We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only hotel you need in Breukelen”
Review of Hotel Breukelen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Breukelen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Breukelen
Certificate of Excellence
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Only hotel you need in Breukelen”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night here. Very comfy bed, great night sleep, big room, impressive shower and bathroom. Well cooked breakfast. Attentive service without being in your face, and very clean. Looks a bit cheesy from the outside (like some monstrous Chinese restaurant), but inside it was truly zen.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelbugBrighton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    606
    123
    29
    10
See reviews for
204
738
42
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deutschland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were in the new part of the hotel and it was fantastic. Though between the busiest highway of Holland and the rail road tracks, not a single sound! Okay, keep the windows closed :-)
Great breakfast, fanstastic bed, great shower with bath, within a minute from the railroad station, great prices in the hotel bar. From the outside you might fear the worst, but no worries!

Room Tip: In the new part!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spandauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I was recommended this hotel by a Dutch colleague. Due to very good price I booked a deluxe room which was in new annexe, and excellent. Food and service in restaurant was excellent, huge portions and very good quality. No hesitation in recommending and will stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank UKGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleNieuwenhuizen, Director of Sales at Hotel Breukelen, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
It is a great compliment for our management team and staff that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Ms. N. Nieuwenhuizen
Sales & Marketing Manager
Hotel Breukelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a lovely 3 night stay here. We stayed in room 404 on the ground floor of the new building. Very large room, comfortable bed, fridge, safe and stylish, modern bathroom with walk in rain shower.
The room had its own terrace overlooking a lake, beware of midges out there in the summer as I got bitten a few times sitting out there.
We had dinner in the restaurant on Saturday night, good food, reasonably priced and great service.
All the staff we encountered spoke English and we were even offered a menu in English in the restaurant.
There's free wifi throughout the whole hotel.
With the window closed we couldn't hear the nearby motorway at all.
All in all we very much enjoyed our stay and would certainly go back there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kevinse16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,898 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I choose this hotel because it was convenient and close to our offices and the first impression it is a bit bizarre as it looks like a tacky mega Chinese restaurant (in fact it was).
But after you go through the initial shock, service is good and the new building (adjacent to the main building) is very modern and the rooms are extremely nice for the category of the hotel. Lovely spa and swimming pool.

Breakfast is not spectacular but adequate so if in business or leisure you should use this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel with excellent rooms at affordable prices and with indoor swimming pool erc has spacious free parking area and is located close to the ralway station (walking distance 3 minutes) driving a (rented) car into Amsterdam with very expensive parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleNieuwenhuizen, Front Office Manager at Hotel Breukelen, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
It is a compliment for our management team and staff that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Ms. M. van Berkel
Front Office Manager
Hotel Breukelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It may look a tad out of place in Dutch 'Brooklyn' (Breukelen gave Brooklyn its name) this faithful copy of the Oriental Palace in Beijings Forbidden City, but it's one of the many hotels of Dutch chain Van der Valk (not the English detective from the same ITV-series). It wasn't a design of Van der Valk's choosing... No longer a middle of the road and somewhat 'cheap' destination, most of these Van der Valk hotels are great place to stay, eat, drink and meet. Especially this one, situated near the A2 motorway and the Breukelen station (5 mins. walk), with a sizeable car park.
In recent years Van der Valk hotels all over The Netherlands have made a clear quality leap: the (large) rooms in Breukelen (I stayed in the new part near the pool and fitness centre, room 413, a minute's walk from the main entrance) are decorated in a 'hotel chic'-style, in dark browns, creams and quirky colourful accents. The bed is great, soft, but not too soft and difficult to get out of in the morning (great sheets and pillows). Using the bathroom, showering (rain shower) is a pleasure. My Deluxe Room (there are cheaper rooms and more expensive ones) also had a bath tub and a small desk plus two chairs (slightly too small for my two metre frame) and a large TV-screen. Van der Valk is a bit skimpy on the toiletries and towels.
WiFi is available and free in the entire hotel (as it should be in every hotel!!). But why stick the (apparently) free bottles of water in the fridge without a note drawing the guest's attention to such a nice gesture? Found them by chance.
I had hoped to use room service for a snack and a bottle of wine, but a 20 euro surcharge per order quickly made me change my mind. Definitely no service here! As I was too late for the restaurant (the Dutch eat early - it closes at 21.00), I ate at the Brasserie. Large menu, OK food, but nothing special. Nice ambiance though. Breakfast is charged separately for 15 euros a person.
Staff throughout the hotel were pleasant and friendly, although reception staff were a bit slow, some of them a bit brusque and often on the phone whilst guests were waiting.
Views are not great (take your pick: either cars or trains) and there's not much to do locally, but a quick train ride (frequent trains) brings you to Amsterdam, Rotterdam or Utrecht.

Room Tip: The new hotel rooms and the pool/fitness area are situated in the new and quiet annex, one minute fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaxiFaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleNieuwenhuizen, Front Office Manager at Hotel Breukelen, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the effort providing us your extensive feedback.

You have stayed in our new hotel building which we are very proud of. The different room types and Wellness Center are new facilities that make our guest's stay more comfortable.

At the room there is a sign which shows our smoking policy on one side and the sign of complimentary bottles of water on the other side.

We will take your comments about our service seriously and we will discuss how we can keep on improving.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at Hotel Breukelen!

Yours sincerely,

Ms. M. van Berkel
Front Desk Manager
Hotel Breukelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breukelen
7.3 mi away
Stadshotel Woerden
Stadshotel Woerden
#1 of 2 in Woerden
204 reviews
3.9 mi away
Carlton President
Carlton President
#6 of 22 in Utrecht
649 reviews
3.8 mi away
Apollo Hotel Vinkeveen Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Mitland
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 22 in Utrecht
754 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Utrecht - Papendorp
9.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breukelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breukelen

Property: Hotel Breukelen
Address: Stationsweg 91, 3621 LK Breukelen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Breukelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Breukelen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Breukelen 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Breukelen offers luxurious rooms, suites and a romantic bridal suite. Accommodations come with standard facilities including a flat-screen TV, a sitting area and a bathtub.We are only 170 yards from the train station in Breukelen and a 2 minute drive from the A2 highway. We offer free parking and it includes a spa center with an indoor pool, fitness center and sauna which can be used free of charge. You can use our free WIFI internet throughout the hotel, including your hotel room.Every morning, you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet with fresh eggs, omelets and pancakes. The hotel also offers a bar, brasserie and restaurant with an international kitchen which serve food throughout the day. During the weekend, guests can also enjoy the Live Cooking buffet restaurant and children have the possibility to bake their own cookies.You can reach the Loosdrechtse Plassen Lakes with a 10 minute drive. Schiphol Airport is only a 20 minute car ride away.Guests can also book a range of body and facial treatments at the beauty salon. The spa center also includes a Turkish steam bath and an aroma shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Breukelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breukelen Hotel Utrecht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing