We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adults only? Poor maintenance.”
Review of Villas del Mar 2

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Aventuras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas del Mar 2
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adults only? Poor maintenance.”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is my first time writing to trip advisor, and I am only doing it so other family doesn't make the same mistake. We just returned from our 6th visit to Puerto Aventuras and for the first time we feel the need to post a review. We had never booked a place in Villas del Mar 2 and do not feel like going back. We have mixed feelings about doing it because we do not want to harm this beautiful community but we feel it is necessary to warn others so they will not have high expectations about this property. First of all, it seems that longtime residents might have a problem with families with young children: Noise is not tolerated and we were shushed a few times while having dinner in our own terrace and our children were asked not to play ball. We overheard a full time resident whining about children, you can imagine how uncomfortable it was to listen to their constant protest about children “being just children” when we are the proud parents of 3 healthy and full of energy kids, ages 12, 9 and 6! So we decided to spend the rest of our time on the beach away from such a cheerful crowd. Second, we experienced some water problems two days in a row and when we approached the agency we have used for many years, they explained to us that Villas del Mar 2 do not have staff available in the property after 5 P.M. Our problems started the first day around 3 in the afternoon when we came back from the beach and all we wanted was a hot shower. The people at the office called the administrator several times, who did not answer the phone, and we were promised another place in a different property if the water problem was not solved on time! After what seemed like an eternity without such a basic service, the staff who seemed to be annoyed with our problems sent a maintenance person to take care of the problem. The second day we just did not have any water, no water coming out from any faucet at 4 P.M. and the same story, no one around to fix it! And you guessed it? The administrator did not answer the phone! You think they should have learnt something, HA! At the end of the day our agent persevered, the water service was re-established after 6 P.M. and we did not have to move.
Overall we enjoyed our stay but we won't go back. I only recommend it to others if you get a good deal on it and you are ok with it not being deluxe. I wouldn't go back again or recommend it to families with young children. There are other resorts in the area that are similarly priced that are more customer friendly and family oriented like Villas del Mar 1 (they only share the name). It seems to me that the full time residents would be happier without renters.

On the positive side: The beach and snorkeling were good. Watch out for those hidden rocks under the sand in some spots. Landscaping in the public areas was nice. Our cleaning gals were amazing.
We also enjoyed some good meals at Massimo’s and Pizza Paparazi is hard to beat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pal877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virden, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We rented 108 as a 2 bedroom for 17 nights. We had done all our bookings through Sol Maya rentals (Andrew). All our communications with Andrew were good. Before and during we had no issues with any communications. Even when we had some issues Andrew was around. We arrived there a few hours early. So we went and walked around. When we got back at 3.30 pm the unit was not ready yet. But the view from the front door through the condo was fabulous. This is a great location if you wanted to have rest and relaxation and feel secure. The proximity to diving and other amenities were good. The beach itself was adequate but unfortunately there is no swimming directly in front of the unit. A short walk to the Omni for swimming. We had an issue with the barbecue that was not resolved, that was a downer for us. The unit itself was spacious and airy with huge master bedrooms. The maid service was okay but no warning when she was coming in. One of the issues we had was the noise from the condo next to us. For about 7 of the nights different groups were in and partying and could be occasionally quit loud.
The grounds keepers were awesome always around to help. The pool was always clean and beautiful. Our Villa del Mar neighbours were always there to answer our questions. Some were very inquisitive, but that is to be expected. So over all we would definitely recommend this unit if you are looking at a safe, quiet and relaxing time. The question remains are we coming back next year, not sure.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I returned 2 weeks ago from a fabulous vacation at Villa del Mar 2 and still can't stop thinking about how perfect it was. It, most definitely, exceeded our expectations.
I made all arrangements for the rental through Sol Maya Vacation Rentals . Andrew, with Sol Maya was exceedingly patient and prompt in answering my numerous questions during the booking process. He provided detailed and accurate information that was so helpful in making the decision to book the condo.
And it didn't end there. He was easily accessible if needed during the trip. He went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time, from refilling water bottles, giving restaurant and activity suggestions, even buying us an ingredient that we couldn't find at the local market.
From the moment we walked into the condo we had that "aha" moment when we saw the fabulous ocean view through the wide expanse of glass in the living area.
Our requirements for a vacation destination are: ocean front condo with patio/deck, walking distance to restaurants, dive shop within walking distance or with transportation provided, 3 bedrooms, nice swimming pool, activities nearby for all vacation participants.
This condominium complex and the area of Puerto Aventurous provided all of these and more and is ideally suited for a vacation with friends or family.
The grounds of Villa del Mar II were beautiful and well kept. The condo(108) itself was beautiful and large enough that we never felt cramped. It was a terrific bonus to have a washer/dryer available, free wi fi, and a phone for free calls back to the US.
We did not feel the need for a car for the vacation since everything we needed was within walking distance. If you want to do a day trip taxis are readily available or you can rent a car for the day at the entrance to PA. We did this for one day and had a great day trip to Akumal.
Some of our favorite restaurants were: Massimo, Latitude 20, and Paparazzi Pizza.
We also splurged one night and had a fabulous meal cooked right in our condo by Tina from cateringtina. You can choose from several different cuisines. We had a Greek meal and it was delicious.
Another highlight of the trip was diving with Dive Aventurous. Everyone at the shop from the owners, Karen and Mike, to the staff, and other divers I met were terrific. It was a great experience.
We were lucky enough to be there duing a sailing regatta. It was fun watching all the boats in the bay. We also enjoyed watching the kite surfers, the flyboarders, and parasailing. There is certainly something for everyone to do.
We used USA Transfers for our transport from airport to and from condo. They were fabulous also, We had 3 separate arrival days for our group and they provided excellent communication and service. I have used them before and will use them again.
So...all in all a great vacation and one I hope to repeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iowak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatley
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have just returned from an awesome 2 week trip to Villas del Mar 2 in Puerto Aventuras. We have been traveling during the Christmas holidays for the last 8 years and this was our best experience yet. Villas del Mar2 was beautifully kept and the pool was perfect for us and the kids. One of my favourite parts of this trip was sitting out on the wall with a coffee watching the sunrise. Two weeks of perfect weather didn't hurt either. Our condo owner was in the group of those who purchased the kayaks so we enjoyed their use a few times. We walked and swam over to the lagoon on the other side of the marina inlet to the south... absolutely beautiful water and fish. The distance from the Omni and town was a nice little walk. We never felt the need to have a car or even a golf cart. We enjoyed the fresh fruit and veggies from the market on Wednesdays and Saturdays. Andrew from Sol Maya was just a quick email away at all times and took care of everything that we needed. The grocery service was a nice way to begin our two weeks of relaxing. For future vacations we know that we can count on Andrew to ensure we get what we are looking for. Even if the rental is not listed on his site, I'm sure we will go through Sol Maya just so we are guaranteed the same level of service we enjoyed this year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in Villa Del Mar II #301 and they view is stunning from the balcony. The entire condo is looking at the beach and has full glass view from inside. The service was wonderful. We had an issue with one of the lights and stopped by Blue Carribean to let them know and before we made it back the maintenance man already had it fixed! The furnishings are beautiful, beds very comfortable. Everything about this condo was a wonderful dream come true! We are already looking forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traci E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Just returned home from a 5 star week at Villas Del Mar 2 unit 108. Waking up to coffee overlooking the ocean was the highlight of our trip. The owners in the surrounding units were incredibly friendly and helpful with our plans. They went out of there way to help with resturant suggestions, even printing maps to help us with directions. It felt very much like staying in a small friendly neighborhood. I have to disagree with previouse reviews of this complex saying the owners were difficult and didn't like renters, we found everyone to be incredibly friendly. My husband and myself traveled with 3 teens and one 10 year old. The unit itself was very clean and staying right on the ocean cannot be beat. The convience of being able to get snacks and a cold drink saved us a lot of money. Andrew Leigh of Sol Maya rentals was great to work with. We used the grocery service and he had the condo all stocked with fresh produce, cold drinks, and snacks for the week when we arrived. He even brought extra beach toys for the older kids and checked in a few times through the week. The locals were also very friendly. I almost hesitate to write this review, because I want to keep this little gem a secret! I hope it will be available for our spring break next March. After staying in 108, I would never stay anywhere else in Puerto.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNmom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We recently returned from a terrific week in Puerto Aventuras. Our large extended family (8 adults and 8 children) rented units 101 and 108 for the second year in a row. We were very pleased as return customers and are delighted to say that our return visit was even better than the first! (If that is even possible...)

The units flank the pool and grassy area and the view of the ocean cannot be beat. There is nothing like opening the sliding glass doors in the morning and walking directly onto a large patio where the views are terrific. We loved the indoor/outdoor living and used the patio much to our advantage...eating meals there, enjoying drinks and using the hot tub.

Both the pool area and grounds at VDM2 are meticulously groomed. We loved the shallow entry into the pool (for the little ones) and the depth in the rest for the older kids. Water temperature was perfect! Very friendly neighbors throughout the complex were always willing to offer suggestions on things to do/restaurants.

Proximity to town is great. We enjoyed the short walk either by street or on the beach. Speaking of, the beach near the Omni is awesome. Shallow, warm, calm water for the kids and soft, white sand. Perfect!

The units themselves were very clean and contained all the necessary components we were looking for. Washer and dryers are a definite plus!

Thank you to Sol Maya Rentals and Andrew for making our family vacation a perfect one. We also appreciated the grocery service...it sure was nice to arrive to our kitchen already stocked. Every aspect of our stay at VDM2 was worthy of 5 stars!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaCaHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Aventuras hotels
0.7 mi away
LM Hotel Boutique
LM Hotel Boutique
#2 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Reso...
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Ri...
#1 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aventuras Club
Aventuras Club
#1 of 13 in Puerto Aventuras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas del Mar 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas del Mar 2

Property: Villas del Mar 2
Address: Puerto Aventuras Resort, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Aventuras
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Villas Del Mar 2 Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing