We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
134
37
12
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
37
12
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 185 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2016

People are nice and welcoming at the hotel. The hotel is in a beauty spot with peaceful garden and plantation. The atmosphere is nicer than in a big hotel. The tour was well organized and pretty cool.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank juliasF7960OM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2015

In the tiny town of Rioverde, one expects the bare essentials in a Hotel. This is not the case with La Malacca! From the INCREDIBLE property to the attentive staff La Malacca was top notch. They provided great meals and fantastic accommodations for our three night stay. Moreover, the tours they provided were exceptional with great local knowledge that made for a truly unforgettable experience. Special thanks to Franco for giving the scoop on great adventure activities (Rafting, waterfalls etc.) and Goyo forgetting us there and back in one piece! A++

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

A very charming hotel that guarantees a nice holiday. The rooms are clean, the personal and the owner very nice and attending and the general atmosphere of the hotel and its installations invite to relax and chill.

PS: Try their hamburger, it´s prepared with their own recipe and it is delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SvenTA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

From the moment we were greeted by Aldo, the owner, we knew that we would enjoy our stay in this small hotel with its peaceful garden setting. Aldo and all of his staff made us feel very welcome, more like friends than just guests. The personal touch was really evident in the special meal, discada, that Aldo prepared one night for all of his guests. One of the guests even acted as Aldo's "best man" in assisting in the preparation of the discada, while we observed the cooking process.
The tours arranged by Aldo were also spectacular and unique, allowing us to explore the natural beauty of La Huesteca. The tour to the Sotanos de las Golondrinas, Cave of the Swallows, to watch the vencejos (white-collared swifts and vencejos (grees parrots) emerge in the early morning was magical. This was followed by breakfast in Aquismon and the opportunity to try zacahuil, a giant tamal of four to six feet wrapped in banana leaves. From here we went to the Castillo de Edward James, created by an eccentric Englishman. The gardens and structures were phenomenal and lour guide, the son of two employees of Edward James who grew up on the grounds, was very informative.
The other tour to Real de Catroce was also spectacular as we rode in Willys Jeeps up steep roads to the town of Real de Catorce which was a mining town created in the late 19th century.
Equally important were the wonderful people we met at La Malanca. We had an opportunity to practice our Spanish --- my wife's being far superior to mine --- while our new Mexican friends practiced their English.
If you are looking for a great vacation spot away from the chain hotels in a unique natural setting, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mbemsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is definately one of those places that you don´t see very often.
La Malanca is the perfect place when you want to unwind.. everything in it is simply special.
It doesn't have many rooms but this gives it its charm. Every room is uniquely decorated to have its own personality. You can't be closer to nature (NO TVs!)...
The place is great, the service is awesome (the owner makes sure he spends time with every guest, and the staff is great), the food is delicious, and special, because you can ask for whatever you want to eat (if they have the ingredients, they'll make it) and if you're lucky the owner might just cook you breakfast... most ingredients like vegetables and eggs are fresh from the pick. You can walk around, flowers and trees everywhere... We definitely loved it and would like to return soon...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IrmitaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews