We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emporio Ixtapa
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
$242
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$157
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$272
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$173
$143
Bookit.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$302
$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Posada Real Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$110
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$375
$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$238
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$124
$118
HotelsClick
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,174)
Filter reviews
1,174 results
Traveler rating
469
370
201
74
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
370
201
74
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset grillcorner roomeuropean planfacing the streetocean viewswim up barchili beansinternet connectionthe hotel is cleanover christmasall inclusive packagethe beach is very nicebreakfast buffetchaise loungescoffee potblue shrimphotel zone
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 1,174 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We originally wrote a review while at the resort - Trip Advisor questioned my review which I am glad they did - it made me stop and rethink about what we wrote. We arrived at the hotel - which we have stayed at before - and requested to upgrade to an ocean view room. Done - no problem - $20 day upgrade which is well worth it. First night great - second morning my husband and I woke up covered in bites. Unsure of what they were we spoke to the front desk. We were informed they were mosquito bites and that they would spray our room, including the mattress and change all linens. Seemed a bit odd but if it got rid of whatever was biting us we would be happy. We did ask if we could change rooms, but it would mean moving from 9th floor to 3rd floor and we would lose the awesome view we had upgraded to. So we chose not to move. Next morning, more bites - I again returned to the front desk and requested to be moved - apparently they now had a room on the 8th floor (a corner unit with the most amazing view) - which by the way had not been used in a while - the fridge was not plugged in nor was it stocked with the mini bar items. Each day we had to request water (which we were entitled to) and coffee which we were charged $2.00 a day for. I gave up on the verbal requests and started to drop notes off to the front desk which seemed to work much better. Upon check out we were presented a bill with $0 owing. They dropped the upgrade charge which we appreciated immensely. We love this property but at the beginning of the week we were prepared to never return - by the end of the week we can't wait to rebook. This property is one of the smaller ones with beautiful grounds and well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3Smit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Public Relations Manager at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay last March.
It is our pleasure to welcome all of your comments, positive and / or negative about your stay with us because that we realize the service that we are providing. Unfortunately on this occasion you suffered the bite of mosquitoes, this is a place with a warm-humid has said insects, I think it was favorable your room change and we are glad that your stay has improved considerably, but we like us more the fact that you cannot wait to return back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel fresh off the plane from the U.S. We got a decent price and a comfortable room. The hotel was pretty busy. They had a restaurant with an overpriced buffet and the drink at the bar were over the top expensive. I definitely don't recommend the watered down pina colada.
They did have good service over all and we got an ocean view room. I would give it a 3.5 out of 5. It was decent for the price and we didn't want to do an all inclusive resort.

Room Tip: An ocean view room on an upper floor away from the elevator is the way to go.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Public Relations Manager at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest
We welcome your comments on your stay last March.
What better qualification than a guest visiting us for the first time?, because you can mention us all the pros and cons we have. In reference to our food costs, are considered within the competitive range of the area, however we will take special care to be revised again.
Thank you for selecting our hotel and we would like to provide us with the opportunity in the near future, to serve you again in Emporio Ixtapa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks in an ocean view room.
Although some describe this hotel as a "Boutique" style resort, I would rate it as a regular style hotel. Its older and the rooms are plain but clean, has a nice pool, good breakfast restaurant and friendly, helpful staff, especially at the front office.
Glad we didn't opt for the semi-all inclusive as there are many good dining options all around Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo.
It seems to attract a lot of older clientele and on the weekend fills up with Mexican families and groups which livens it up as its a bit boring during the week. No activities to speak of and even Ixtapa is very quiet most nights and this is "peak" season.
Nice hotel but would only return if there was a special promotion. I'd give it a solid 3 star rating.
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedgulden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Public Relations Manager at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest
Thanks for sharing the comments of your stay last March.
We are classified as a 5-star hotel by the Tourism Ministry because we have all the necessary services; Ixtapa itself is the place to go to rest and Emporio Hotel is part of the list of hotels that families seek to relax and forget about the daily routine.
Regarding the rooms have some remodeled and given preventive maintenance to keep the building in functionality.
We regret not having met your expectations and we invite you to give us a chance in the near future to regain his confidence in Emporio Ixtapa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

we come over from La Ropa every year to the "hotel life" for a few days..(we are long term condo visitors to the area..but we like the beach at Ixtapa) we stayed again this year with Emporio--WE LOVE that they are NOT only all-inclusive like so many of their neighbor hotels! THANK YOU!
So, it breaks my heart to say anything negative. But, their rooms have no screens; and when we came in, the air conditioners barely cooled. We opened the windows for air....and were EATEN ALIVE by sand flys & mosquitos! The bugs were everywhere...the ceiling of the shower was covered for days after we closed up everything & suffered in the heat. They really need to tell the guests to keep everything closed up tight...we had a great maid who had them spray...but our last night gave us the biggest cockroach I've ever seen! Thank god he was belly up! Sounds strange...but I'll probably go back again next season..because so few hotels are euro plan.

Room Tip: higher floors may have less bug problems..rooms on opposite side of Dorado Pacifico will be quieter--Jr. Suites are a bad value--none of the rooms have actual balconys to sit on.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Public Relations Manager at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest
We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback about your stay last March.
It is very unfortunate that there had this kind of problems during your stay, we really want to apologize for this series of unfavorable events. It is very important that we made ​​known because corrective measures were taken to avoid recurrence.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again to erase the bad impression we caused you involuntarily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have been to Ixtapa many times, and stayed at most all of the hotels, so I can say Emporio is very nice. Meant for couples, very layed back, no one bothering you to play silly games all day. great breakfest out beside the ocean, anything you ask for, or we did the buffet every day and its fab. Rooms very clean and nice and bright. All the shade you want around the pool and at the beach. We had lunch served by pool or at beach. Every night they set up ocean front dinning, grilled fish ,chicken, ribs, great as well. Very safe, repeat very safe,, we have not seen any change in over 10 years. My nick name is DEBBIE DOWNER because i always see something wrong------ nothing no problems in this part of Mexico-------------Also we go out most nights, taxis $5.00 most places, we still feel very safe and we are 60years old. Going downtown to fishing village $8.00 for taxi, shops,stroll the moon lite bay of Z_WHAT, have a fresh catch of the day, if you go into town at 4ish. you see the boats come in with their catch. Did I say ,,,Its Safe, one LAST thing , out of all the trips to Ixtapa, we haVE SEEN it rain twice. SO have a fun time volm

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank volm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews