We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit outdated but delicious breakfast and practical location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Breukelen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Breukelen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Breukelen
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A bit outdated but delicious breakfast and practical location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

It’s clearly an old hotel of which the maintenance is not top notch. Its rooms are still clean and proper, but nothing fancy. Expensive compared to the value. Breakfast is very good and dinner just ok.
A lot of business conference centers, so business seems to be the primary target group, also looking at the location right next to the highway and train station Breukelen. It’s very practical. You can take the train to Amsterdam Central which leaves every 15 minutes and takes about half an hour. Parking is free.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sander_Stulemeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    441
    88
    24
    8
See reviews for
148
499
34
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is in very good location - well accessible by car or by train. It´s typical manager-on-business trip hotel with good spa services, clean, spacious and comfortably equipped rooms. With one exception - no minibar in the room! Excellent breakfast which really starts your working day. And last but not least - there were the best bed I´ve ever slept! Negatives: except the ment missing minibar the staff of the hotel is so cold as you can expect in this type of the hotel (quickly changed guests, no personal access. If you stay here one, two, three days and you only sleep in the hotel, it´s ok, but I don´ t want to spend for example my holidays there.

Room Tip: long corridors - ask for the room nearby the lift if you are lazy :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kma70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great about this Van der Valk hotel is the accessibility (by car or train), the bar and restaurant and the spa facilities. Try our the sauna and pool! Also the reception service is pretty good. The rooms are getting a little older and I hate slow elevators in hotels.

Room Tip: The uneven rooms are located at the outside of the hotel - with terras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany
Level Contributor
146 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here several times in 2012 and was pretty pleased. How disappointing it was to return this time. What a change!

During check-in I had to wait in line for somebody to serve me - ok that can happen. However the room I got (124) was not only at the end of the floor (a very long walk from the elevator) but when I entered neither the bed was made nor the bathroom cleaned.

So back to the reception and another room.

This room turned out to be better but the towels in the bathroom had blood stains all over. Ok I finally found one which was acceptable had a shower and headed down into the bar. This was once the gem of this hotel. What a disappointment this time. The workers in the bar enjoy VERY much chatting to each other. During my 2 hour stay I saw the majority of the people finally walking up to the counter since all waving and calling did not help to get served.

The beer I received was only half full but charged full price. And that was the only beer I could get. From then on I was completely ignored. Even when I walked to the counter all the five (5)!!! ladies turned their backs to me to prevent serving me.

I will really make sure that I will not stay here again. What a mess.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teaki78089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleNieuwenhuizen, Front Office Manager at Hotel Breukelen, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for providing your feedback through TripAdvisor.com.

I have discussed your comments with our Housekeeping manager and F&B manager as the opinion of our guests is very important to us.
Our managers have talked to our employees and they have repeated the standards of service Hotel Breukelen wants to offer to our guests. Your message made also clear that we had to increase the supervision.

I hope we can welcome you again in the future so you can experience how we have improved our service level.

Could you please inform me with your reservation details (date of your stay, name, etc) so I can make sure your preference to get a room close to the elevator in entered into our reservation system.

Yours sincerely,

Ms. M. van Berkel
Front Office Manager
Hotel Breukelen
info@breukelen.valk.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night here. Very comfy bed, great night sleep, big room, impressive shower and bathroom. Well cooked breakfast. Attentive service without being in your face, and very clean. Looks a bit cheesy from the outside (like some monstrous Chinese restaurant), but inside it was truly zen.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelbugBrighton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were in the new part of the hotel and it was fantastic. Though between the busiest highway of Holland and the rail road tracks, not a single sound! Okay, keep the windows closed :-)
Great breakfast, fanstastic bed, great shower with bath, within a minute from the railroad station, great prices in the hotel bar. From the outside you might fear the worst, but no worries!

Room Tip: In the new part!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spandauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
173 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I was recommended this hotel by a Dutch colleague. Due to very good price I booked a deluxe room which was in new annexe, and excellent. Food and service in restaurant was excellent, huge portions and very good quality. No hesitation in recommending and will stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank UKGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleNieuwenhuizen, Director of Sales at Hotel Breukelen, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
It is a great compliment for our management team and staff that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Ms. N. Nieuwenhuizen
Sales & Marketing Manager
Hotel Breukelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breukelen
3.9 mi away
Carlton President
Carlton President
#6 of 21 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
7.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
11.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Mitland
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 21 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hilton Royal Parc Soestduinen
9.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breukelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breukelen

Property: Hotel Breukelen
Address: Stationsweg 91, 3621 LK Breukelen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Breukelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Breukelen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Breukelen 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Breukelen offers luxurious rooms, suites and a romantic bridal suite. Accommodations come with standard facilities including a flat-screen TV, a sitting area and a bathtub.We are only 170 yards from the train station in Breukelen and a 2 minute drive from the A2 highway. We offer free parking and it includes a spa center with an indoor pool, fitness center and sauna which can be used free of charge. You can use our free WIFI internet throughout the hotel, including your hotel room.Every morning, you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet with fresh eggs, omelets and pancakes. The hotel also offers a bar, brasserie and restaurant with an international kitchen which serve food throughout the day. During the weekend, guests can also enjoy the Live Cooking buffet restaurant and children have the possibility to bake their own cookies.You can reach the Loosdrechtse Plassen Lakes with a 10 minute drive. Schiphol Airport is only a 20 minute car ride away.Guests can also book a range of body and facial treatments at the beauty salon. The spa center also includes a Turkish steam bath and an aroma shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Breukelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breukelen Hotel Utrecht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing