We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing experience!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa de la Selva - CLOSED

Villa de la Selva
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Mexican, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Villa de la Selva offers three terraces with views of the ocean. The restaurant has a casual ambience and serves contemporary and international cuisine. With twenty-five years of high quality service, the staff is experts at hosting weddings and the most romantic dinners in Ixtapa. El restaurante consta de tres terrazas con vista al mar al descubierto. El ambiente es casual y nuestra cocina es contemporanea e internacional. Veinte-cinco anos de servicio respaldan nuestra calidad, expertos en bodas y eventos los atardeceres mas bellos de Ixtapa disfrutando de una cena romantica.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very disappointing experience!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very poor service, total lack of customer focus, pasta dishes were cold and underwhelming.
With a cost of over twice than other very good restaurants in Ixtapa they did not fulfill our expectations for a fine dining experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jaypaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    42
    12
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good view/bad food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Beautiful view of ixtapa coast especially at sunset when we went. The drinks were also delicious and it was very romantic BUT for the price, the food was not impressive. Menu looks good but the appetizers are small and ours (duck taco, calamari) we rate at a 6. Entrees were a complete let down. A place you get the pasta because that was the best dish and still dry and small. Veal was undercooked along with the potato and my wife's lobster had maybe 5 oz of good meat for $50 bucks. Have to end saying service was great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabby1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Consistently a very nice restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great view, very good food. On the pricey end, but very romantic.
We enjoy the shrimp, risotto, caesar salads.
Wear your bug repellant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank coug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The setting is gorgeous, but the food is way overpriced. The quality is acceptable, but I can get much better at 1/3 the price in Philadelphia. Lamb chops were cooked perfectly, but sauce tasted like something out of a jar. I can cook much better than this. Ceviche was good, but nothing special. It is surprising that for this type of location and these prices they cannot find someone in Mexico that can cook better. I would recommend they try to lure someone for Puerta Villarta (sp?)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kellyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The food and service were excellent!!! We had the calamari and assorted tuna appetizer. For dinner I had the Risotto with Shrimp and my husband had Surf and Turf. My friend had the best meal which was the veal. We finished with an assortment of desserts. Nothing was bad and the seanery and ambiance excellent!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa de la Selva also viewed

Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing