We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful people, wonderful experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiers Farm House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carsington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiers Farm House
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful people, wonderful experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

I celebrated my 40th birthday with friends at Emily Barn run by the Riach's. They could not have been more friendly and helpful. The barn was beautiful inside. the photos do not do it justice, and well equipped for large groups. We had a very mixed group including a baby and a toddler. There are provisions for young children but the small number of completely separate rooms makes noise hard to contain within the barn. A fabulous time was had by all.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countryfanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
5
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

Emily barn and its setting is beautiful, very well equipped and very clean. We were a group of 15 girls, and yes a couple were on 'put me ups' but this was well known before arriving and caused no problem at all- there were plenty of bathrooms which meant no waiting while getting ready for a night out! Doug was very helpful before and during the stay.
There is a big bbq and patio to sit out - which we made full use of during the sunny weekend!
We will definately be making a return visit! This place is highly recommended (as is the spa 5 mins down the road! - see the emily barn website)

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

Used Swiers Farm & Emily Barn for a group of 18 adults as a base for a walking weekend/get together. All of the group were full of praise for the facilities provided. We found the properties scrupulously clean, furnished to an exceptional standard and plenty of crockery etc, the welcome pack of tea/coffee/milk/biscuits much appreciated after a long journey. Although the rooms are not on-suite, there are plenty of bathrooms and no queuing even to soak aching limbs after a long walk on Saturday!

No hesitation in recommending this accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfie588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drgohara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

We hired the cottage for a hen weekend and fitted 13 people in to it.

The kitchen is warm and inviting although couldn't quite accommodate all 13 of us. The cupboards were well stocked - including helpfully things like salt and pepper and tea bags. We were welcomed with a selection of lovely biscuits and Doug was there to show us round and recommend things locally.

The dining did fit all 13 easily as did the lounge which was comfortable.

The bedrooms were nicely furnished. Our only complaint about the house was 2 girls were essentially sleeping on the landing.

The lake is a short walk away and offers tonnes of watersports. We opted for the more relaxing spa five minutes down the road which was lovely.

The place is secluded enough no-one minded us playing on a karaoke machine until the early hours!

Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drscarletohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carsington
2.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
3.9 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Lockup
The Old Lockup
#1 of 5 in Wirksworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiers Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiers Farm House

Property: Swiers Farm House
Address: Swiers Farm, Carsington DE4 4DE, England (Formerly Carsington Cottages)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Carsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Carsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful Grade II listed Farm House in pretty peak district village. This farm house is ideal for families who want to holiday together, a reunion of friends or for people who want a special occasion. Carsington provides a great place to base yourself to explore the Peak District. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing