We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently a very nice restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa de la Selva - CLOSED

Villa de la Selva
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Mexican, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Villa de la Selva offers three terraces with views of the ocean. The restaurant has a casual ambience and serves contemporary and international cuisine. With twenty-five years of high quality service, the staff is experts at hosting weddings and the most romantic dinners in Ixtapa. El restaurante consta de tres terrazas con vista al mar al descubierto. El ambiente es casual y nuestra cocina es contemporanea e internacional. Veinte-cinco anos de servicio respaldan nuestra calidad, expertos en bodas y eventos los atardeceres mas bellos de Ixtapa disfrutando de una cena romantica.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Consistently a very nice restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great view, very good food. On the pricey end, but very romantic.
We enjoy the shrimp, risotto, caesar salads.
Wear your bug repellant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank coug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    42
    12
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The setting is gorgeous, but the food is way overpriced. The quality is acceptable, but I can get much better at 1/3 the price in Philadelphia. Lamb chops were cooked perfectly, but sauce tasted like something out of a jar. I can cook much better than this. Ceviche was good, but nothing special. It is surprising that for this type of location and these prices they cannot find someone in Mexico that can cook better. I would recommend they try to lure someone for Puerta Villarta (sp?)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kellyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The food and service were excellent!!! We had the calamari and assorted tuna appetizer. For dinner I had the Risotto with Shrimp and my husband had Surf and Turf. My friend had the best meal which was the veal. We finished with an assortment of desserts. Nothing was bad and the seanery and ambiance excellent!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SPECIAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Villa de la Selva will always be one of our favorite upscale restaurants in the area.

Atmosphere is the best. We always go in time for the sunset.

Food is always excellent; with impeccable service.

Just hoping they will have some gluten free meal options this year.

If you are blessed to be traveling to this beautiful area of the world (Ixtapa/Zihuatanejo, MX) and want a memorable dining experience you MUST make Villa de la Selva your choice!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Judie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Top notch, but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is by far one of the must places in ixtapa. Beautiful views -specially if you come early for sunset-, great service and really good food. My only regrets are that the portions are waay too small (I like men size portions) and prices are on the high side. All in all you will have a wonderful experience and the musician is also very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pablo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa de la Selva also viewed

Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing