We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“once again- Fantastic”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge A very BIG welcome at Owslow Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Lounge
A very BIG welcome at Owslow Cottage
Lovely blooming flowers in the courtyard
Master bedroom
Our family of Lamas
Example of the main bedroom with the put-up bed made up
View of the reservoir from the cottage
Kitchen
Lambing Live on the farm throughout March/April
Lounge/dining room
A lovely icy shot taken by a guest
Lounge area
The Daffodils are out - April 2016
Alleyway to the cottage entrance and keysafe
Sheep sheep and more sheep
Baling view from 'top barn' field
Exactly!!
Making use of the old milk churns
Master bedroom
Pigswill in the alleyway - a piece of history
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Carsington, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
davedood
burton on trent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“once again- Fantastic”
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

For the second time in 4 months we've visited and our stay was just as good as the first. we visited alton towers, dovedale, Chatsworth house and ofc the reservoir itself. the service you get from the house and all its furnishings is simply so helpful, a real home away from home, and with two under 3, we really could relax.

Thanks again, we'll be back.

Dave and Deb

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barba m
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ideal location but cottage not for us, sorry”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Owslow last weekend, we have stayed at Derbyshire/Peak cottages in the past and, after having read the rave reviews, decided to give this place a go. When we arrived at the cottage, we made our way down the dark alleyway to unlock the key safe for our key. Granted there was a light switch but it was difficult to see the combination, I think a digital keypad would be a better idea. Upon entering the cottage, the first thing that we both noticed was how damp the entrance smelt, throughout our stay it remained. The biggest issue by far, was the number of flies in the cottage, it was absolutely disgusting. Granted, you are going to get flies in summer, especially on farms, but as someone who spent many years on a farm/stables, I have never known anything like this. We were going to turn around and go back home, it really was that bad. However, we decided to stick it out until the next day and make a decision then. That night, I counted 15 flies on the blanket left out on the back of the couch, there were five trapped in the sugar container, and as I went to take a drink, there were five floating in it.

There are lots of rules regarding dogs, which is fine with us, our dog is trained and well behaved. However, it is ok for the farm's dogs/other people's dog to roam free. We had issues with one dog in particular. She was an absolutely adorable puppy who belongs in the main house. At first, I thought she was a stray as she followed us when we took our dog out for a walk. However, she had a 'thing' for my dog's ears and once gripped would not let go, my poor dog was freaked out. We tried to knock at the main cottage, there was no answer. We came across a neighbour who informed us that owners were away for the weekend (they did not inform us of this) but someone would be minding the cottage whilst they were away. He then took the puppy off our hands. The other issue with the dogs is that they liked to use the outside of our cottage as their toilet and we had to, daily, clean up their mess as no one else did it. I think it totally unacceptable that we had to to this.

We had nowhere to put our food provisions as leftover packets of food were left in the kitchen cupboards, from opened packets of pasta to sweets. There were also only three forks in the drawers, lucky there was only the two of us staying! There was a welcome bottle of wine and crisps for us, which was a lovely thought. I do think, however, that provision of one or two dishwasher tablets, and small locally sourced shampoo/conditioner would have been a given, alas it wasn't.

I don't want this to be all negative feedback, it would not be fair. The downstairs, in our opinion, lets the cottage down, it is smelly, full of flies and very very dark. The upstairs however, is lovely. The main bedroom is a great size and has lovely views from the bottom window. The other room with the two single beds, it really nice with good storage space. The location of the cottage is spot on, however, you will need a car to get to nearby places - the only walks here are around the farm and fields. The TV with its digi channels was very welcome. We had no phone signal, however the wifi was spot on.

The cottage did grow on us, the dogs were still a nuisance, as were the pesky flies. I think for the price, it is great, particularly if one is on a budget with children, it is well worth it.

For us, however, it was not what we expected, we may have, possibly, been spoilt by our past choices which, granted, have been more expensive.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Flies/other dogs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feebz1981
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed her last week for 3 nights and had a lovely break. We arrived the Sunday and cottage was ready for us and a lovely bottle of wine on arrival. Unfortunately nowhere serving food past 7pm on a Sunday night! Found a chippy and managed to get last order before they closed at 8pm! Anyway back to the cottage. Bedrooms were beautiful and double bedroom a great size. Met owner the next day who was very helpful and said we could look around the farm and daughter was welcome to use trampoline and help with feeding lambs (unfortunately missed out on that). Stayed here for trip to Alton towers and also went to heights of Abraham which was a good day out. Knockerdown inn was good for a lovely dinner nearby. There was also a box full of local information provided in the cottage, very helpful. Would come back again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bedrooms and comfy couch!
Liked least: Wifi dropping out and also a lot of flies on hot days!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great views in a great location”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Myself, my husband and our little girl spent three nights here to have our honeymoon, coming from the relatively flat county of Norfolk it was a bit of a struggle getting around with the amount of hills in this area, But the cottage being located a stones throw away from Carsington water provided some of the best wake up views I've ever seen, certainly a welcome departure from the city!

Our little girl settled right in on the first day and slept soundly throughout the night, though that was probably more to do with the blackout blinds in every room, there is also plenty to see on their farm including the two alpacas which we managed to get very close to!

There is also plenty to see and do in the area including Abraham Heights which is more suited to children a bit older than our 18 month old as there are a lot of steep hills as well as the cave walk which we couldn't do because of all the narrow stairs. There is also the Tram museum in Crich which although sounds a little tedious is well worth the money as there is plenty to see and do!

All in all it was a very beautiful place to stay, though a word of caution, if you rely on the internet to check emails, read the news etc etc, you'll struggle to find a signal in a lot of places, but in another way, it was probably a good thing to get away from technology for a while!

One last thing, If you are following a Sat Nav from the East side of England, Don't turn into Breach Farm where the Sat Nav takes you, you will want to continue on for about half a mile and turn into Owslow Farm which is just before a sharp left hand bend.

We'll most certainly be booking again when our little one has grown up a bit more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The nice spacious double bedroom
Liked least: Not having any phone signal (not their fault though!)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davedood
burton on trent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent home away from home- beautiful scenery and perfect location”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We travelled from Luton because we wanted a few days away with our kiddies in the peak district. This cottage/ farm is literally a few hundred yards away from Carsington reservoir and on the south East edge of the peak district. The rental property was perfectly placed for all of the things we wanted to do- such as dovedale, matlock bath and alton towers etc.

The cottage itself is very adequately equipped and with our two children (2 and a half and 1 and a half) they had an awesome time on the farm- playing with the boys who live in the farmhouse and with the animals on the farm. The beds are comfy, the amenities are great, and they ensured we had all of the kiddy safety equipment and other items such as travel cot and high chair, all sorted ready for our stay. i would stay again in a heartbeat and we are looking to do just that at the end of the summer. :-) Thanks to Dave and Natalie for making our familymoon one wonderful time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and cleanliness
Liked least: no bad points at all.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin b
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Spent a great few days in Owslow cottage. Very well furnished and refurbished. Set in lovely surroundings, amongst the workings and animals of an organic farm. Very relaxing with friendly local pubs and restaurants. Try The Gate in Brassington...... Superb.
Only one thing I would say against this accommodation is that we had to leave...... Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and quality of cottage
Liked least: going home
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent family holiday”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a great stay as a family with two young children. The accommodation was great and the experience of watching lambs being born, chasing chickens and experiencing farm life is all they have talked about since coming home. Being situated in a beautiful setting and close proximity to a variety of activities, was ideal in keeping everyone occupied and happy. A special thanks to all for a wonderful holiday.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing