We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place in the middle of the countryside for a hen party!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiers Farm House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carsington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiers Farm House
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place in the middle of the countryside for a hen party!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

I booked Emily Barn for my Hen Party following a recommendation from a friend, and I must say that it was the best place that I could have chosen for such an event. The Barn itself was beautiful, set in the depths of the Derbyshire countryside near to Carsington Water. The interior of the Barn was fabulous and so very clean. I spent the weekend there with fourteen other friends (we also booked Daisy Cottage) and we all had a brilliant time. We partyed into the night on both Friday and Saturday evening and all I can say is that the walls must have been extremely thick as apparently not a sound was heard from the house - much to my relief in the morning when I caught up with the owners Doug and Val! We also visited the nearby Brackendale Spa while we were there and that was a real treat and something that I would definitely recommend if you book the Barn. All in all we had a great time and everyone said that they would love to return to Emily Barn as the whole weekend had been so fantastic! So a big thank you to Doug and Val for letting us rent out such an amazing place. It was just perfect!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zachariah_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
5
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed in Swiers Farmhouse with a group of girls for a hen weekend. The house is just beautiful, with so much character and charm. Very well equipped with everything you might need...and more. The kitchen is a brilliant social hub of the house and the large dining table perfect for the big sit down meals. The utility area meant that there was plenty of storage space too. Having two sitting out areas was also a great bonus so you could catch the sun in the morning at the front of the house and use the large back garden in the evening. It was all really private and quiet.

The location is idyllic in the heart of the Peak District and Carsington is a picturesque sleepy little village. The pub being literally 1 minute walk away was great and it also had a large beer garden. There is loads to do in the local area, we went quad biking with Wildpark Leisure which I would 100% recommend as they were brilliant. Also had pub lunch in nearby Brassington then opted for the 30min walk over the hill to get back to Carsington.

Doug who owns the property was so accommodating and helpful with our booking. Although they live on site we didn't feel for a second that we were being kept an eye on and were made to feel very welcome.

One thing to note though is that phone reception is really limited so be prepared for that! There was a spot a the top of the garden where we managed to get signal but that was about it.

Overall a perfect location for a girlie gathering, I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

We spent only days in this B&B but it was fantastic! The rooms are very cosy and lovely, all what you need is available for you! And there's this beautifull lake near the cottage where you can have a walk as well.
But the thing that I would remember the most is the kindness and the friendship of Valerie and Duncan (the hosts).
I recommend this B& to everyone, specially if you are several people.

Valerie-Anne, Belgium.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valchantrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

I celebrated my 40th birthday with friends at Emily Barn run by the Riach's. They could not have been more friendly and helpful. The barn was beautiful inside. the photos do not do it justice, and well equipped for large groups. We had a very mixed group including a baby and a toddler. There are provisions for young children but the small number of completely separate rooms makes noise hard to contain within the barn. A fabulous time was had by all.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countryfanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

Emily barn and its setting is beautiful, very well equipped and very clean. We were a group of 15 girls, and yes a couple were on 'put me ups' but this was well known before arriving and caused no problem at all- there were plenty of bathrooms which meant no waiting while getting ready for a night out! Doug was very helpful before and during the stay.
There is a big bbq and patio to sit out - which we made full use of during the sunny weekend!
We will definately be making a return visit! This place is highly recommended (as is the spa 5 mins down the road! - see the emily barn website)

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

Used Swiers Farm & Emily Barn for a group of 18 adults as a base for a walking weekend/get together. All of the group were full of praise for the facilities provided. We found the properties scrupulously clean, furnished to an exceptional standard and plenty of crockery etc, the welcome pack of tea/coffee/milk/biscuits much appreciated after a long journey. Although the rooms are not on-suite, there are plenty of bathrooms and no queuing even to soak aching limbs after a long walk on Saturday!

No hesitation in recommending this accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfie588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drgohara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

We hired the cottage for a hen weekend and fitted 13 people in to it.

The kitchen is warm and inviting although couldn't quite accommodate all 13 of us. The cupboards were well stocked - including helpfully things like salt and pepper and tea bags. We were welcomed with a selection of lovely biscuits and Doug was there to show us round and recommend things locally.

The dining did fit all 13 easily as did the lounge which was comfortable.

The bedrooms were nicely furnished. Our only complaint about the house was 2 girls were essentially sleeping on the landing.

The lake is a short walk away and offers tonnes of watersports. We opted for the more relaxing spa five minutes down the road which was lovely.

The place is secluded enough no-one minded us playing on a karaoke machine until the early hours!

Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drscarletohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carsington
2.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
3.9 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Lockup
The Old Lockup
#1 of 5 in Wirksworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiers Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiers Farm House

Property: Swiers Farm House
Address: Swiers Farm, Carsington DE4 4DE, England (Formerly Carsington Cottages)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Carsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Carsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful Grade II listed Farm House in pretty peak district village. This farm house is ideal for families who want to holiday together, a reunion of friends or for people who want a special occasion. Carsington provides a great place to base yourself to explore the Peak District. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing