We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent cottage and amazing weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swiers Farm House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carsington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiers Farm House
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent cottage and amazing weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Booked Emily Barn farmhouse for 14 people and it was really good. The cottage was perfect for all of us as it was quite spacious and had enough beds to accomodate us. The cottage was well furnished with lots of cutlery and crockery. Outside garden was really nice and we spent a lot of our time out there as the weather was really good! Awesome place and highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
5
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at Swiers Farm House in September for a reunion of school friends (and 2 babies)and had an amazing time. Great location, lovely cottage and lots to do in the local vacinity. Would highly recommend it for a weekend break or longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richlowsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Swiers Farmhouse was an amazing venue for my hen weekend. A total surprise booked by some amazing friends and was just perfect. Social large kitchen with everything you could possibly need and a large back garden for afternoon wine and cake. The owners, Doug and Val were friendly, helpful and had a really laid back and flexible approach. The 3 piglets in the back garden were also adorable and just added to the whole experience.

I would not hesitate to recommend booking Swiers or Emily Barn (the owners let us take a peek and it too is stunning).

Thoroughly fabulous

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We booked the farmhouse for our biannual Team Build,stunning property in beautiful Derbyshire location with loads to do in the surrounding area. Accommodation was fabulous,full of character and intrigue,very well appointed and equipped. Owners were really helpful and catered for our every need .Would highly recommend,we had an amazing time! Would certainly return as business customer (for team building event )and with family and friends. Christmas/ New Year would be awesome! Tissington,Carsington Water and Ashbourne all great destinations to visit as well as some good pubs close by serving excellent food. Doug has all the 'local' details!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deeping St James England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

we booked the farmhouse for my 60th birthday as hotels not the best idea with 5 grandchildren. Very well stocked for large parties. All the family really enjoyed the whole time there, house has a lovely feel to it so warm and welcoming. Would go back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Booked farmhouse for hen party. Owners were extremely helpful from the start. The house was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed - particularly as we were told to help ourselves to anything we needed from the room marked 'Private'! The house is cosy and easily accommodated all 16 of us. The kitchen was a particularly sociable place with it's sofas and huge table. We had a lovely weekend and wouldn't hesitate to book again should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fromleics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

A fantastic time had by all 12 of our party in Jan 2012 - a very warm welcome from owner Doug (and baby grand-daughter!) on arrival, beautiful character house with all amenities to cater for 12+ guests including 2 x large fridges and huge freezer in utility room, plenty of room for all, roaring wood fireplace, all mod cons (pleasantly surprised by free wifi, iPod dock and DAB radio), and lovely local pub The Miners Arms just a minute's walk away. Short stroll to beautiful lake with eight mile walk round perimeter through rural countryside. Nothing too much trouble, very effective heating system once it kicked in, and even a range of waterproofs and umbrellas for guests to use! Very reasonable pricing too, couldn't have been better. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollyanna85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carsington
2.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
10.6 mi away
Premier Inn Derby North West Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 27 in Ashbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiers Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiers Farm House

Property: Swiers Farm House
Address: Swiers Farm, Carsington DE4 4DE, England (Formerly Carsington Cottages)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Carsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Carsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful Grade II listed Farm House in pretty peak district village. This farm house is ideal for families who want to holiday together, a reunion of friends or for people who want a special occasion. Carsington provides a great place to base yourself to explore the Peak District. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing