We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emporio is just - OK”
Review of Emporio Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emporio Ixtapa
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We traveled through Apple vacations and chose this resort by mistake! Traveled MANY times with Apple and this was (by far) my most disappointing stay.

This hotel has timeshare owners and people who stay with various inclusive (eating/drinking) options. It's almost like they are trying to cater to everyone and when you do that, you end up not doing anything really well.

There was confusion our first day as to what our vacation package included - room service, mini bar in the room, etc. This was frustrating and I should not have had to show my travel agent's email to prove to them what we purchased (thank God I had the email!)- I feel they should know their own packages and what their incoming guests purchased. We thought we had it all worked out, but were charged for the hotel room mini bar usage, which was our initial issue! We tried to argue our point, but they wouldn't budge and said something about only 1-item per day allowance or some crazy excuse!! WE PAID RELUCTANTLY.

The first room we were given (622) had to full size beds - we couldn't even fit on one of the beds together - so we slept in separate beds our first night. If that wasn't bad enough, we hung our little door hanger filled out for morning coffee, fruit/rolls to be delivered via room service only to discover our menu choices were still hanging there in the morning - never picked up and the reason our order didn't arrive. We called to tell them what happened and were hung up on a few times. Eventually we talked to someone and placed our room service order over the phone. We also requested a room change and were accommodated to room 920 - one king bed.

I agree with the other posts here that the rooms are dated... It's time to update Emporio!

They seemed understaffed with bartenders at the pool bar and in general having servers by the pool and beach areas.

The food was good. Nothing over-the-top. We enjoyed all the meals served. Deserts were scrumptious! We enjoyed the seaside and Italian restaurants!

We were there for 7nights (Sat to Sat). January 18-25, 2014. The atmosphere on Sat night and Sunday (upon our arrival) were many local (Mexican families - lots of small kids). Pool was crowded, but then Mon thru Thurs was mostly quiet, retired time share holders (American/Canadians). Then Fri came around and it was crowded with local families again... Pool was packed, minimal pool chair availability. Tons of kids screaming and the poolside area a mess.

Overall, our stay was ok - we didn't let that get in the way of a great time in Ixtapa/Zijuantenejo. The staff were all friendly.

The location of the Hotel is in the middle of the beach strip - excellent location! The beach is beautiful!

If you're use to above and beyond service, you will be disappointed. They will accommodate, but nobody goes out of their way for you as I've experienced at other Apple resorts.

When I go back to Ixtapa (this was my 2nd visit), I will stay at a more modern and service oriented resort - not Emporio.


Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest
We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback about your stay last January.
It is very unfortunate that there had this kind of problems during your stay, we really want to apologize for this series of unfavorable events. It is very important that we made known because corrective measures were taken to avoid recurrence.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again to erase the bad impression we caused you involuntarily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (841)
There are newer reviews for Emporio Ixtapa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 841 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

This was a great quiet place to relax for a week. The rooms were clean, comfortable, the service was good. We had no trouble with anything. The Internet only works well in the lobby but that is the same everywhere. We were told the locals take over on the weekends but we really didn't find much difference. We liked the quiet, it seemed to be more older people our age, not much of younger rowdy drinking youth. No loud boisterous pool games or people hollering. Just a nice peaceful relaxing trip. The one drawback to the whole trip was that the food was mediocre at best. There was always something different but boring, edible but not much selection or excitement. I went all inclusive but would recommend that you eat out around town. Excellent food everywhere in town. Why eat mediocre at the resort.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay last January.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us entirely, the perfect location Emporio allowed to know the surrounding areas without any problem by adding security that exists in the area.
We hope your sooner way back to your Home in Mexico, Emporio Ixtapa.
Jaime Cádenas, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Two More weeks at the hotel Emporio , Non-Inclusive. Had our normal room on the 10th. floor ocean view. and was always very well taken care of. by Paula.. the bell-boy always Jullian, Thomas, and Arraliiano do a great job and if you have any Questions, they know a lot about the area. Did do lunch a lot at the hotel dinning room and Rosa,and Clemente allways took care of us well, and you order off the menu not the same old buffet every day. you can also do lunch in your lounge chair around the pool or beach from Averisto and Rafeal do a good job with food and drinks.. We do like Alberto at the pool bar but he had a lot problems with all the kids splashing and wasting drinks on the bar. It should be a adults only area. The lobby bar use to have Happy Hour from 6: to 8:p.m. but now only from 6: to 7:pm and offcourse the Hotel raised the drink prices again, and they wonder way every one goes someware els. So we go across the street for drinks at Kopados for a good happy hour ontil 10:pm and live music. yes some people call it the tree house bar. for dinner the Generals, Franks, and Emilios Pizza and a few other places. in Zihua Carmelitas for lunch. Bandidos, Coconuts and our Favorite place La Casa Vieja for dinner. We will be back again but I think the hotels biggest problem is the all the people that do the all-inclusive package on weekends I have never seen so many people waste food and drinks. there were plates half full of food sitting all over with the birds eating it. I was all ways thought to finish every thing on my plate before I left the table. Also bring ear plugs the hotel next door the Sunscape Dorado gets very loud at night.. Well very cold here allready looking for a deal in March..

Room Tip: 9th or 10th floor rooms 1016 to 10 20
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank algoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay last January.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us entirely, the perfect location Emporio allowed to know the surrounding areas without any problem by adding security that exists in the area.
We hope your sooner way back to your Home in Mexico, Emporio Ixtapa.
Jaime Cárdenas, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We returned to Ixtapa after a 4-yr. absence, our first time being in 1994. Our prior visits were always next door at the Dorado, but since we don't care for all-inclusive, we thought we would try the Emporio. We were sadly disappointed. Upon entering our room on the 5th floor, it was 79 degrees, and the air conditioner did not work, and we also did not have a refrigerator. They did send someone up to "fix" it, but the temp. never changed. After 3 more calls,(and still no refrigerator) they told me "tomorrow we will have a very nice room for you.". The next morning they told me to come back in an hour, then to come back at 3:00 etc. etc. We finally got moved, and tried to put it behind us, but the fact is the air conditioning system is the hotel is the worst we've ever encountered, there are no fans in the room or lobby,and no ice machines. There are also MANYchildren in the main pool and around the pool swim-up bar. We do not have a problem with the Mexican people enjoying the beauty and amenities of their own country, but the noise level and unruliness was really annoying. (and being a former preschool teacher, I'm very tolerant). A wonderful children's pool and play area is provided, but never used. Service on the beach was just mediocre. I try and end on a positive note, so I will say I thought the beds were comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. However, as much as we enjoyed the beauty of Ixtapa and the wonderful dining at the nearby restaurants we will not be returning to the Emporio

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forrestIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest
We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback about your stay last January.
It is very unfortunate that there had this kind of problems during your stay, we really want to apologize for this series of unfavorable events. It is very important that we made known because corrective measures were taken to avoid recurrence.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again to erase the bad impression we caused you involuntarily.
Jaime Cárdenas, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

After 20 January trips to the Dorado Pacifico, the Dorado went over to the dark side...All Inclusive...We tried an all inclusive once but it just wasn't us. Last year we went to the Emporio for the first time and it was very nice...This year we found it to be a lot better. The staff was much more friendly this year is the biggest difference. The staff works very hard to battle sand all day every day and keeps the place very clean. Beach and pool chairs are available all day. It is busier on the weekend as many Mexican tourists come in. We really enjoy the breakfast buffet we purchased from Applevactions in advance and found it to be a good value. Pool beverage service is good. The food and beverage credit is supposed to be used in the restaurants not by the pool but they cheerfully applied it to the pool bar. We never ate dinner in the hotel because we have so many favorite restaurants in Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo. There was no beach Volleyball organized but we were always welcome to play at the Dorado and the Tesoro up the beach. The waves pound and can be very dangerous but this year the ocean was very calm and the water was clearer. Check in was slow because it is complex but the staff works hard to get it done as fast as possible. Some of the people who were at the Dorado still stay there...Some stay at the Krystal...But we really like the Emporio!

Room Tip: Deluxe ocean view is worth the price to us.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Illinoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay last January.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us entirely, the perfect location Emporio allowed to know the surrounding areas without any problem by adding security that exists in the area.
We hope your sooner way back to your Home in Mexico, Emporio Ixtapa.
Jaime Cárdenas, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Hotel as such is a lovely place: swiming pool, the rooms (at the top floors!), the whole building and the beach. The morning buffet is relatively poor compared to others in Ixtapa. Animation is probably overdone, music is really load, goes from the morning to late in the afternoon and the guy in charge keeps on screaming to be sure nobody misses his announcements on each of the activities proposed (beach volley, aquazumba and so on).

The best part is the friendly service overall, with the notable exception of the reception desk (which is the definitively the worst part of the hotel). At arrival and departure times you really have to be patient. When we arrived there was a big chaos in the reception. Admittedly, we were lots of people arriving siumultanously, but the staff was completly unprepared and half of them were just standing looking at their colleagues' computers instead of getting things done faster. Thous some of them were friendly, others were just overwhelmed and nervous. Turists' complains were of all kinds, such as delays in handling the rooms reservations not being respected, or others arbitrarily changed (a guest I saw had requested a room with sea view but became a room on one of the first floors with view to the street), etc. A friend of mine told me that he witnessed this kind of problems years ago.
On the other hand, waiters at the swimming pool are very friendly and the service is excellent. Of course, there is an economic reasoning behind, despite the general sympathy that they may naturally show. They are hired on a temporary basis (from what they told me, though they avoided telling me more about the precise conditions under which they worked). Therefore, the bulk of their annual revenues come from the tips they obtain during high seasons. Probably managers may not only want to improve their computing system at the reception desk, but also introduce a tips-system among those working there.

Room Tip: Sea view is definitvely recommended (though you do not have the guarantee to get one) and pick those...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juanhmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest
We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback about your stay last January.
It is very unfortunate that there had this kind of problems during your stay, we really want to apologize for this series of unfavorable events. It is very important that we made known because corrective measures were taken to avoid recurrence.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again to erase the bad impression we caused you involuntarily.
Jaime Cárdenas, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful location right on the beach. Very convenient with restaurants, shopping and pharmacy right across the street. The staff here speaks mostly spanish so it was a bit hard to communicate. Food is good and pool is beautiful with swim up bar. Staff is friendly but service at the pool and beach isn't great. Takes about an hour to get food served from the time you place your order. Most of the time we walked to the bar to get drinks and ice because there wasn't enough staff to accommodate the pool and the beach. Rooms are ok, somewhat dated with the beds very squeaky and hard in a standard room but our friends in a Jr. Suite loved their bed. Maybe the higher priced rooms have better beds? Would go back for sure for the beautiful beach, sunset and warm temperatures. The new year celebration on the beach was awesome, with fireworks and lanterns lighting the sky.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest
We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback about your stay last December.
It is very unfortunate that there had this bad service at the beach and in the swimming pool, we really want to apologize for this series of unfavorable events. It is very important that we made known because corrective measures were taken to avoid recurrence.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again to erase the bad impression we caused you involuntarily.
Jaime Cárdenas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.2 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
845 reviews
0.4 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 22 in Ixtapa
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.9 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emporio Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporio Ixtapa

Address: Boulevard Ixtapa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: $63 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emporio Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking to escape the daily hustle and bustle and find a little bit of heaven where to spend your vacation, this is your best choice. Our excellent location to easily navigate to explore all that Ixtapa and the town of Zihuatanejo have for you. After passing our spacious lobby with marble floor and a huge dome, modern facilities with a sober and contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emporio Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporio Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Emporio Hotel Ixtapa
Emporio Resort Ixtapa
Hotel Emporio Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing