We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vacation marred by reception desk”
Review of Emporio Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emporio Ixtapa
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed under the timeshare plan, and were pleasantly surprised (from the reviews on here). Our room was clean, up to date, and faced the ocean. We did have hot water issues twice, which were immediately addressed. The beach here is expansive and beautiful, which makes this location superb. We like this hotel because is it non-inclusive- we like trying local restaurants. We did eat qt the beachside barbeque one evening. It was lovely - but the buffet was just okayl We were glad we were not limited to this buffet every meal.
The problem began at check-in. The clerk insisted we produce a reservation paper from the timeshare company, which we had never received. Mind you, the Emporio already had our reservation, a room assigned, and all our information in their computer, ready to go, but insisted on this paper. We went back in our personal e-mail for 90 minutes, to find the verification from 9 months ago when we made the timeshare reservation, and e-mailed it to the reservation desk. All seemed well, and we proceeded after and hour and a half to our room.
However, a week later at check-out, the clerk again demanded our reservation paper- even though they had everything we had received. Whether this was a failing of the timeshare company, the Emporio, or a clerk trying for a bribe, I don't know. But it spoiled what would have been a lovely experience otherwise. The check-in staff needs more training on how to handle this situation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank grade2rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaimeCardenas, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Thank you for your time and comments. We are so glad that you like our hotel. On my name and in the name of our staff, we want to thank you again and you can be sure that will do our best to make you next visit a better one.
About reception personal there is no much to say but, accept our apology, we are training then to be a better clerk.
We hope that you can give us another chance, so you´ll see that we are going to improve in our opportunity areas.
In the mine time we hope to see you in the near future.
Best regards.
Jaime Cardenas, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 945 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location in Ixtapa, right on the beach, close to commercial amenities. It has both all inclusive and 'European Plan' options. Our family of 4 was on the 'European Plan' which means just the room (although we payed for breakfast to be included). The food was actually pretty good but would not have been varied enough if we were on an all inclusive package. There were a lot of good restaurants in easy walking distance to the hotel. We were with a few other couples and the rooms were pretty variable, it looks like they are in the process of upgrading a few rooms at a time. All the rooms were fine and none of us had any major complaints. Be aware that this hotel caters mainly to a local Mexican market (I view this as a positive but not everyone will). Ocean views cost extra, this is not really a problem because the 'mountain view' is actually very nice as well. That said if you prefer a breeze to AC the breeze almost always came from the ocean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rico J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaimeCardenas, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay last March.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us entirely, the perfect location Emporio allowed to know the surrounding areas without any problem by adding security that exists in the area.
We hope your sooner way back to your Home in Mexico, Emporio Ixtapa.
Jaime Cárdenas, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

The first thing I look at before I got to a hotel is the overall customer reviews. The emporio seemed to have fair reviews at decent prices. My stay there was.... ordinary. The real issue is Emporio's inability to protect customer information. On two seperate ocasions, my family members and I received a call from the reception office at 11pm from a gentlemen who wanted to do a survey. The call was connected directly from the receptionist after she provided our names and room numbers. Extortion and kidnappin is very common in the area pf which we have stayed in. One of the ways this is done is by callin people and trying to get information from them. As you can imagone, my family members and I were very scared. We went downstairs and talked to the security and managment regarding the situation. They completely ignored us and stated "these kind of things happen all the time". Not one did they appologize for the situation or offer any kind of assurance that it would not happen again. We left very scared and very dissapointed. This is the first and last time we stay here

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Jese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Jose,
Lamentamos profundamente lo que expresa, para nosotros la seguridad es primordial y seguimos puntualmente la Ley de Privacidad de datos personales, así mismo respetamos la decisión de nuestros huéspedes de aceptar llamadas que les son anunciadas y este fue el caso, ya que en un principio la llamada fue anunciada a una de las habitaciones que ustedes ocupaban a lo que se respondió que no se conocía a la persona pero que tal vez las personas que ocupaban la otra habitación lo conocían se hizo el mismo procedimiento a lo que el huésped respondió que no conocía a la persona ni el numero pero que le dejaran la llamada.

Personas que llaman para hacer algún tipo de extorsión pueden dar un número de habitación o nombre al azar y es por eso que pedimos autorización de nuestros huéspedes para transferir una llamada, los datos solicitados en su momento fueron enviados al correo que se nos proporciono, estamos dispuestos a ayudarle en lo que esté en nuestras manos.

Nuevamente reitero, nos da mucha pena lo ocurrido y esperamos nos de la oportunidad de atenderle nuevamente.

Jaime Cárdenas, Director General.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

There were 5 of us traveling. We had confirmed our rooms months in advance with an email to the hotel that they would be ocean view and up on a higher floor. When we arrived we found out that 4 of us would be staying in one room, which we didn't request. We were all to have deluxe ocean views, but the 4 of us staying in the same room only 2 of us had gotten the view we requested and paid extra to have. There was only 1 safe in the room that we had to share. There are only balconies on the top floor, so at least we had gotten that. We talked with several guests at the hotel that were very surprised there wasn't a balcony, maybe it should be stated on the website so everyone is aware of this. We had to ask several times what exactly was included in "all inclusive" as we had assumed everything was, like at the hotel next door (Sunscape) where we stayed the previous year. You need to order room service to get your coffee free, otherwise if you use the coffee in the room they charge you...that doesn't make to much sense, but that's what we ended up having to do. You can drink the bottles of water that are left on the counter, but not the ones in the fridge or we were told we'd be charged for them. 2 bottles of water were were allowed a day in our room for 4 people. We ate out a lot as it was always the same on the buffet. The only way we could get bacon and hash browns was to order it for room service. The swim up bar seemed more like a little child hang out. I do not blame the kids for that, as their parents were the ones letting them do whatever they wanted. Maybe the management that put the signs up at the lobby bar saying no one under 18 should also do the same at the pool bar. All and all we had a good stay just maybe they should have an employee meeting so everyone knows what is all included on all inclusive so you don't have to keep asking and then get a surprise bill when you go to check out. The beach & sunsets were amazing, as were the locals...including our favorite spot, The General's. I would encourage anyone that goes to Ixtapa to take the short ride into Zihuatanejo and enjoy the shopping and food that they have to offer, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony you need to get on the top floor. If you are all inclusive you will need to ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DianaNeenah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Guest
We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback about your stay last March.
It is very unfortunate that there had this kind of problems during your stay; we really want to apologize for this series of unfavorable events. It is very important that we made known because corrective measures were taken to avoid recurrence.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again to erase the bad impression we caused you involuntarily.
Jaime Cárdenas, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Bad experience on this Hotel.
I used this hotel when traveling for vacation to Ixtapa, because it offered in the past excellent service, not anymore.I would never use this hotel again, I stayed in the past; 2008, 2009 and returned on 2013. I was disappointed.
First I booked one room with some specifications and when I arrived, there was not what I booked. The A/C was not working correct, I reported it to front desk, then directly to maintenance and they got there after 1 day, and it never worked properly. my kids were having a bad experience and got sick because of the warm room, so do I. It was a very bad experience, I was about to quit, but they said that they could not reimburse my money and they offered to change my room and that never happened.
The food at the restaurant was not too bad, but the service was not good. The free beverages are bad.
In general, this hotel is not what it used to be. My next travel to Ixtapa will stay in a different one, Front desk service is terrible. Location and view are good, it is next to the beach which is a plus, but front desk, restaurant service and maintenance service make it a bad experience.
Rooms are old and beds are as rocks, same pillows as rocks, room was not clean at all.
Why I didn´t quit? I was there and I try to forget that experience doing good things outside with my wife and kids, but definitely, I will never return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodolfo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped,
Apreciamos mucho el tiempo que tomo para darnos sus comentarios en referencia a su estancia el pasado octubre. Es muy desafortunado que se hayan generado todos estos eventos y fallas durante su estancia; en verdad le pido a nombre propio y a nombre de todos los colaboradores de Emporio Ixtapa una sincera disculpa. Agradecemos nuevamente su crítica, para nosotros es de suma importancia conocer e identificar estas áreas de oportunidad y así, aplicar las medidas correctivas que sean necesarias para que esto no suceda nuevamente.
Esperamos nos de la oportunidad de servirle nuevamente y borrar esa mala imagen y sabor de boca que causamos involuntariamente.
Atentamente, Jaime Cárdenas, Director General.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

on a scale of 1-10 where 1 is burlap and 10 is silk, the sheets and towels are a 3. Abrasive! No fabric softener used here. Bring your own pillow case if you don't have a full beard. The maid service needs new management. Coffee for the in room machine did not appear 2 days running despite requests. When we called for more, a room service tray with 6 cups and a carafe appeared [we were charged]. The rooms are clean and well maintained and the front desk staff have been trained to refuse all requests. The buffet at breakfast is good as well as patio buffet for dinner. If you choose an ocean side view, you will hear the evening disco music pounding louder than the surf.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcoaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest
We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback about your stay last February.
It is very unfortunate that there had this kind of problems during your stay; we really want to apologize for this series of unfavorable events. It is very important that we made known because corrective measures were taken to avoid recurrence.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again to erase the bad impression we caused you involuntarily.
Jaime Cárdenas, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Just returned from a week stay at Emporio. The area, weather and beach are perfect. We felt the hotel was a good fit for us. We enjoyed the quiet of it, no loud obnoxious events around the pool when you are trying to relax. There is lots to do otherwise, I enjoyed the 18km biking tour with Ritchie, the Events Co-ordinator on the amazing bike path from Ixtapa to the wharf over to Ixtapa Island. The beach is gorgeous, there were whales just off shore mid-week for about an hour playing on top of the water. The snorkelling tour we booked through Sunwing was good but next time we will simply take transit to the wharf, pay a water taxi and enjoy on our own. It is my favourite snorkelling place ever. Very calm, not at all scarey and millions of fish, even a baby octopus. Walking the streets of Ixtapa is very relaxing and fun and feels very safe, we also took in a nightime Horse buggy ride which was good value. Emporio gym is a little small but quite efficient and clean.

Upon check-in I made request for a high floor, good wifi and working air-conditioner as I had read here on Trip Advisor (my travel bible) there were some issues with those things - the young lady on the desk was very helpful and fulfilled all requests. The hotel is clean, our maid was super and friendly, restaurant staff was friendly and efficient. Alfredo in the swim-up bar did a top notch job daily. I seemed to have difficulty getting service around the pool and on the beach but off and on it was good too.

While there we walked into other hotels and checked them out. In our opinion we think the Emporio is the best choice for the price in Ixtapa. Many others are totally all inclusive which we may not do the next time because there are many, many choice very close by plus we found "Almost All Inclusive" irritating - either "All" or Not works better for us. I need 6 water a day no pop and no beer not 2 of each and paying for more water and leaving the pop and beer.
A very impressive fact at Emporio is that many, many people we talked to have been going there for 10 - 20 years - some have tried other hotels and returned to Emporio. We toured an 11th floor suite - if I can ever afford that we will be in there - it is stunning!

You really find out what a hotel is about when there is a problem - I had a couple of towel issues for which they charge you $300 pesos if you lose it. First time I left it in dining area, made a truthful request at front desk and the staff found it and returned my card, second time someone simply stole it from my chair while I was in the pool - staff looked after both issues very professionally.

The food was good and sometimes great! I am generally not a buffet person but we took in the Sunset Grill most evenings since the regular buffet area was having maintenance done most of the week. We did book the Italian Restaurant one evening (our 1 a la carte) the service was terrible, the food was tasty. We actually got tired of waiting on our tea and coffee and left. Mentioning tea - if you are a tea drinker I would advise taking your own - it always seems hard to attain in the resort. Their coffee is really good and plentiful in the buffet or Seaside Grill but that "Almost All Inclusive" does not cover the coffee for the coffee maker in your room - I went to a store called Scrupples in Ixtapa (5 minute walk) and bought a small jar of instant as I don't care for drip coffee anyway - used the machine to make the hot water.

In conclusion - thinking we may become regulars here as well it was a super vacation - keep up the good work Hotel Emporio. It is my favourite location to date - over Matzalan, Mexico; Playa Del Carmen, Mexico, and numerous locations around Cuba; as well as, Nassau, Bahamas - Ixtapa and Hotel Emporio is almost perfect!

Room Tip: higher floor - oceanview have better wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ComeWanderwithLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Linda,
Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay last february.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us entirely, the perfect location Emporio allowed to know the surrounding areas without any problem by adding security that exists in the area.
You can be shure that we will work at the Italian Restaurant service.
We hope your sooner way back to your Home in Mexico, Emporio Ixtapa.
Saludos.
Jaime Cárdenas, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#19 of 23 in Ixtapa
898 reviews
0.4 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.9 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emporio Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporio Ixtapa

Address: Boulevard Ixtapa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: $77 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emporio Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking to escape the daily hustle and bustle and find a little bit of heaven where to spend your vacation, this is your best choice. Our excellent location to easily navigate to explore all that Ixtapa and the town of Zihuatanejo have for you. After passing our spacious lobby with marble floor and a huge dome, modern facilities with a sober and contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Emporio Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporio Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Emporio Hotel Ixtapa
Emporio Resort Ixtapa
Hotel Emporio Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing