We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort for the Money”
Review of Tesoro Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tesoro Ixtapa
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Reviewed March 16, 2011

My wife and I generally travel with a group of 12-20 people, and had 13 on this trip. We'd never stayed at a 3 star resort before (usually 4-5 stars) and didn't know what to expect. Many aspects of the Tesoro were great but there were a few negatives.

First the good part. The resort facilities were very clean and well maintained. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful altho some workers had little or no ability to speak or understand English which really didn't cause any trouble (maybe we should learn Spanish :-).

Our group agreed that the food was some of, if not the best we'd experienced, even tho the selections may not have been quite as large. There was an adequate but limited availability of alcoholic drinks altho better liquor was available at a cost. No liquor was provided in the rooms. Refrigerated water and soda was available in the rooms.

The beach area was great for walking and extended about a mile in each direction. Daily whale viewings occurred and several of our group had seen dolphins swimming in the area. Smaller numbers of people on the beach indicated that tourism was down.

The evening shows were extremely innovative and enjoyable, a nice change from the usual Mexican costumes and dancing prevelant at many other resorts. Be sure to take them in!

The newly reconstructed pool was wonderful and kept very clean. Eager waiters were available to bring drinks from the outside bar, and we tipped generously. We also enjoyed the horse race and bingo games, altho the bingo caller was sometimes slow and kept the game in limbo while chatting with people.

There were a couple downsides. After the shows, the main (and at that time of night) only bar room offered a very limited area for congregating and conversation. There was some dance music and Karaoke offered some nights but the quarters were somewhat tight.

Probably the biggest annoyance was the great abundance of locals who spent a day or two with small children. Many of them brought the kids to the bar area at night, which isn't conducive to adult enjoyment. The pool area was inundated with children who were enjoyable to watch and generally well behaved, but there were too many of them. We discovered that the Ixtapa/Zhua school area has four divisions, one of which is given a summer break during each week in March...ergo the kids. The resort has been averaging about 40% occupancy rate and has resorted to luring the locals in to generate additional revenues. If the ydidn't do this, the resort may have to close.

All in all, we had a great time at the Tesoro and feel that we got what we'd paid for. Would we go back? Probably not in March.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oldbartho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_de_Ventas, Director of Sales at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2011

Thank you for your comments !

We really are considering all your opinions to be the best hotel in our category for Ixtapa. I also want to let you know that we have specific months or days in the week when is more difficult to find that quantity of childrens and could be better season for you to visit us.. Please, give us the opportunity to be a flawless consulting for your next trips to Ixtapa and we are sure, you will be more than happy to come back to the Tesoro Ixtapa.

Remember.. In Tesoro Ixtapa, we want to give you more Moments to Treasure !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 803 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2011

Let me start off by saying that prior to traveling to Ixtapa, we did our homework and tapped into the reviews to give us an idea of what we might expect on our trip. We went with five other couples. In the past, we have been accustomed to staying at the Barcelo and Real (AI) 4+* properties. But this hotel didn't disappoint. The staff was warm, friendly and accommodating. The rooms were very clean, and the beds were not "hard" to sleep on as some other reviews indicated. The rooms might not be as fancy as we have had in the past, but we didn't go to Ixtapa to spend our time in the room. The infinity pool was beautiful, and there was always plenty of places to sit. The white sand beach was wide open. The beach service was phenominal. It's been a few years since we have had one-on-one waiter service on the beach - so worth tipping for! This ammenity is far and few between at alot of the 4 and 5-star hotels. The breakfast and lunches were fresh and tasty - the specialty gourmet restaurant for dinner was a hidden jewel - I don't think many people knew about it. We ate there 4 of the 9 nights we were there. A lot of work goes into the evening entertainment which caters more to the Mexican vacationers, but they do try to embrace Americana with their shows. The location is only 15 minutes to the airport or Zihuatanejo ($5.50 US) - plenty of markets and great places to dine. And, for those who want to stay closer to the hotel, there were plenty of places to eat out or to enjoy the nightlife. This town really aims to please! There is so much more to say, but not enough time or space in this blog; therefore, I guess you'll have to try it. We will definitely go back - the weather was hot and sunny every day and the hotel overall was great and offered something for everyone at a great price!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mckenzie3922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_de_Ventas, Director of Sales at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2011

We just wanted to say you Thank you for your comments. That make us feel we are in the right way to improve our product..

Definitely, we want to become the best hotel in our category at the destination. We hope to see you soon in this side of the world but mainly, joining us !

Thank you again and very kind regards !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

This was our 5th or 6th time in Ixtapa and our 2nd stay at the Tesorso, everyone there is quite friendly and happy to please you with whatever you need. Activity's are great and the staff is fabulous. The shows in the evning are a real treat for everyone.Beach is great but sometimes the ocean can be a little rough, so be careful but enjoy. The room we had was not to bad,good size with mini fridge and all,big deck to enjoy the evning on also. Location from Ixtapa mart aera is only 3 to 4 blocks not a bad walk,very enjoyable,the weather here is great not one bad day in 3 weeks,maybe a few chilly nights though. The food here is not to bad, breakfest was great and the milk was good and cold. Had no problem finding anything to eat, fruit and vegtables were the best! This is the first time I found avacados at a all inclusive resort they were great.we will go back to this resort again

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BigQ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We are 2 senoir couples who just got hme from Tesoro. The hotel was fine for an older hotel but the people working their were excelent, they acted like they liked their job and took pride in their hotel, food was always fresh and good choice. Beach in front of hotel is excelent.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_de_Ventas, Director of Sales at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2011

Dear Srs,

We really want to thank you for all your comments ! and specially for taking time to make them.

Comments like yours make us feel we are in the right way.

Fortunately our main asset is the human factor. We believe that the vast majority of our staff and employees work under the right conditions and we constantly strive to make themselves and their families feel completely integrated into the family treasure.

Thank you very much for seeing this great effort and for recognizing that the crown jewel of this treasure is the people ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Ok I realize this is a 3 Star hotel and for the most most part it certainly was.
We stayed at this hotel with a small group of people with varying opinions of the property but I will just try to keep my review based on my travel experiences.
First of all the hotel location is super and the beach is lovely. The hotel itself is in generally nice condition with the exeption of maybe a few areas IE: Lobby bathroom.
Our room 6021 was very nice and well maintained, had a nice view but would have liked to have a balcony.
Generally the hotel staff were nice, no-one really went out of their way to help us and it was a little frustrating at times waiting while the staff chatted to each other such as at the beach bar, tipping didn't really seem to help and I do like to tip when I find someone I like or is helpfull. I guess not tipping as much saved me a little money anyway.
The food for me wasn't good, there was not much of a selection and what was available wasn't very good. We did eat outside of the resort numerous times.
The liquor was quite bad also, not sure what brand the liquor was but it all pretty much tasted the same and was weak. Drinks were kind of bad but the beer was OK.
Couple of things that we found unusuall was, the lack of loungers on the beach. There are maybe 40-50 loungers max on the beach and I got up at 7 one day and they were still all taken by this time. I refuse to get up at 5 am just to get a lounger the hotel needs to provide more. Also they would not allow me to take the loungers from the pool area down to the beach of which there were numerous.
The other detail that confused me was they would not change my larger peso bills to 20 peso bills to be used for tipping, the hotel said they didn't have any on a couple of occasions that I asked, as mentioned this didn't end up being a big deal anyway as tipping didn't seem to help.
Unfortunately at least half of our group got ill while at the resort but it would be unfair to say that this is the hotels fault as I am pretty sure every-one ate away from the resort at some point due to the food.
So I guess I would say the hotel generally is ok but food and drink not so good.
For the money we spent eating outside the resort I could easily have upgraded to a better hotel and will next time.
The Barcelo which we walked through is probably more my style.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BarryCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_de_Ventas, Director of Sales at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2011

Dear Srs,

We really appreciate your comments on behalf of all staff at Tesoro Ixtapa Hotel.

First of all, I want to thank you for taking time to make your comments.. I assure you, this is what give us the opportunity to be better in our ways. We are very respectfully of our guests opinion and yours it is not an exception.

I would like to inform you that we are very happy because just before yesterday reopened our lobby bathrooms. The lobby bathrooms are now fully refurbished with new furniture and gleaming marble. So we invite you to soon be able to verify this and all the positive changes that the hotel has had lately.

In the same way, we have now a new food & beverages manager that is implementing his knowledge and good ideas as well as excellent cuisine in favor of significantly improving this area.

Thank you once again for your suggestions and be sure we are working on it.

Kind Regards from Tesoro Ixtapa !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We were impressed by the cleanliness of the Tesora and the friendliness of the staff. However, the deejay at the pool was very loud and obnoxious; even said that if we wanted to sleep and rest to go inside our rooms. Management needs to look around that new gorgeous pool of theirs and see it is mostly grey haired guests and readers who want to relax and don't want to hear a big mouth play his loud rap and club music. We were there a week and only saw about 5 people under 40. Never again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spokesman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_de_Ventas, Director of Sales at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2011

Dear Sr.

On behalf of Tesoro Ixtapa's Staff, We really thank you so much for your comments! We are trying to improve in all ways and comments like yours make us feel we are in the right way but also with opportunity areas to improve.

I assure you that we have talk with the animation staff and make the things go better for your next stay. We are missing you !!!

Kind Regards from Tesoro Ixtapa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

The food is awful, so if you plan to stay here bring extra money to eat out. If you like to have cocktails there alcohol comes in clear plastics bottles and all taste the same, so who know what your drinking. There was a group of people who went and bought a cooler and their own booze so bring extra money for that. This is a Mexican hotel and they will get served before you, if you get served at all, so don't bother tipping it does no justice. There is no nightlife at the hotel and their entertainment sucks: volleyball, bingo, and horse racing. The area is beautiful and for the exact same money the hotel next door the Royal Park is the best bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Work2Play5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_de_Ventas, Director of Sales at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2011

Hello Srs,

We want to thank you so much for your comments.

I will like to inform you that since this month of April, 2011, the resort is absolutelly all inclusive for all guests, so when you come to your next visit, you will not be asked to pay for any other additional incidents at the property.

On the other hand, the property has a few owned appartments that are time shared and whose visitors have some freedom to take or not our all-inclusive meal plan. It is likely that some of them want to bring their own drinks and cooler to the beach.

I assure you that we are constantly trying to improve our services and have a great commitment to meeting the needs of our customers. We thank you for let us know your valuable opinion. We want to improve because of you !

We are working hard to bring you more Moments to Atreasure !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#19 of 23 in Ixtapa
871 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,934 reviews
1.1 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tesoro Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tesoro Ixtapa

Address: Blvd Ixtapa s/n Lote 5, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: $134 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tesoro Ixtapa 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views of the sparkling Pacific and tropical mountains, this breathtaking resort features 203 rooms that cater to families, honeymooners and friends seeking the Treasure of tranquil waters, golden shorelines and year round sunshines in a vibrant Mexican destination.This All Inclusive resort is plenty of additional packages for Free Weddings, Conventions, Graduation Trips as well as Packages that include a Dolphin Encounter or SPA Massages. If you are looking for the secluded atmosphere of a Fine Dining place, just make a reservation to EL MESON, the Specialty Restaurant or even better, if you prefer to be in your room, we offer the possibility of asking for Room Service, free of charge (1 daily). In Tesoro Ixtapa you will find another exclusive jewel. If you feel hungry at midnight or coming back from the party, you will feel like at home, going down for some snacks like Nachos, Hot Dogs or sandwiches accompanied with beer or sodas...at the 7/24. And the best thing is that this is also included !!!! If you are looking for Location... This is the place to be, because it is located at the heart of Ixtapa, so you will be walking distance from the most important and commercial areas of town, as well as in front of the Golf Course or walking distance from de Marina Ixtapa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tesoro Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tesoro Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Tesoro Hotel
Tesoro Hotel Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing