dolphins is excellant and the staff is great.
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not as good as last year”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Went for happy hour a few days ago and the margaritas were so watered down. Waste of money. Six of us had dinner and no one was very impressed. Went here lots last year but won't be back again. Only one server but he did a fantastic job all by himself.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanwalkwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    47
    21
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kincardine, Ont. Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A must go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

If your in the marina you have to at least stop for a Margarita at Gringo Dave's. Dave's is almost an icon in the marina and serves good food and if you time it right you can check out his Ford hot rod with a chevy engine. Cheers.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luvsunets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Tons of fun. New owner this year. Great food. Atmosphere great
We loved the music. Had a ball with the dancing and karaoke

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lemrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
“Fun Place! Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were walking the beach in Puerto Aventuras when we were approached by a lovely young man handing out flyers for a free marguerita! He really did a good job of selling us on the place so we took our entire family that evening coupons in hand to enjoy our freebie! Well...we have been back there for lunch and dinner four times since then! We had seen the place but really never stopped in but we're happy that we did! The prices are probably the best in town and the food was great! Our only complaint is that on two of the occasions there was a reggae band playing (not the greatest) but the atmosphere was fun! We will be back for sure! Thanks to your promoter!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Our Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were there three nights ago, had a great evening. Entertainment was fantastic and the meal delicious. We had garlic shrimp. The host made it a great time, we are going back tonight with our enitre family, 14 of us. Vickery family from Canada

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gringo's Cantina also viewed

Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing