We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent - recommended”
other travelers have booked this property
Lakeview Summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lakeview Summer
Master bedroom Superking/twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Lakeview Summer
Master bedroom
Superking/twin bedroom
Dining room
Kitchen
Sitting room
Lakeview Winter
Day bed
Log burner
Terrace
Terrace
view from house
garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Carsington, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tommy1863...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent - recommended”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed in this property for the Easter weekend - six friends in total plus one child. The cottage itself is great, with a social living room and lovely open fire, with complementary basket of logs. Good sized kitchen and well equipped. One of the dining chairs was broken but other than that the place was spotless on arrival. Amazing view out across the countryside towards Carsington Water. Good garden space as well (for the better weather!). The owner was also very helpful both in advance with directions but also following the reservation, answering queries around our deposit refund. Would certainly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Dishwasher had a temperamental drawer!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorrians
Northamptonshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing, relaxing stay. Would highly recommend!”
Reviewed January 31, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I booked this as a surprise for my Fathers 70th birthday. We had a lovely weekend. The area is beautiful with stunning views. The pictures on the website does not give this luxury property it's due as it is so much bigger than it looks. The wether was cold during our visit but with the views and burning log fire, we did not care!

I would just like to add that Pam, the owner has given me the best experience. Her contact was 1st class and she could not be more helpful. I even received my deposit back on the same day that I left!

Thank you Pam for everything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele W
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great long weekend away!!”
Reviewed December 1, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We booked Lakeview Cottage for a weekend get together with a group of friends that are spread about the country. It was absolutely perfect! The cottage itself was beautiful and really stylishly appointed with amazing views of Carsington Water. The lounge was huge and very comfortably fit everyone in our party. The kitchen was great with all the pots/pans/utensils and really convenient with the dishwasher, though the fridge is very small so don't take too much. We were lucky in a sense that it was quite chilly as we were able to leave some of the bottled drinks outside to keep cold. There was a log burner that we got a lot of use out of because it was a particularly blustery weekend, but that didn't keep us from taking a walk around the village and down by the water. There is a pub about 5-10 minutes walk away and it was a lovely little spot for some mid afternoon drinks, so nice and relaxed that we decided to return on the Sunday before we left to have the Sunday carvery :) We would recommend this property to anyone looking for a great place to get together and relax. We haven't received our deposit but assume that we will get it all back after the 10 days that they email you it takes to process it after check out, and Pamela was so responsive I can't imagine it being the big issue that others have reported.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cfs543
Louth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lakeview the perfect family choice”
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a lovely place to stay with the family. Well situated for days out lovely views from the house its self. Great play facilities for young children within the garden grounds. As a family of five I would highly recommend this property for your family holiday.
The owner was also very accommodating during the booking process and this was very reassuring, everything was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the place
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious accomodation with amazing views of the lake”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lakeview is an amazing spacious home with beautiful outlook across Carsington lake.Idealy situated for the Derbyshire peaks.The house is tastefully decorated and can easily sleep 8 people. So much to see and do, will have to make a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin331
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage in Beautiful settings”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at Lakeview for a long weekend with our family and elderly parents. The property was very clean, beds very comfortable with lovely bed linen. The property was very well kitted out although the fridge could have been a little larger for a sleeps6-8.
Although no mobile signal in the cottage (the joys of country life) the WiFi was good so skype and facetime were used! But a mobile signal was possible in the carpark.
The owners were very helpful with where to find the local shop and decent pub for Sunday lunch etc.
We have recommended this property to many friends and our parents enjoyed the area so much they want to go again next year!
Thank you.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage overlooking a lake with great walks and pubs nearby”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at Lakeview last weekend and had a wonderful time. We were a group of 5 adults & one child ( 5 yrs old ). Its a bit hard to find in the dark and signal in the area is really bad but once you find it it is well worth it. Pamela recommended a great walk over the hills to a fantastic pub called the The Old Gate which has a roaring fire and excellent food. Would definitely recommend it! The house was well equipped and the linen smelt amazing! My nephew loved the zip wire in the garden. All in all we were very happy customers :)

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing