We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The way it's always been done”

Old Kilbeggan Distillery
Book In Advance
More Info
$878.64*
and up
5-Day Northern Ireland and Atlantic Coast Tour from Dublin
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Kilbeggan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of Ireland, just over 1 hour from Dublin lies the town of Kilbeggan, home to the world's oldest distillery, established in 1757. It is the quintessential Irish whiskey distillery - whitewashed walls, weathered slate roof, brick chimney stack, creaking timber water wheel, even regular ghost sightings. This is no mere "visitor centre" but a real working distillery run by a team of young enthusiastic craftspeople (and a few wise old heads too), skilled in the traditional ways of making Irish whiskey. Open 7 days (except during Christmas and New Year). Whiskey Bar. Gift Shop. Free parking.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I decided to break up the trip from Galway to Dublin by stopping at Kilbeggan. What a great experience! The distillery is part museum maintaining the original equipment and process.
I enjoyed seeing the detail and craftmanship required to distill back in the day.

The new section was quite a contrast and seeing the different private barrels added to the experience. The visit was topped off in the tasting room, of course. I was poured samples of everything I requested- their variety was much more extensive than other distilleries we visited.

Great experience- and I'm still enjoying the fruits of my labor back in the states.

Thank mammasboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily T, Public Relations Manager at Old Kilbeggan Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thanks for the glowing review - it's fantastic to hear you had such a great trip to the Distillery.

It's always a pleasure to hear feedback from visitors as it helps us both to improve the experience and to know when we're doing a good job!

We hope you both had a safe and happy trip back to the US.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 301 of 448 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had a guided tour with an amazing lady called Carla. Her knowledge and genuine love for the amazing distillery was superb. The tour was informative and there is still very much a family feel to the place. It is great to see Beam & Co supporting the distillery to stay put. The staff in the shop, the restaurant ( Conor I think) and David in the bar couldn't have been friendlier . The bar has a collectors dream ( or nightmare lol) of the best that Killbeggan and Locke have to offer. I can't wait to bring some of my whiskey enthusiast friends over for the tour. Thanks guys.

Thank idlavelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily T, Public Relations Manager at Old Kilbeggan Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for a glowing review! We're really pleased as well that you felt warm and welcome as our people really are at the heart of everything we do.

Despite recent changes our individuality, our traditions and our heritage are of the utmost importance to us and we will maintain those values.

We'll hope to see you again in Kilbeggan soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

It was a pleasure to visit. It is not as popular as Jamesons in Dublin but a lot more welcoming and genuine. Definitely less stressful and you can easily get parking. The cafe is a bit small and if a large group of tourists are in then you really have no choice but to move on to the next town for a bite to eat.

Thank Ronan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily T, Public Relations Manager at Old Kilbeggan Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for a lovely review - we're really glad you enjoyed you visit to the distillery. We'd love to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Hubby wanted to go inside but nonetheless, twas still a very interesting site to just poke around the outside!

Thank iamqueenme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily T, Public Relations Manager at Old Kilbeggan Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

We're really sorry that the distillery was closed when you visited. It's unusual for us to be closed in November but every now and then things arise beyond our control.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and when you're next in Ireland we'd love to welcome you back to the distillery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We did a self-guided tour with a laminated paper guide, which was very informative and included Irish humor as well. The old equipment and antiques along the tour are amazing. Some spaces are tight and you need to be steady on your feet to see all the areas of the facility - there are many stairways and no wheelchair access. The newly restored water wheel is very well done. The best view of the wheel is from halfway across the bridge. They have the oldest working still in Ireland on display - pretty cool. Could see the working distillery firsthand and up close. Also had an antique display area of general life artifacts such as vacuum cleaner, and spinning wheel and washing machine etc. Pretty fun! Since we went off-season, we sat in the small, quaint, bar for our tasting. Very calm and enjoyable. Yummy whiskey!

Thank cbbobBwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Kilbeggan Distillery also viewed

Tullamore, County Offaly
 

Been to Old Kilbeggan Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing