We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very good: excellent location, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buitenplaats Slangevegt

Buitenplaats Slangevegt
Straatweg 40, 3621 BN Breukelen, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Breukelen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Dutch, Seafood, European, International, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
329 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very good: excellent location, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were here with a group -- the service was friendly and professional throughout the busy evening. The food was really good, especially the fish and tarte tatin. Beautiful location next to the Vecht rivier. One comment: several people in our group had difficulty finding the restaurant, because of an error in navigation/GPS devices. Check a map to make sure where you need to be -- it is very easy to find. Recommended!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrBrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    62
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
131 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place for fine food with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Reservation was taken promptly. Received a nice table along the waterfront on a warm late summer night. House wine, drinks and some bread was served quickly. Kids received children menu but ordered both a la carte and kids courses. Kitchen had difficulty with the timing as starters and main courses were mixed by the children. Coquille excellent, beef tender and the chocolate dessert addictive. The entire family enjoyed it and we come back during to enjoy wine, food and water.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EUlrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best spot along the Vecht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have had dinner at Slangevegt several times since many years and it is getting better every time. The location on the banks of the river Vecht is superb, probably the best! The waterside terrace is well shaded, so that it is a real pleasure to sit there and watch the ever interesting activity on the river.
Last time we had dinner at Slangevegt we ordered the surprise menu with accompanying wine selection and it was a nice surprise indeed! A very unusual and tasteful variation of Vitello Tonato was followed by fantastic duck liver (or tender Iberico porc for my wife) and the main course was a great halibut, especially cooked in oil. The style of the food was surprising and so were the wines, but perfectly matching with the food.
One of our favourites!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pity!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

That we didnot came to this restaurant before.
Driving home last week we passed this restaurant and I noticed a lot of cars parked there.
Looking it up at trip advisor and decided to try it for ourselves.

It was a warm summer evening and the terrace alongside the river is a gem. People who didnot had a resa where lining up.
The dinner we had was good. No star dining of course but in relation to the price we enjoyed it. From starter till desert.

The service was very friendly and done with love.

We will be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertbilthoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breukelen Ut
Level Contributor
303 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere on the banks of the River Vecht”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We ate here for business reasons. The place is nicely decorated, more business like than charming though. The staff was helpful and the food was pretty good. It is more or less 'haute quisine' with respect to portion sizes, so, you might leave the place still a bit peckish. Prices are appropriate for a business setting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buitenplaats Slangevegt also viewed

Breukelen, Utrecht Province
Breukelen, Utrecht Province
 
Breukelen, Utrecht Province
 

Been to Buitenplaats Slangevegt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing