We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality”
Review of Tesoro Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tesoro Ixtapa
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Good quality for price. Rooms are nice. AC actually works well. Food is good. Staff is attentive. Lobby needs update. There is no lounge seating anywhere. Pool area is very strict about uncovered drinks in pool but doesn't monitor the snack bar eating area. There are always tables restricted for eating that are not used for that purpose.

Room Tip: Get one with two beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LittlePupsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado CJBis: Agradecemos de antemano el tiempo prestado a este comentario, realmente es muy grato saber que durante su estancia hubo algunos puntos favorables que fueron de su agrado mas no desmeritamos sus comentarios constructivos y le aseguramos que haremos caso a ellos buscando la mejora de los mismos para que en su próxima visita, pueda notar estos cambios. Muchas gracias por su preferencia y en nombre de la Familia Tesoro Ixtapa reciba un cordial saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 794 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

Liked it again, good bang for your buck, clean, friendly. Good location, safe. Perfect beach. If you're looking for perfect sinks or caulk, not for you. Perfect for me however. Lots to do.i enjoyed the food also.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aaafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado aaafish: Primero que todo muchas gracias por regalarnos parte de su tiempo, escribiendo este comentario. Nos es muy grato saber que sigamos siendo un hotel de su completo agrado, esperamos seguir así por mucho tiempo más; mas sin embargo hacemos de su conocimiento que estamos trabajando en una mejora continua, para seguir ofreciéndole el mejor servicio. En nombre de la Familia Tesoro Ixtapa reciba un cordial saludo y esperamos contar nuevamente con su presencia en esta su casa, Gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The staff were the best.. Oliva, Fernando, Osvaldo,Omar,Rosalio, (?) ( our servers). The young security guard, who worked at the gate and around the pool area, and the Lifeguards , people who we dealt with the most..
Over all we enjoyed the Tesoro.. However, there were some drawbacks.
First of all....my sister and I were given a room on the fourth floor, not a bad room, great view, but it had an adjoining door which allowed us to be woken and kept awake by our neighbours. We asked for a move and were given a room on the seventh floor, which was great .
The food was okey., we only ate at the buffet , or at the snack bar by the pool .
One thing that we would have enjoyed having was the pool area bar opening a little earlier... After all , we are on vacation. The one main thing that we did not like at the Tesoro were the unsupervised kids at the pool. The children seemed to think it was fun to shoot at us.. with no parents around they did what they wanted. We were there for a the sun and relaxation not to be shot at, and harassed . Of course some children were well behaved and their parents were attentive.
On our second last day , my sister and I took the bus into Zihua . We think that next time ,we will definitely try to see more of this city. Going back to Ixtapa , we didn't get onto the Marina bus. On the bus we talked to a man who worked at a restaurant at Playa Linda , Margarito (Spider-Man) , he influenced us to continue on the bus to Playa Linda, what a beautiful beach, and alligator sanctuary. This is also where you would catch the water taxi to Isla Ixtapa. After some shopping and eating we caught the bus back to Ixtapa.

We loved the beach , the massages (150 pesos ) ,the sun and the people !

Room Tip: Water views are fabulous. Our A/C was noisy and did not cool us, which makes it hard to be comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 65Susan1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014
Google Translation

Estimada 65susan1948: Muchas gracias por el tiempo brindado en la realización de este comentario, tomaremos en cuenta los puntos de oportunidad mencionados y trabajaremos en la mejora de los mismos; esperamos contar con su presencia una vez más en esta su casa, que sea participe de estas mejoras y así mismo que nos permita brindarle el servicio con calidad que usted se merece.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Simply put, the hotel, it's amenities, it's food and limited restaurants all are awful. Ppl who give it a good review...clearly haven't traveled much. Disappointed in Signature Holidays for endorsing this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Craig S. antes que todo muchas gracias por regalarnos parte de su tiempo, en escribir este comentario, nos es muy grato saber que el trato del personal haya sido de su agrado, le aseguro que estaremos trabajando arduamente en mejorar los puntos de oportunidad a los que usted hace mención. No obstante esperamos que nos dé una vez más su voto de confianza visitándonos en un futuro y así poder mejorar la experiencia vivida en Tesoro Ixtapa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I always read the reviews with an open mind, when we checked into our room at Tesoro, I thought we just walked into every bad review that I had read about the resort. We started on the second floor, the air conditioner didn't blow cold air, although it made a lot of noise, we didn't have hot water and the room was very old and looked dirty and smelled musty. We went to the front desk and asked about switching rooms, which we have never done before, we talked to the sweetest girl who got us a room on the third floor, it was very nice and clean and the beds were comfortable, it was quiet, had air and hot water, the tv didn't work very well, but we were in Mexico, who needs tv. Everyday the room would be cleaned and we would get fresh towels and fresh flowers. We would take a picture of the flowers to enjoy and then put them outside because they have tiny bugs in them. The fresh fruit and vegetables at the buffet were delicious, we ate them for every meal, my daughter was very happy with the pancakes at breakfast and pasta for lunch and dinner, my husband enjoyed the omelets, the other food at the buffet was only ok. The reservation restaurant was good, we were able to eat there for the Italian night and the Mexican night, they were both good, but we enjoyed the Italian night more. We were there for New Years Eve, and wow did they do an amazing job setting up for the party and the food was wonderful. We also liked that they gave everyone a bag of 12 grapes for their New Years tradition. There were a lot of Mexican families, some Canadians and very few from the US. The staff is very nice, but they don't seem to speak much English, which makes it difficult to communicate, but we were in Mexico, I should probably learn more Spanish. Some of the wait staff did teach me some Spanish, which was fun to use when I would see them again. The pool is very nice and the beach is beautiful, the Tesoro is in the middle of the beach, so you can easily walk to both ends. We did have to get up early to get chairs by the pool or on the beach. The elevators are very slow, we usually would just take the stairs unless the elevator happen to be there when we were. They have a show outside by the parking lot, not every night, and Karaoke in the lobby in the evening (in Spanish), it's something to do. The resort is old, but we walked into one of the newer ones on the strip and it just didn't have the same Mexican feel as the Tesoro. If we could get the same room we had on the third floor, we would probably stay here again. When you are at the Airport, watch out for the Timeshare/Members only people, they tell you they are the taxi service, but they are not, go directly to the desk that says Taxi above it.

Room Tip: From our experience and talking with other people staying here, you want to try to get a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinnesotaMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014
Google Translation

Estimada Minessota, muchas gracias por el tiempo destinado para contar tu experiencia en Tesoro Ixtapa, me da mucho gusto que se hallan atendido las áreas de oportunidad que comentas y que hallas pasado unas bonitas vacaciones. ten por seguro que cuando gustes regresar te podremos asignar la misma habitación solo anúncialo en el request y con gusto lo haremos. La familia Tesoro Ixtapa agradece tu visita y espera verte pronto de regreso. saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a great week at this hotel. For what we paid over the Christmas/New Year it was very good value. There were many Mexican families staying at the resort which added to the experience and appeal.
We initially had a room on the second floor which was not that great. The hotel staff changed our room to the third floor but we did have to wait a day. It was a better room. It is good to know that the top 2 floors of this resort are privately owned condominiums so they are not available. We did view theses condos and they are available to rent but not through the hotel. After experiencing the great staff (although limited English was frustrating), wonderful food and beautiful beach we thought that it would not have mattered if we stayed in the first room.
We loved the food with the exception of the desserts. Breakfast was really nice with a good variety. Salads for lunch were always fresh and dinner was great. The service was attentive and we ate almost every meal on the terrace. The Mexican restaurant was average and we found the buffet more enjoyable. Drinks were plentiful and easy to get. They were not 'watered down'.
Our New Years Eve dinner was amazing and the work that went into transforming the pool area into a beautiful outdoor party room was unreal - right down to fireworks, party hats and champagne.
We would recommend this hotel, however you do have to have an open mind regarding the Mexican culture and the age of the resort.

Room Tip: The top 2 floor in this hotel are privately owned condominiums. This leaves only 4 or 5 floors to bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 764Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014
Google Translation

Estimada 764Rose: Le agradecemos que nos regalara un espacio de su valioso tiempo para redactar este comentario sobre su Experiencia en Tesoro Ixtapa. Es para toda la Familia Tesoro un honor el haber logrado, que su estancia haya sido un éxito y que los alimentos, bebidas pero sobre todo la calidez del servicio ofrecido por nuestro profesional personal le hayan hecho pasar momentos agradables. La esperamos pronto por esta su casa Tesoro Ixtapa. Gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We booked our first trip to Mexico from Dec 25 - Jan 1. Getting to the hotel took us 25 mins and checking in took about 10 mins.
I'll touch briefly on the points mentioned below and the average rating.

Service: Was average, although like other places, there are always one or two staff who go out of their way to remember your drink, check on your re fills and deliver service with a smile. Most staff incl. front desk spoke very little English, which was frustrating at times. e.g. Nobody could give us a straight answer when the pool bar in the hotel opened. (It's open from 11:30 am - 6 p.m., after which the Lobby bar serves till 12:30 a.m.)

Rooms and Sleep Quality: They were a decent size and the washrooms were clean too. Although you could see traces of mould on the shower curtain and the drapes in the room. The beds were comfortable, however, this is a family resort, and given that we went during the christmas week, it was maxed out at capacity with 80% mexican families. We woke up to people singing in the courtyard at 2 am and wailing kids, but made up for our sleep during the day.

Cleanliness: The rooms were cleaned daily, and equipped with fresh towels everyday. However, the dampness and the mouldy smell was only masked with a cheap air freshner. The AC worked which was a blessing. We just aired the room out most mornings to try and get rid of the dampness.

Location: The hotel has the view of mountains on one side and the beautiful ocean on the other. Close to shops, restaurants, pharmacy. The beach was clean even though it was a busy time we found sun chairs and a lot of space to take long walks.

Food and beverage: The restaurant had mostly the same selection every night. They prepared the meats differently e.g. one night a chinese theme, another night they had mexican etc. I stuck to the sea food and unlimited supply for tortilla soup and fresh tortillas and didn't really go hungry. But the quality wasn't something I would write home about. The beverage selection was average but the wait staff during the day were very attentive in bringing us refills. I must mention that the dinner at the NYE party was far better, which proved that the resort is capable of producing some pretty high quality meals.

Overall, I wouldn't stay at Tesoro if I were to visit Ixtapa again. What made the experience enjoyable and a great one, were the people we met, the breath taking scenery and the excursions we took ( We did an ATV Tour and a fishing excursion with Julio's Fishing Tours - highly recommended)

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor and facing the ocean. Also make sure you let them know you need close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atex_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciable Quebonita: La Familia Tesoro le agradece los comentarios que nos regala sobre su experiencia pasada en el Hotel. Comentarle que estaremos trabajando en el entrenamiento y capacitación de nuestro personal de Front Desk para que sea más amplio su nivel de Inglés y puedan brindar una atención más calidad a nuestros visitantes extranjeros. Uno de los importantes tesoros de la propiedad son la calidez que nuestros trabajadores ofrecen al turista nos da gusto que hayan recibido el trato cálido que comenta. Comentarle que hemos realizado una reciente actualización de nuestros Menús del restaurante Buffet lo cual estoy seguro que lo podrá apreciar en su próxima visita. Nuevamente te agradecemos sus puntos de vista mencionados y es nuestro compromiso estar trabajando en las áreas de oportunidad. Muchas gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#19 of 23 in Ixtapa
865 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#8 of 23 in Ixtapa
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tesoro Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tesoro Ixtapa

Address: Blvd Ixtapa s/n Lote 5, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: $129 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tesoro Ixtapa 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views of the sparkling Pacific and tropical mountains, this breathtaking resort features 203 rooms that cater to families, honeymooners and friends seeking the Treasure of tranquil waters, golden shorelines and year round sunshines in a vibrant Mexican destination.This All Inclusive resort is plenty of additional packages for Free Weddings, Conventions, Graduation Trips as well as Packages that include a Dolphin Encounter or SPA Massages. If you are looking for the secluded atmosphere of a Fine Dining place, just make a reservation to EL MESON, the Specialty Restaurant or even better, if you prefer to be in your room, we offer the possibility of asking for Room Service, free of charge (1 daily). In Tesoro Ixtapa you will find another exclusive jewel. If you feel hungry at midnight or coming back from the party, you will feel like at home, going down for some snacks like Nachos, Hot Dogs or sandwiches accompanied with beer or sodas...at the 7/24. And the best thing is that this is also included !!!! If you are looking for Location... This is the place to be, because it is located at the heart of Ixtapa, so you will be walking distance from the most important and commercial areas of town, as well as in front of the Golf Course or walking distance from de Marina Ixtapa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tesoro Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tesoro Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Tesoro Hotel
Tesoro Hotel Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing