We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel ripped me off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Museo Palacio de San Agustin
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in San Luis Potosi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I rode in on my bike after a day of riding from Durango. I went to the front reception and was quoted 1400 pesos and the rate was 11.9 that day. I asked to look at the room and was shown a single room king bed and deluxe bath. I said OK and again at the front reception again confirmed the rate and again was told 1400 pesos and that included breakfast. The asked for my credit card and even though they advertised American Express the aske3d for my Visa Card. It was run at 5000 pesos. I asked why and they said incidentals and phone if needed. The next morning on checkout I was billed 4016 pesos. My bike was in their locked in garage area so in order to leave I had to pay the extorted amount. The price of the free breakfast was 100 pesos so basicly I paid 3916 pesos or $337.47 for a single room. I have looked up on the internet and have seen rates as low as $60 a night for a 4 day with the same type of room with a max of $250 a night for a double suite. This type of business practice needs to be scorned and I plan to dispute this highway robbery with my card with all my data I am collecting on this hotels booking rates.

Nice hotel in a great area but buyer beware these guys are crooks and should be avoided

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank PopiGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMuseoPalacio, Manager at Hotel Museo Palacio de San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Mr. PopiGrande,

I personaly wanted to apologize for the inconvenience you mention you had in our place.

We revised your case with my front desk department and I must say the things written in your review does not match to me and with my daily operation, for example my rate never changes cause We always use 13.50 pesos since 2 years ago and we never had a rate per room of $60 usd as you can check in all my websites.

Our goal is to create memories, to make you feel the experience of a real palace, and of course to make your stay in San Luis Potosi as memorable as could be.

We hope you can give us the opportunity to host you again in a near future.

Best Regards,
Clarissa Arzola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Museo Palacio de San Agustin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 80 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

Truly beautiful, relaxing, and within walking distance to everything in the Centro Historico de San Luis Potosi. The rooms are clean and spacious. The furniture all authentic to the era. The staff is eager to help in anyway they can. Its like staying in a time capsule. Take the tour. And enjoy getting lost amongst the rest of San Luis Potosi.

If you're looking for a pool though find someplace else. To be honest, with so much to experience you won't miss the water.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smurf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

A unique experience in San Luis Potosi. The antiques throughout the place do set the ambiance and the fact that every room has a distinct personality, is an invitation for future visits. We took a tour of the hotel and were shown the different antiques in the rooms that were available at the time, which was a nice welcoming gesture. Our chosen room was decorated in good taste and was very comfortable and quiet, with access to one of the terraces. The staff was every bit as attentive as you would expect in a top tier hotel, without being overbearing. The service at the restaurant maintained the standards of the rest of the staff and the restaurant in itself was not lacking in charm; yet it is located in the interior of the hotel without a view. Since we enjoyed two nights of wonderful weather, we decided to have our meals in one of the terraces. The food quality varied from merely acceptable for the more sophisticated or exotic courses, to extraordinary for the more simple and traditional ones; so, as long as you choose from the local delicacies and traditional courses, you’ll be treated to a memorable meal. The location is excellent for strolling around historic downtown San Luis and overall we had a fantastic and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bdluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

Its a boutique hotel right in the historic center of San Luis Potosi which opened this year. Beautifully renovated! There is a little chapel inside the building. Maids are wearing handsome costumes and so on, very tasteful. Queen Margarethe of Denmark has been amongst the first visitors..

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margeritha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirinaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: las que dan al interior del hotel, normalmente son más tranquilas y tienen vista a un patio interior...
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JavierCrisol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Potosi hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton San Luis Potosi
Hilton San Luis Potosi
#7 of 47 in San Luis Potosi
496 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Real Plaza
Hotel Real Plaza
#5 of 47 in San Luis Potosi
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Concordia
Gran Hotel Concordia
#28 of 47 in San Luis Potosi
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Francisco
Hotel San Francisco
#18 of 47 in San Luis Potosi
119 reviews
3.5 mi away
Conrad San Luis Potosi
Conrad San Luis Potosi
#13 of 47 in San Luis Potosi
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#16 of 47 in San Luis Potosi
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Palacio de San Agustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Palacio de San Agustin

Address: Galeana 240 | Zona Centro, San Luis Potosi 78000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > San Luis Potosi > San Luis Potosi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in San Luis Potosi
Price Range: $197 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Palacio de San Agustin 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Museo Palacio de San Agustin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing