We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel”
Review of Quality Hotel Expo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Expo
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fornebu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

A relatively new and good business hotel. Normally ample parking, very good service at the front desk. Breakfast buffet is good, rooms are good while entertainment a bit limited.
There is a gym although like many other hotels they have chosen to stick it in the basement. With the number of travelers wanting to exercise I simply can not undestand that hotels do not make it more attractive.
I pick my hotels based on good availability for training before or after the workday.
Unfortunately the hotel next door has no facility at all (Scandic Fornebu).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 565 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed there because of the proximity to the work and it was a business trip but is a really nice place to stay and eat. Amazing restaurant at night and very good breakfast. Hotel staff helpfull. You can buy the bus ticket at the front desk.

Room Tip: some of the rooms are really far from front desk, so if you do not want to walk ask for a room near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thiago G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed there because of the proximity to the work and it is really a good experience.

This hotel was newely opened and the facilities are very modern, spacious room and clean bathroom.

It took almost 5 minutes to go from the reception to my room since the hotel itself is a long, C-shaped building with the reception at one end, there is unfrotunately no elevator/entrance from the other end of the building.

Breakfast is OK but not more.

If you want to take the public transport (31 or 31E towards Lysaker and Oslo City Center), do not go out from the main entrance, instead go out trhough the back door (through the Aker solutions' part of the building) to save some walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I am currently in one of the rooms, and the desk is vibrating from the bass music from the bar. If I were in Ibiza, trust me I would be happy, but this is supposed to be a business hotel (it is close to 01:00am now, Tuesday). I contacted 30min ago the Reception, and got: " Oh, it's from the bar, eerr, do you need ear muffs?" No I don't need! "Well soon the music will stop" Well, It didn't.

As it can be seen my review is quite subjective, but is a real life experience.

Despite this, the hotel rooms are with all a business traveler needs, and the room coffee machine is great add-on (not a bad idea to use it now actually).

Room Tip: Take a room far from the bar (either horizontally or vertically).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DinevB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Happy staff without being over the top. A clean, well presented hotel with everything a business traveller requires. Very close to my place of business. Lovely view of the lake. I thing having the sun out also helped !!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank marktu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Service was excellent particularly Magnus and the Reception Staff
Super cleanliness
Reasonably convenient to area we wanted to visit ie Stabekk Tennis Club
Will definitely book again when visiting next year.


  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

It is a good property with absolutely no service orientation. I reached hotel around 1 PM . Since I had requested for early check in , I thought it is OK. The stiff faced receptionist told me that they did not receive my request. When I requested him about any possibility of early check in ,the receptionist told me rooms are not ready till 3 PM. I requested him about possibility of at least one room getting ready. It looked to me that he was annoyed with my request , responded to me by saying " Didn't you read in your e mail that check in time is 3 PM". Having travelled across the globe, I asked him again , When I further insisted, then he told me that if I need room immediately, I need to upgrade my room. Since I was so tired , I went ahead with my upgrade paying hefty sum. His total lack of empathy and service orientation increased my pain much more than the additional money I was forced to pay.

When I came down for lunch, I saw the place was full. I was surprised. I tried to go there . One person told me that it is lunch place for office employees of a company which is attached to hotel. Then I saw that the building has two different entrances . one entrance will lead you to some office and another entrance is to hotel.So careful when you want to take little walk around the lobby .

Rooms are small and with minimum amenities. They have standard Lux shower gel but when i tried to use it , it was empty . similarly hand tissue box was also empty. This reflected the quality of house keeping .

Breakfast spread was good. Restaurant has limited choice with exorbitant prices.

It is close to beach other than that there is nothing interesting close to hotel . In winter it is a difficult place. In case you need to have some thing to bite , you can walk to Statoil gas station which is about 1 km.

If you are a seasoned traveller and If you have choice , please avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globalTravelbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henriette A, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Expo, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. Firstly, I want to apologize for not fulfilling your expectations. Your comments about the service and information from the staff is noted and will be put in action. This is not how we wish to be perceived by our guests. We hope that you will give us a chance to change this impression of the hotel and that you will stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fornebu
0.6 mi away
Scandic Fornebu
Scandic Fornebu
#2 of 3 in Fornebu
748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Park Hotel
4 mi away
Thon Hotel Oslofjord
Thon Hotel Oslofjord
#1 of 1 in Sandvika
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Opera
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,296 reviews
4.3 mi away
Scandic Holmenkollen Park
5.1 mi away
Soria Moria Hotel
Soria Moria Hotel
#30 of 102 in Oslo
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Expo

Address: Snaroeyveien 20, Fornebu 1360, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Akershus > Baerum Municipality > Fornebu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fornebu
Price Range: $111 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Expo is a brand new, full service hotel in the heart of Norway, where sea meets city, only a 10-minutes drive from Oslo city center. As the only beach hotel in Oslo, Quality Hotel Expo features Scandinavian architecture inspired by nature, pitching stone and wood against vast, plant-covered walls and airy spaces. Situated close to the Oslo Fjord in spacious, green surroundings, Quality Hotel Expo is ideal for families, with great experiences for every age.Our restaurants and bar are open to guests as well as the public, ensuring a vibrant and lively atmosphere. Choose fine dining at Brasserie X,pleasant surrundings in our indoor/outdoor hotel restaurant, and great atmosphere in Bar X. Enjoy free internet in our spacious foyer with a latte our Wayne’s Coffee. For exercise, work up a sweat in our large gym, take a refreshing swim at the beach 100 meters away or borrow a bike for free at the hotel for a trip along pleasant biking lanes.Quality Hotel Expo is a perfect starting point for exploring Norwegian nature and culture. Learn about Norwegian engineering innovation at Aker Solutions experience center next door, enjoy the Nansen Park, or visit the Telenor Arena indoor stadium. The Henie-Onstad Art Center at Høvikodden shows modern and contemporary art, or visit Bygdøy for the Viking Ship, Kon-Tiki, and Fram museums as well as the museums of Norwegian maritime history and Norwegian cultural history. Efficient local transport will take you to Oslo city, brimming with cozy restaurants, hip cafés, great, shopping and energetic nightlife, culture and pleasure all in one compact package.We know that a stay with us will be memorable. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing