We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Hotel Expo
Nearby Hotels
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Scandic Fornebu(Fornebu)(Great Value!)
$295
$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Sjolyst(Oslo)(Great Value!)
$234
$211
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$184
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$176
$168
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveler rating
231
230
80
25
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
230
80
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstelenor arenathe busbusiness hotelbusiness tripcoffee shopmodern hotelmin walk from the hotelboth timesconference facilities were greatsame buildingan ice cream machineprofessional servicean americanattending a conferencenice stafflocation was perfectmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 577 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My usual downtown property was full so a colleague suggested I give this hotel a try as it was well located for the mornings meetings being near Fornebu.

To get here you need the airport train to Lysaker and then either the 31 bus or a taxi which will cost around £14. The hotel looks impressive from the outside, thoroughly modern in a very nice setting down by the sea. It feels a little like the Truman Show in some ways, but don't be put off, it is just new and settling in.

Check in was easy and swift even with the check in staff clearly being new and not completely at home with the reservation system. Card handed over I stepped into the brand new lift to the 4th Floor. The room was very spacious, well equipped with an ironing board and decent storage space. The bed was extremely comfortable and for someone with sleep issues, I slept extremely well.... and the room as per the rest of the hotel was immaculate.

Views are lovely too which you'd rarely say on a business park, and if you have the time I'd really urge you to take a walk down to the sea, where you can while away some time watching those who finish work at 4.30 sail around the harbour. I swear, I think I need citizenship! and a yacht.

The main restaurant slipped me by in the evening so I can only comment on breakfast and what a selection you have, cereals, cold and hot offerings and lots of hot coffee and tea, so you can start your day in style with a very contented stomach.

Facilities: you get free wi-fi in the rooms which works very well indeed. Not quite good enough to stream TV, but certainly effective from a business perspective.

There is a sign for 'fitness facilities' but in reality this is simply walking to the sea or hiring a bike and that's probably the reason this place did not get 5 stars. It's location and the number of conference rooms surely necessitate a gym of some sorts? It really needs one.

So, to conclude: value for money is good, location excellent, but not for downtown. If you're arranging a meeting then again, this is a great location, with lots of different sized rooms from what I could see.

The staff are very courteous and it represented great value for money which is not always the case in this very busy capital city. Airport train to Lysaker is around 30 minutes and you're 5 minutes away by cab from the station so all in all it's well worth a look.

Room Tip: Fourth floor will grant you some lovely views, you really don't feel your in a conference park!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitchurchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabell O, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Expo, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest and positive review of our hotel. We do actually have a Gym at the hotel which is located under the reception with extensive facilities. We hope that you will book a stay at our hotel again so that you can try it out.

Best Regards, Isabell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is like a very large version of Fawlty Towers in which the poorly trained staff and the guests run the hotel together. I stayed here for five nights and facilitated a leadership programme for three of those. I can't complain too much about the beds, two of them little more than a metre wide, problem solved when they're pushed together. One of the walls in my room was bare, and it was as if someone had decided that the raw original surface of the wall would be an innovative quirly Scandinavian design. See photos of wall and holes in it - room 358. I was charged 330kr for laundry of three pairs of undershorts, two pairs of socks and a handkerchief. When I enquired as to their whereabouts two days later, I was told that I had to collect them from reception. How many hotels in the world do not return laundry to the guest's room, when they have charged $50 for a few small items? The restaurant staff were great, and worked very hard to cope with high volumes of people at peak periods. The conference facilities in our meeting room were excellent - plenty of natural light and space. The staff worked hard - management of the hotel was nowhere to be seen. After 10pm, reception didn't answer the telephone. II was billed for my meal as well as my colleagues. Remarkably for a new Scandinavian building, the ashtrays are placed immediately outside the entrance so if you're a non-smoker, you have to walk through a cloud of smoke, which was quite disgusting. When will the manager wake up to this? Where was he anyway? It was just an odd experience and I'd hesitate about returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a double bed - they do have them! Ensure you stay away from the entrance area because it is populated late at night by smokers, worse for drink.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevorHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabell O, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Expo, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review regarding our conference facilities. As regards to the laundry service the hotel provides, we do not make any profit on it. I agree that the price is stiff but it is what these companies charge for picking up laundry and to carry out the cleaning. We are currently looking for a new supplier as regards to guest laundry and will take your feedback about the price into consideration wen looking for a new supplier. Delivering laundry in the room is something we do if we have the time / possibility, but the front office staff should outline when laundry is delivered that it can be collected at the reception.

As regards to people smoking outside the entrance I agree that this is a problem, especially when it rains (everyone gathers under the roof outside the entrance) and we are looking into finding solutions to solve this.

Hope that we will see you again at Quality Hotel Expo.

Best Regards, Isabell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Modern and stylish hotel with access to wonderful walks by the fjord of Oslo just outside the hotel doors. We had 5 course meal with winemenu in restaurant Brasserie X. The prices was fair and the food was a great experience and definitely above expectations. Nice and helpful staff. I will use this hotel next time as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabell O, Manager at Quality Hotel Expo, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for your kind review! Hope to see you back soon at Quality Hotel Expo!

Best Regards, Isabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

In general a nice hotel with spaceous rooms. A couple of minuses, easy to correct: A superior room is not the same as a Handicap room, which is what I got when ordering Superior. The shower had no barrier for water, and just a shower curtain. There was too little space for own shampoo and soaps.

The iron was very low quality, but at least there was one.

A room of this size could have had some more furniture, just one armchair in a double room, no sofa.

And why is it so difficult for the Norwegian hotels to clear the breakfast tables?

I like the area a lot, especially in summer, and the bus stop with express bus to town centre, is just across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OddnyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabell O, Manager at Quality Hotel Expo, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012
Google Translation

Hei Oddny,

Takk for din tilbakemelding.
Quality Hotel Expo er tilrettelagt for funksjonshemmede og møter kravet om universell utforming. Dette innebærer at mange av våre oppgraderte rom også er tilpasset rullestolbrukere. Vi er dog klar over problemet knyttet til dusjgardinene, og denne vil derfor innen kort tid bli erstattet med dusjdør. Jeg beklager om ikke frokostbordet deres ble ryddet - dette skal vi bli bedre på!
Fornebu er et fantastisk område - og jeg håper dere tar turen tilbake til oss!
Hjertelig velkommen.

Med vennlig hilsen
Christel E. Furnes
Hotellsjef/Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

A clean, modern hotel west of Oslo center. The rate was fair and the rooms were above expectations. What made the stay so enjoyable was the excellent and friendly staff. Vlora and Ingunn were wonderful help and always had a smile and greeting for the guests.

The only minor complaint was the cost of the parking, as we had four vehicles in our party which totaled thousands of krona for the few days we stayed.

I would highly recommend the Hotel Expo to anyone staying in the region.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expeditionswest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Expeditionswest,

Thank you for the kind review of our hotel! I am sure that Vlora and Ingunn also will be very happy when they see this review. Service is the core of our business where personal attention and recognition is always highly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews