We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cottage for large group and families in a great location!”
Review of Swiers Farm House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carsington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiers Farm House
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage for large group and families in a great location!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

A group of friends with families (10 adults & 7 kids) back for a second long weekend at Swiers Farm House. Great location. Lovely, clean and warm (in a chilly October) and plenty of space. Great large kitchen for sitting and chatting and cooking in. Back kitchen with extra fridge & storage space very useful. Wifi was excellent, we all had phones & ipads connected and no problems. Bedrooms to suit all family requirements with extra beds/cots.

Doug was very friendly and only next door!

I would happily recommend this cottage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
5
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here from the 29th July - 1st August 2013. It was a family break as some of our relatives were over from the states. There were varying ages of guests from 2 years old up to 87 years old, and we found that the house suited all of us. My elderly Nan stayed in the ground floor bedroom as she is unable to manage stairs any more and there was also a shower room down stairs, which was ideal.
The house is beautiful, the surroundings picturesque, the local pub (which is a short walk away) is very welcoming and the owners couldn't have been more helpful. There is a large kitchen and dining area, which suited the 12 of us who stayed. The gardens are also ideal for a BBQ, which is provided on site. There is also plenty to do and see in this beautiful part of England.
I had car problems during our stay and my car was in the garage over night whilst we stayed and delayed our departure time. However, Doug and his family were very accommodating and understanding when we needed somewhere to leave our bags for a short time.
Keep up the good work, we'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leannne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Doug and his family were wonderful the week we were here, they couldnt have done anymore to make our stay enjoyable.We came to celebrated my mums 60th and the house, location and weather was fantastic..I would wholeheartedly recommend this cottage to everyone was perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilks18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked Swiers Farm House for our friend's hen party in April. There were 13 of us, but plenty of space for a couple more. The cottage is lovely and homely and is very well appointed. The large amount of kitchen space and second refridgerator was welcomed by us since we had brought quite a lot of food with us for the weekend.

As recommended by Doug, we had Sloan's Catering come and cater for our murder mystery dinner party. Tony Sloan was very easy to deal with, happy to accommodate our plans and the food was excellent. The cottage's dining room was just the right size for our party and the upstairs lounge for our pre-dinner dinks and canapes.

It is an easy walk to Cardsington Water or drive to Buxton. Unfortunately, we didn't get to use the outside due to the weather, but it looked like it would have been a good space for a BBQ.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach0082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I booked this for a family get together and it couldn't have been better. This lovely, warm house has plenty of space and it's easy to just sink into the comfort and homely feel. Well equipped and with owners at hand to help if necessary.
We liked the fact that we were near enough to walk to the pub and close to carsington water and nearby towns like Ashbourne.
I was the last to leave the house and was very tempted to ask if I could stay another night and just chill out.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I booked the farmhouse for my best friend's Hen Weekend at the beginning of February and it certainly did not disappoint. All the rooms were beautifully appointed in keeping with the age of the house and there was plenty of space for the 15 of us. There was everything we needed in the kitchen and the additional kitchen/ utility space came in very useful for when we had the excellent local chef, Tony Sloan, catering for us on the Saturday night! Nothing is too much trouble for the owners who are very friendly and helpful. There is plenty of space for parking and the village of Carsington is very pretty with the cosy Miner's Arms just a short walk from the house. I would thoroughly recommend this holiday let and hope to stay there again myself in the future!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPip10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Wow what a fantastic place. We hired the farmhouse for a birthday. The house was full of lovely furniture, well equipped kitchen, and lovely and warm (January). It was very picturesque as there was heavy snow. The bedrooms were lovely and comfortable with luxurious bedding. There were plenty of DVD's, books and games if weather bad. It was a beautiful quirky house, full of character. The owner was very helpful. Will definitely be booking again. All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carsington
2.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
101 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
363 reviews
3.4 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
347 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Lockup
The Old Lockup
#1 of 5 in Wirksworth
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiers Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiers Farm House

Property: Swiers Farm House
Address: Swiers Farm, Carsington DE4 4DE, England (Formerly Carsington Cottages)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Carsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Carsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful Grade II listed Farm House in pretty peak district village. This farm house is ideal for families who want to holiday together, a reunion of friends or for people who want a special occasion. Carsington provides a great place to base yourself to explore the Peak District. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing