We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Real" Deal”
Review of Hotel Real Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Real Plaza
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in San Luis Potosi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this clean, comfortable, and restful room! We had a corner and could see the entire city from our side. There was construction happening, but they kindly started after 9 to let us sleep in a bit. The staff is kind, willing to serve and aims to please. Didn't try the restaurant, but when we went in, it was quite busy. It should be pretty once the renovations are finished. I am also not one to care very much, but the soap and the shampoo were great, I loved how they smelled and I felt super clean after. Very reasonably priced for this gem!

Room Tip: We stayed in 901, a short elevator trip up and couldn't really hear others in the hallway. Love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LVSquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RealPlazaWM, WebAdmin at Hotel Real Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thanks for your kind review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to have you with us in your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 363 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is old but have strategic location, close from downtown, people and service was great, rooms are spacious and great view of the city, Pool is perfect, quiet and clean, food is good, you can get anything with a very good price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roblopez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We stayed for two nights to hear our favorite band play at the hotel and another location. The shower sprayed everywhere and we finally, after 3 trips to the desk, got the gaskets changed. Then within an hour the toilet overfloyed (emply, thank goodness) and my husband was able to shut off the water. Maintenance showed up quickly and made some adjustments but within a short time it was acting up again.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

When we booked this hotel, we did it because of the location and good price, I knew it wasn't a 5 star hotel, but still we were disappointed in several aspects. First, upon checking in the lobby looks old and there was a lot of noise from a party or bar, I'm not sure. The parking spots are really tight. The hotel in general is way past it's prime, and even though one could look past old style furniture, there were some areas that really needed some maintenance, like the ceiling in the bathroom had some mold. The room was a nice size but the carpet needed a good cleaning, my husband's allergies immediately acted up like they never had before. The air felt heavy and especially in the bathroom there was a lingering smell, like mold probably. The mattresses were terrible, too hard, it was almost like sleeping on a table, and the pillows were even worse.
Also, traveling with toddler I felt some amenities were missing which could've made the stay more comfortable.
If you're willing to put up with a few issues, to save some money and you plan to spend all day out maybe it could work, but I seriously doubt I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JJandE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

When I visit this Hotel it was my First visit to San Luis de Potosí. The hotel is a little bit old but the rooms are quite spacious.

The food from the hotel is really cheap and the staff is very kind and helpful. They can guide you to almost every place on San Luis.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juanvzla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

My sister and I recently stayed at the Real Plaza where we enjoyed a wonderful stay. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The restaurant located in the hotel was excellent, with great breakfast buffet and great dinner menues.

The location of this hotel is ideal you could just walk down the avenida to stroll in the evenings. We would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nena4849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2005

We have stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions and had a positive experience both times. While the hotel is a little past its prime the price is moderate, it is clean, the service is very professional and attentive, and the location is ideal for exploring historic SLP on foot (about 4 blocks from center). Free parking available in a parking garage 1 block away. No safes in room. Some of the corner rooms have floor-to-ceiling windows that provide great views.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank C.Hendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Potosi hotels
4.8 mi away
Ibis San Luis Potosi
Ibis San Luis Potosi
#22 of 47 in San Luis Potosi
222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Francisco
Hotel San Francisco
#17 of 47 in San Luis Potosi
123 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn San Luis Potosi
Comfort Inn San Luis Potosi
#13 of 47 in San Luis Potosi
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel One San Luis Potosi Glorieta Juarez
Hotel One San Luis Potosi Glorie...
#11 of 47 in San Luis Potosi
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#19 of 47 in San Luis Potosi
161 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Potosi
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Pot...
#12 of 47 in San Luis Potosi
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real Plaza

Address: Avenida Venustiano Carranza 890 | Colonia Moderna, San Luis Potosi 78250, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > San Luis Potosi > San Luis Potosi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in San Luis Potosi
Price Range: $36 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Real Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Real Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing