We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleased overall”
Review of Tesoro Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tesoro Ixtapa
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“pleased overall”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

3 days before my family was to depart on a Carnival cruise it was cancelled. I googled last minute vacations and all-inclusive Tesoro popped up. Well how do I do all my research and safety checks if we're to depart 3 days later? A VERY GOOD friend directed me to TripAdvisor and the rest is history. We booked it, unpacked our cruise clothes, packed much more casual clothing, threw in snorkeling equipment and had an awesome vacation! I do have a few words of advice: 1. Its safe but by all means carry small bills, leave all your jewelry at home and be sensible! 2. If you have young 18+ adults the Senor Frogs doesn't get hop pin and fun until midnight when the hotel shows are over. My kid and friend had a blast and partied 'til 5 am a few times. It was a 6 minute walk and I do believe she was safe. A little worse for the wear but she's a sensible kid and knew bar/party/hotel and NOTHING ELSE. Had we been in Cancun I wouldn't have been so laid-back. 3. Heed the information about the local day-users. The pool was packed from morning until night, the drinks were few and far between and very watered down but useful in a smoothie-to-keep-u-hydrated sorta way, and forget about getting a palapa if you weren't on that beach by 8 am. However, despite the language barrier the locals seemed very friendly. The resort was pretty, the rooms were clean and the staff always helpful as long as you were respectful. I did observe a couple that started off on the wrong foot and they shared with us on the busride back to the airport at the end of the week that they would never return. Very unfortunate but I believe the blame really fell on them. Attitude and respect, people. They make all the difference! 4. We agreed to attend a timeshare presentation at Azul Ixtapa. Oh. Wow. So fantastically beautiful! We'll save the timeshare discussion for another day but I will say for $15 pp/pd we bought day passes to Azul! The swim up bar was fabulous and the activities director got our kid and friend involved in several very fun activities. The pool is multi-levels and very large and it was NOT crowded and the water was clean without the film of sunscreen at Tesoro...just sayin'. I have nothing but good things to say about Azul so if you get the chance take it. And to save yourself some big money on transportation forget taxis, take the bus. 5. Lastly, parasail, snorkel (and I have info to save yourself money there too if you go to Azul for the day-the snorkeling is on an island that you see from the from the pool at Azul and you can arrange it yourself!), and go shopping for your souvenirs at the tarp market setup in front of the expensive Barcelo resort. Oh yes we went for Spring Break 2013- March 18th-25th. Go, enjoy, Viva LA Mexico!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patreeseeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    243
    165
    91
    77
See reviews for
264
237
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hubby & I (30's) and our 16 y/o daughter stayed during Easter Week/Holy Week/Semana Santa. This was our first visit to Ixtapa/Zihua. We have traveled to Playa Del Carmen, Mazatlan, Puerto Vallarta, & Cozumel before this trip.

We were so lucky to have an ocean-view room (#152) with a nice balcony big enough for 2 beach chairs!!! Majority of travelers during this week were from other areas of Mexico, which made the vacation so much fun! We met so many beautiful, friendly & fun people on this trip.

The Beach was beautiful & great for nice long walks. Be careful swimming at Tesoro's beach because waves get high & undertow is strong. Flag was black all the time except on our last day it changed to red (which is still dangerous) For calmer waters: Playa La Ropa & Las Gatas in Zihua and Isla Ixtapa are good options.

The pool was busy, lots of fun & water always warm.
The staff were sweet & always seemed to be happy.

Food wasn't the strongest point of this resort, but we understood this when we booked. We still ventured outside of the hotel & ate at beach cafe's and places in Zihua.

Tours:
We didn't book a single tour!!!
We did everyting on our own by taking a cheap bus (9 pesos), taxi (75 - 100 pesos) or water taxi (40 pesos) to Zihua, Playa Linda, Las Gatas, Isla Ixtapa and Playa La Ropa.
Beaches were very busy but this made the days so much fun as there were always live bands playing & yummy things to buy from vendors.
If you are a tour-preferring person there was a small tour desk in the Tesoro Lobby.

Evening Activities:
The pool bar seemed to close too early. We enjoyed watching sunsets on the beach & the bar would already be closed.
The Lobby Bar opens in the evening & this is where the majority of the evening activies take place. (During our stay the Hotel had Karaoke Nights, Dance nights, & A Soccer Game Broadcast) If you step outside near the parking lot you will see the stage off to the right where the evening shows are held arround 9pm each night (We didn't find the stage right away) The shows we noticed were the Mexico Show & Tropical show.

If you walk across the street Rumbia had some bumping music blasting and Senior Frogs is also close by. There are also smaller places that have more local bands playing. One night we ventured over near the gazebo & there were clusters of brass bands & drummers playing in different corners. The music was so much fun!!! Some of the same bands walking along the beach during the day were still performing at night.

On Good Friday evening we were in Zihua & there were a lot of activities going on in the area w/Gazebo and Basketball Court (Vendors, Drummers, Dancers) As we walked arround Zihua that evening, we could hear beautiful Salsa music playing from some of the bars.

What impressed me most about this trip was that we felt like part of a family in this destination. I am worried that if we traveled to this area on a slow week, we would miss out on all the energy, happiness & excitement we experienced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank decemberb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanstead qc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

my mother and I went to tesoro in january 2013 we had a great time the food was very good the staff was all very nice the location was also great near a small flea market and also a big shopping mall and plenty of restaurant to choose from if you fell like having something different we took a tour of an island i suggest bring water shoes cause a bit rockee but not at the resort the beach very long to take nice walks but water a little wave so do not venture out to PLANNING ON GOING BACK THERE NEXT JANUARY 2014 AND I TRAVEL ALOT AND USUALLY DO NOT RETURN TO THE SAME RESORT BUT I WANT TO TAKE THE HUBBY AND FRIENDS TO THE TESORO LOVED IT THANKS AGAIN TO ALL OF THE STAFF

Room Tip: room on the first flloor much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newfie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Ixtapa sells itself and this hotel for the price gives an economic stay for one who can push the envelope when checking in especially for 2 weeks. It helps if one can speak enough Spanish as we did to get what you paid for. We complained about the room as there was a crack of ocean view. There is absolutely no reasoning with the front desk on Friday thru Sunday as that is when the Mexicans arrive and the hotel is full to capacity. We complained Sunday nite arrived Sat. and were immediately given a lovely suite full view and complete kitchen actually if not for the double poor matressed bed I was in heaven . You get what you pay for if its Dreams you want this place is not for you. The cheapness of the trip like 3600 for 2 weeks which isnt really that cheap is definitely reflected in the food . You are better to find a condo for 2 wks. and eat out or make a few things on your own. Buffet and by the way the dinner is served outside in a makeshift parking lot on weekends to accomodate the Mexicans which I heard keep the hotel financially afloat from the weekend deals they offer them. It is their country and to avoid the invasion don't stay here unless you like trough food screaming kids and complete disregard for anyone not Mexican. Its only weekends and my husband and I have been to mexico over 25 times and have not encountered this type of rude behaviour. The hotel has to give all a welcoming playing field especially since this hotel is in a perfect location. Thru the week its ok but everyone gets up to reserve the papalas on the beach front by 7am and on. and the pool area is laden with towels so rather than complain i got up at 6am too. The staff go out of their way to help you but there is a lot of chiefs and not enough Indians to run a consistent ship. The whole summation is we will return to Mexico just not there unless things change and the menu is the first one that needs attention. We will have to pay more for a condo but it is probably better in the long run as Zihuat has a lot of hotels and apts. well worth looking into for a longer stay. For the 1 weekers its a deal but Iam sure there are places here that you will get more bang for your buck ....Lets face it how many ways can you redesign hotdogs chicken and pudding desserts. The maid service is good but we had 5 different ones so do you tip them all esp. for stained sheets. This hotel has the potential to be a gold mine its a shame the way its being ran.

Room Tip: Check out the room before taking it and Buena Suerta if you arrive Saturday when its Fiesta for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Tesoro Ixtapa Feb 10-24 2013
We were lucky enough to have a villa right next to the pool and this was fantastic however other people who we talked to did not care for their rooms in the main hotel. The breakfast was great however I did not care to much for the dinners and after a week I was very tired of the food. Not a big selection but I did enjoy the snack bar by the pool. There is not swim up bar which was unfortunate and the drinks were very syrupy and the beer was from a keg which also got tiring. We ended up going to the store and buying good alcohol and beer for a break from the cheap stuff they serve. The staff are very accommodating however most do not speak very good english. They have allot of activities going on and we loved the horse races everyday.. We found the best and cheapest places to eat was in Zhihuatanejo. The restaurants close to the resorts seemed a bit over priced and thats because they can be. It is about a 15 minute cab ride to Zhihuatanejo and so it was more convenient to go to the ones close to the resort. The weather was great hot and sunny everyday plus 33 and the beaches were really nice and clean. The water is a great temperature and the snorkeling on Ixtapa Island was wonderful. I would go back but I might try a different hotel next time. I did have a great time and it seemed like the hotel with the most activity. We met really nice people and i would recommend any shopping should be done in Zhihuatanejo better deals than the stores by the resorts.

Room Tip: pool side Villa was awesome we did have a loud air conditioner but we got use to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocketgirlCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, WI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 10-day stay at Tesoro. What the Tesoro lacks in fanciness, it makes up for in other areas. Everything I've said in my past two reviews still applies to the resort.

The buildings and grounds are very clean and well kept. The food is excellent (and the men do not have to wear long pants while dinint). The staff is pleasant and friendly. The beach is great for walking for about a mile in each direction from the hotel. There's very good shopping within a short distance from the hotel. The weather was consistently great with high temps in the high 80 deg. F and few clouds. We're likely to return again next year.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean-faing room on an upper floor. The view is fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldbartho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnasota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We rented a 3 bedroom, 2 bath condo in the Tesoro Resort on Feb 9th-16th, 2013.The check-in was quick and easy. The lobby was spotless and our rooms were very clean and neat. We had a beautiful ocean veiw from the bedrooms and our 2 small balconys. They cleaned and refreshed towels every day. They even did some laundry for us(small fee). They have a beautiful buffet area that over looks the beach. The breakfasts were great. We hung out at the bar several times and it was very entertaining. They had kareoke on most nights and it was a big hit. The pool was warm and gorgeous, there were alot of locals there but they were pretty nice. Love the beach service and the outside snack area where you could get burgers, hotdogs, chix sandwiches, fries, salsa and chips and lots of condiments. Carlos waited on us many times and was fantastic. Everyone at the resort was friendly and helpful. The location is great. Right in the middle of the beach.Out the back entrance was the beautiful beach where we rented jet skis and parasailed. Out the front was a couple blocks to downtown with great shopping, reasturaunts and bars. We love going to Franks, Kopados and Senior Frogs.. We did a full day in Zhihuatanejo, just a short taxi or bus ride away. It is beautiful there. Banditos Bar had THE coldest beer in the entire area. The outdoor restaraunts are right on the beach and all the food is delicious. Shopping is the best there. We walked the entire beach and swam while waiting for food. Ixtapa weather is the best in Mexico, sunny skies and 90 degrees. I would definately go back to the Tesoro, it is a great place for the money. I don't think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room directly above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckinleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#17 of 22 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
1.1 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tesoro Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tesoro Ixtapa

Property: Tesoro Ixtapa
Address: Blvd Ixtapa s/n Lote 5, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tesoro Ixtapa 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views of the sparkling Pacific and tropical mountains, this breathtaking resort features 203 rooms that cater to families, honeymooners and friends seeking the Treasure of tranquil waters, golden shorelines and year round sunshines in a vibrant Mexican destination.This All Inclusive resort is plenty of additional packages for Free Weddings, Conventions, Graduation Trips as well as Packages that include a Dolphin Encounter or SPA Massages. If you are looking for the secluded atmosphere of a Fine Dining place, just make a reservation to EL MESON, the Specialty Restaurant or even better, if you prefer to be in your room, we offer the possibility of asking for Room Service, free of charge (1 daily). In Tesoro Ixtapa you will find another exclusive jewel. If you feel hungry at midnight or coming back from the party, you will feel like at home, going down for some snacks like Nachos, Hot Dogs or sandwiches accompanied with beer or sodas...at the 7/24. And the best thing is that this is also included !!!! If you are looking for Location... This is the place to be, because it is located at the heart of Ixtapa, so you will be walking distance from the most important and commercial areas of town, as well as in front of the Golf Course or walking distance from de Marina Ixtapa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tesoro Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tesoro Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Tesoro Hotel
Tesoro Hotel Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing