We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was a great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Fornebu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scandic Fornebu
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fornebu
Certificate of Excellence
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It was a great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stay mostly at Scandic hotels when traveling in Northern Europe, and this hotel has been by far the best Scandic hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms are very signature Scandic design but if you are lucky, you can get a room with great view which I did. The location is a bit far from everything, but the view overlooking the fjord is more than enough to make up for it. The staff are very helpful and warm, and the breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenayuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHBJO, Manager at Scandic Fornebu, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi


We rely appreciate your feed back and are happy that you enjoy your stay with us, we will share this with all our staff.

Hope to see you soon again as our guest.

Best Regards
Scandic Fornebu
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    207
    86
    30
    15
See reviews for
103
60
8
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is ideal, if you have business to do in Fornebu and you don't need to go downtown. If you are heading back to airport, you should take a taxi or bus to closest railway station and take a train to the airport. There is a railway station and a taxi ride costs ca. 200 KR to there. (Bus 30KR).

The hotel is new and quite stylish. Service was polite and breakfast was nice as expected. There is really nothing to complaint, perhaps the price would have been issue, if I had travelled by my own expense. Free Wifi was working and you can rent a bike for free to explore neighbourhood in freetime.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AleksiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHBJO, Manager at Scandic Fornebu, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi

Scandic Fornebu has many big company`s as our neighbors and are glad that there visitors like to stay with us.

We hope you stay with us the next time you are in the neigtborhood .

Best Regards
Scandic Fornebu
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaca, Cyprus
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We arrived late into the night and were informed that instead of a family room (which we booked) there was a mistake and they booked a single room for us! However they dealt with it very efficiently and immediately arranged for a Junior Suite which was spacious with great views.
Staff were really friendly and attentive to all our questions.
Loved the breakfast with a great variety of healthy and organic food. Lovely modern design inside and out. The only thing which would be a concern to some is that it's not in Oslo's center so you need to use transport everywhere, something which is easy in Oslo though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaThomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHBJO, Manager at Scandic Fornebu, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi


I will bring your great feed back from your stay with us back to all our staff that`s been working this summer.
Thank you for taking the time to get back to us.
We hope to see you as our guest some other time here at Scandic Fornebu.
Enjoy the summer.

Best Regards
Scandic Fornebu
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a couple of days at a good price. The service was excellent, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the room in general is excellent. We almost felt at home during our stay, the only thing missing is an outdoor pool. The hotel is new and modern, the only complain we have is that their bathroom light shouldn't have been automatic because it doesnt seem to be turning off even if you close the door (at least it takes time) It was recommended by a local friend and I must say we are probably going to stay at the same hotel the next time we visit Norway.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blanchefleur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHBJO, Manager at Scandic Fornebu, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi


Thank you.

Scandic Fornebu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a couple of days at a good price. The service was excellent, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the room in general is excellent. We almost felt at home during our stay, the only thing missing is an outdoor pool. The hotel is new and modern, the only complain we have is that their bathroom light shouldn't have been automatic because it doesnt seem to be turning off even if you close the door (at least it takes time) It was recommended by a local friend and I must say we are probably going to stay at the same hotel the next time we visit Norway.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blanchefleur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHBJO, Manager at Scandic Fornebu, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi

Thank you for a great review from your stay with us.

Hope to see you soon again as guest at Scandic Fornebu

Best Regards
Scandic Fornebu
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had a meeting with a client in the old Fornebu terminal building next door, so this was the perfect location to stay. Spent ages queuing to check in. Room I was provided with was very nice - on a corner with views in two directions. However, absolutely miles from the lift - felt like I had to walk for 2 or 3 minutes from the lift to my door! Was clearly designed as handicap room, which wasn't a big problem. The bed was very comfortable, however, the sheet was the wrong size - suitable for a single bed but placed on a 120cm bed. Pretty annoying to have a sheet flapping around in the middle of the night. Likewise, the duvet was only for a single bed - surely they could have splashed out on something a bit bigger? Ate dinner in the restaurant, where service was friendly but glacial. My £20 pizza came with the wrong toppings (meat when I am vegetarian) - didn't send it back as I was hungry and didn't want to wait another half hour - resorted to picking off wrong toppings. Breakfast buffet in the morning was nice.

Generally, a good location if you need to be in Fornebu, but I'm glad I didn't pay for this on my own dime. With a base price of well over NOK 1000, it really could do better. Probably wouldn't bother staying here again unless I had a good reason to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHBJO, Manager at Scandic Fornebu, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi

Thank you for your feed back and comments from your stay with us.
Our rooms with a nice sea view is located a bit away from the elevator, but it takes less then one minute to walk to these rooms.

Scandic Fornebu appreciate our guest respond to us from there stay at our hotel, it helps us in our every day work.
Thank you for getting back to us.
We wish you a great summer.

Best regards
Scandic Fornebu
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Scandic Fornebu is a new hotel, the rooms are modern, clean and with simple but sufficient equipment. I think this is the best hotel option in the Fornebu business area. The room price can vary a lot, rooms can be very expensive if there is a conference in the hotel.

The service at the reception can be a bit slow, with people queuing up to check in. But that does not match up with the restaurant. I just spent 1:02 hours waiting for my main meal (from order to food on table). The staff not only lost my order, but also for the table next to me. After that I waited 20 minutes for a simple desert. The staff tried to resolve the situation by not charging the desert.

If the hotel would fix the staff attitude and speed, and would add a water kettle and proper iron this would be a very good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jan7700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHBJO, Manager at Scandic Fornebu, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi

We want to thank you for coming back to us with your experience from your stay at Scandic Fornebu, its realy inportant that our guest comes back to us with there honest opinion.

Scandic Fornebu works evry day to make the hotel a better place to stay and visit for our guest.

Best Reagards
Scandic Fornebu
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fornebu
Quality Hotel Expo
#1 of 3 in Fornebu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Scandic Sjolyst
#36 of 100 in Oslo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Fornebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Fornebu

Property: Scandic Fornebu
Address: Martin Lingesvei 2, Fornebu 1364, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Akershus > Baerum Municipality > Fornebu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fornebu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Fornebu 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its open and airy lounges and magnificent outdoor terrace, Scandic Fornebu is perfect for conferences and is a popular family hotel during the summer months. Children will enjoy their own play area at Child Planet Atlantis. Our hotel enjoys a unique location by Rolfsbukta by the Oslo fjord, and an interior inspired by underwater life, which gives the hotel a relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Scandic Fornebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing