We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous staff!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tesoro Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tesoro Ixtapa
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous staff!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed here from Jan 10-24 2014 with another couple. It was fabulous! Yes the resort is older and could use some work in the rooms but our room was always cleaned spotless everyday. Everyone who worked there from the front desk to the servers to the lifeguard were wonderful. A few people who stand out are Oliva, Irma, all beach servers and the lifeguard. I am sorry but never got his name but he was there for us on a few occasions from injuries in the ocean. He was probably glad to see us go lol. The food was very good. We got to watch some great volleyball. Koodos to those people who could play in that heat. The beach was wonderful and yes the waves got very big the second week I believe to the full moon? We loved it here and would recommend it to anyone. It is not a party or nitelife hotel so if you want that don't come here. Thanks to all who worked here for the wonderful time.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor with an oceanview. Beautiful sunsets every nite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sungirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    241
    165
    90
    76
See reviews for
261
237
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

This year I requested a specific room placement with Baldwin at the front desk before coming through email. He had it all arranged on my arrival and is always very accommodating. I can not say enough good things about the people from the bartender Manuel, Patsy the server, and Omar. They are all so sweet, always smiling and ready to help. I wish I could list all of the workers here as they are all excellent. The food ho.las gotten much better in the last 2 years I am amazed. The beef is great this year. I can not figure out if they just now are getting better meat but it is awesome. They have great service at the beach and pool so u never have to lift a finger. The maid service is first class also. This is my 21st year at the Tesoro and I would not stay any where else.

Room Tip: If u like a few of the ocean, u would want a room inside with a balcony ocean view. Also, it is fun...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Baldwin is in charge of the reception desk. Very congenial and very accomodating. If it is in his power to do it, he will do it for you. We have stayed at the Tesoro many times over the years and have been well pleased. The main feature is that the hotel is clean. As with any hotel over the years the rooms shows their wear and is in need of some touch ups, but who wants to spend the vacation in the hotel room. The staff is always friendly. Not once have we encountered a grumpy employee. The variety of food is excellent. Some may not like the way the food is prepared, but you are in Mexico and not in your kitchen at home. My only suggestion is the food could be warmer. The soups were always hot. The breakfast is the best particularly if you have an omelet made fresh and therefore hot. A big plus is WiFi is free in the lobby. The Omahans

Room Tip: The lower floors or if you can get a room in the villa type buildings around the pool you avoid the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Tesoro is rated a 3.5 star. I would rate it higher. It is a very clean hotel. Excellent, friendly and cheerful staff. Great buffet with lots of choices. One Al La Cart which wasn't hard to book, Fri. and Sat. nights served close to the beach on the lawn.
The beach is clean and the ocean is warm. Watch the waves when moon is full.
Beach bartender kept up to our drink orders.
Our tips were appreciated, we got great service on the beach and in the restaurants!

Not too many beach salespeople, polite and not persistent.

Had an incident with a beach vendor, Julian. A friend booked a scuba dive for three of us, he fell ill the day we were to go. We wished to reschedule but could not find this salesman, and when we did he saw us coming and ran the other way. Very unprofessional.

We did have great success with Big Ben! A scuba dive for three, Sunset cruise for four and two deep sea fishing trips with three sailfish on two of his trips. Tesoro hotel staff cooked our Sailfish from one trip, staff received the remainder of the 50 lbs we brought in.

Ben saw us to and from for each adventure and followed up very professionally. We would highly recomend seeking him out. Ben is on the beach near Krystal hotel (central Ixtapa beach), he operates independently with three deep sea fishing boats for hire. His boats are accessed by Seadoo from the beach so no early morning trip to the pier 20 mins. away. All around good guy!

We had booked a wonderful day on the La Bamba also and caught Mahi Mahi (Dorado) which was cooked up for us at a pier side restarant.

Bus is only 9 pecos to Zihwat. Great fishing village, restaurants on the beach and lots of neat little shops. They love to barter. Morning is best as it gets hot!

My Fiance and I spent three weeks at this hotel, met three other great couples during this time to tour with. We would definitly consider this vacation spot again and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view on fourth floor on east side. Apart from the next hotel's noisy cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Tesoro in Jan 2014 and it was one of the best holidays ever! Ixtapa is beautiful and clean! Same with this hotel - very clean and the staff are amazing! Miguel at the front desk accommodated my special request of a room with a balcony and an ocean view with no problem at all! The drinks and food were excellent! I can't say enough about the service! Amazing. Now this is not a five star and some of the rooms need a bit of an update but you don't stay in your room much anyways. The lobby bar was fun and the bartenders were great! The beach is wonderful and swimming was fun but be aware of the waves on some days. Tesoro Beach servers on the beach were great with fast service. We stayed on the beach until 6 or 7 at night as the sunset was beautiful. We met some awesome people from Canada and Mexico! Will definitely be going back to this resort!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Denmother123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Carmel, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Good quality for price. Rooms are nice. AC actually works well. Food is good. Staff is attentive. Lobby needs update. There is no lounge seating anywhere. Pool area is very strict about uncovered drinks in pool but doesn't monitor the snack bar eating area. There are always tables restricted for eating that are not used for that purpose.

Room Tip: Get one with two beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LittlePupsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado CJBis: Agradecemos de antemano el tiempo prestado a este comentario, realmente es muy grato saber que durante su estancia hubo algunos puntos favorables que fueron de su agrado mas no desmeritamos sus comentarios constructivos y le aseguramos que haremos caso a ellos buscando la mejora de los mismos para que en su próxima visita, pueda notar estos cambios. Muchas gracias por su preferencia y en nombre de la Familia Tesoro Ixtapa reciba un cordial saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Liked it again, good bang for your buck, clean, friendly. Good location, safe. Perfect beach. If you're looking for perfect sinks or caulk, not for you. Perfect for me however. Lots to do.i enjoyed the food also.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aaafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado aaafish: Primero que todo muchas gracias por regalarnos parte de su tiempo, escribiendo este comentario. Nos es muy grato saber que sigamos siendo un hotel de su completo agrado, esperamos seguir así por mucho tiempo más; mas sin embargo hacemos de su conocimiento que estamos trabajando en una mejora continua, para seguir ofreciéndole el mejor servicio. En nombre de la Familia Tesoro Ixtapa reciba un cordial saludo y esperamos contar nuevamente con su presencia en esta su casa, Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#19 of 22 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
1.1 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tesoro Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tesoro Ixtapa

Property: Tesoro Ixtapa
Address: Blvd Ixtapa s/n Lote 5, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tesoro Ixtapa 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views of the sparkling Pacific and tropical mountains, this breathtaking resort features 203 rooms that cater to families, honeymooners and friends seeking the Treasure of tranquil waters, golden shorelines and year round sunshines in a vibrant Mexican destination.This All Inclusive resort is plenty of additional packages for Free Weddings, Conventions, Graduation Trips as well as Packages that include a Dolphin Encounter or SPA Massages. If you are looking for the secluded atmosphere of a Fine Dining place, just make a reservation to EL MESON, the Specialty Restaurant or even better, if you prefer to be in your room, we offer the possibility of asking for Room Service, free of charge (1 daily). In Tesoro Ixtapa you will find another exclusive jewel. If you feel hungry at midnight or coming back from the party, you will feel like at home, going down for some snacks like Nachos, Hot Dogs or sandwiches accompanied with beer or sodas...at the 7/24. And the best thing is that this is also included !!!! If you are looking for Location... This is the place to be, because it is located at the heart of Ixtapa, so you will be walking distance from the most important and commercial areas of town, as well as in front of the Golf Course or walking distance from de Marina Ixtapa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tesoro Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tesoro Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Tesoro Hotel
Tesoro Hotel Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing