We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emporio Ixtapa
Nearby Hotels
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$120
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$143
$121
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
$272
$185
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Posada Real Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$98
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$152
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$151
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$123
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
$151
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$321
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$323
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,222)
Filter reviews
1,222 results
Traveler rating
510
372
203
76
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
510
372
203
76
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset grillcorner roomeuropean planfacing the streetocean viewswim up barchili beansinternet connectionthe hotel is cleanover christmasall inclusive packagethe beach is very nicebreakfast buffetchaise loungescoffee potblue shrimphotel zone
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 1,222 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Hotel Emporio has very nice public areas; attractive pool area & bar, beach w/huts, comfortable lobby also had bar area w/TV. The location is excellent; restaurants, banks, shopping are across the street. The rooms, however, are very outdated. The bathrooms are ok but the furnishings are old and worn. The air conditioning had to be repaired twice. The staff is nice but slow to resolve problems.

Room Tip: Get room w/ocean view. Beautiful!!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest
We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback about your stay last December.
It is very unfortunate that there had this kind of problems during your stay; we really want to apologize for this series of unfavorable events. It is very important that we made known because corrective measures were taken to avoid recurrence.
We are changing all air conditioned, it will be ready for Spring 2014.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again to erase the bad impression we caused you involuntarily.
Jaime Cárdenas, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Ok, this is no Pueblo Bonito Sunset in Cabo, but the laid back culture is more apparent here - especially if you get out of town and we did. Try to make it to Barre de Potosi for their awesome beach and Troncones and take out a local panga and fish the breakwater - that was FUN!

So you see we used the hotel as a landing spot and it was great for that. Very spacious rooms, nice beds...yea, service may not be 5-star, but what are you doing here? Get to the beach...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minnspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay last November.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us entirely, the perfect location Emporio allowed to know the surrounding areas without any problem by adding security that exists in the area.
We hope your sooner way back to your Home in Mexico, Emporio Ixtapa.
Jaime Cárdenas, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel as all the hotels in Ixtapa were built in the early 80's..ok with this considered not bad appearance... The service is truly lacking, even by Mexican standards... And I live in Mexico....the front desk staff was un-attentive, the rooms are outdated, plumbing, fixtures, etc... The pool was ok, but littered with waste from so many people using it ... The standout violation, if there were such a thing here was the pool bar which you could smell for a distance of 20 meters.... The bar rot, from the draft beer was overwhelming... If this was rated 2 stars , at least it would be accurate, and with a chance to achieve this rating with help... But 4 stars????... Not even close... You will be disappointed or worse if you expect much from this facility... The only positive feature I can mention would be the location ... Very centrally located with a nice beach

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cruiserpro99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2015
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por haber elegido Emporio Ixtapa para disfrutar de sus vacaciones en el hermoso destino de Ixtapa Zihuatanejo, Le agradecemos todos los que aquí colaboramos en el tiempo que nos dedico en escribir acerca de su estancia con nosotros, estamos trabajando mucho en nuestro programa de capacitación y mejora continua para brindarle un mejor servicio día a día, esperamos poder recibirlo muy pronto para que constate nuestra mejora en áreas y servicio.

por favor no dude en contactarnos para atenderle personalmente

Claudia Montes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

En general el hotel es bueno sin embargo últimamente está algo descuidado, vengo aquí desde hace varios años y muchas de las instalaciones ya requieren mantenimiento, en general es limpio, la alberca es pequeña sin embargo pienso que en temporada alta debería de extenderse un poco más su horario de apertura (cierran muy temprano), es cómodo que el hotel tenga playa (mar abierto y algo peligroso como es Ixtapa) y a poca distancia hay centros comerciales, tiendas y restaurantes.
El servicio de administrativos y en especial los botones es muy bueno, son personas muy amables y atentas, sin embargo hay algo de apatía en lo que respecta a la animación para los turistas, falta de actividades, entretenimiento, concursos que son comunes y dan ambiente en especial en temporada vacacional. No tengo opinión con respecto a la comida sin embargo considero que su precio es un poco elevado, las bebidas son buenas. Tiene hermosa vista al mar en muchas de sus habitaciones y estancias confortables. Y en mi opinión personal debería innovar un poco y aceptar perros en algún cuarto aparte tipo pensión, y así ayudar a fomentar conciencia y cultura hacia los animales. Creo que como yo hay muchas personas que aman y desearían viajar con sus mascotas.

In general the hotel is good but lately there are some stuff that need to be fixed. In general is clean, the pool is small and I think that the opening time should be longer during holidays (it closes early), the beach is just in front a few meters away and crossing the main street are shops and restaurants.
The service is very good, specially from the bellyboys, they are very gentile; nevertheless there's a lack of entertainment, activities, contests, for tourists which are common in other hotels and give a lot of ambience and good time specially during holidays.
I have no opinion about the food I just think I a bit expensive and the drinks are good. It has beautiful view I the sea ins some of the rooms and comfortable public spaces. And in my personal opinion it should innovate an start accepting dogs in special places of the hotel, like the pet hotels, so we can start increasing respect and culture for animals; I believe that like me there are lots of people who loves and wishes to travel with their pets.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ximenilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My in-laws and my family have stayed at this hotel for over 20 years as part of the larger time-share they support. Over the years the clientele has changed, not because it has worsen at all but because the middle class in Mexico has grown over the years. It is not sofisticated but it is nice, not rowdy and the staff is great.
Anybody from the front desk to the popl staff, the concierge, the room attendants, security are well trained, profesional and exceptionally caring!
Other reviewers say that this is not a fancy hotel. True! And that makes it even better. It is all tiled, well kept and the views from most any room are great. As part of our timeshare we have two contiguous rooms assigned and this time they were in the North corner of a high floor. The views were spectacular both of the beach and the Sierra.
You have excellent s snacks and drinks throughout the day and the servers are nice, funny and perfectly trained. The snack/drink packages are a must if you have kids.
The location is the best. Up and down the Boulevard you can find boutiques, restaurants, curios and the crafts market. There is a taxi service right in the hotel and there are ATM's associated with international branches that will void your fees! (make sure to look up the correspondances between banks).
All in all, my kids have grown up spending almost every summer in this place and it has been kept up if not improved over the years. Thanks Emporio!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowcraving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews