We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Review of Emporio Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emporio Ixtapa
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We usually stay in Troncones at the Inn at Manzanillo Bay (best place on the beach to unwind in 30 seconds or less!) or in Zihat at La Villa (beautiful grounds) or for a longer stay in the condos at Las Casa Que Ve Al Mar. This time we took my elderly mother so thought the flatter beaches and roads in Ixtapa might be better. Knowing nothing about the hotel other than mostly positive reviews, we booked...and were quite pleased! Property is clean and well maintained. Rooms are spacious, beds comfortable. Bathroom has blow dryer and nice toiletries. We had a 4th floor ocean front room with a beautiful view of the pool and ocean. A balcony would have been nice but who spends that much time in the room anyway? The lobby, like most Mexican hotels is all open air and there are several nice chairs for reading and relaxing and enjoying the trade winds that breeze in. The hotel is smaller than some and we appreciated the quiet evenings. We did not do the all inclusive package, preferring to eat at various restaurants, so other than morning coffee (not great) and poolside beers we didn't eat there. Found two great restaurants- Deborah's Chile Beans is a great breakfast place (have your coffee there)- very good food- try the banana pancakes and great service. Also on that same street is Emilios- very good brick oven pizza! I didn't expect to say this, but were I to go back to Ixtapa I would stay at the Emporio again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IworktotravelCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    297
    155
    55
    46
See reviews for
314
241
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were very disappointed with some aspects of this property. The good things, amazing beach, excellent location. The town is awesome with great food, entertainment and wonderful people.

Only one bar and one restaurant open at a time at the hotel, food choices were horrible, nothing for Western cuisine at all. We went all inclusive but ate in town mostly. Service around the pool was terrible, you had to line up to get your own drinks/food. The one waiter they had on seemed to do a lot of wandering.

Room was clean but we had a garden view which was really a garbage view. As in, we could see all the garbage that was being thrown out the back. We left early and finished our stay at another resort making the week a lot more expensive than planned.

Room Tip: Avoid the garden view at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We went to the Emporio Jan 29th to Feb 5/12. Fabulous beach, Fabulous pool, wonderful sunny weather, great location, right across the road from shops & flea markets. Great shopping & deals. You can bargain in all the stores as well as the flea markets as tourism is down. Zihuatanejo is only a 15 minute bus ride away & well worth going to see as there are unique shops there and it is a wonderful place to spend a day.

We found the Hotel to have adequate clean & spacious rooms that were well maintained with nice clean bathrooms & lovely soaps & shampoos. When we needed something to be adjusted or repaired, the staff were there quickly to see to it, although at times because we did not speak Spanish, it was difficult to get across what we needed to be done.

There is no entertainment at all in the evenings so things are pretty quiet in the Lobby & throughout the pool area and this is something that we felt was lacking. A guitar player or a musician of some sort would have livened the place up and made the evenings more enjoyable.

As for the food, there was a lot of confusion as to what was included in our all inclusive package or not. Because the Hotel was not very full when we arrived, the a la carte restaurants were not open and we had to have all our meals in the Buffet which can get a bit tireing as the food is geared towards more of a Mexican cliental and the foods were not well marked as to what they were. There were times that we really didn't want to eat anything offered in the meat department and we are not picky eaters. We did not see bacon once during our week there. However, the fruit and salads and breads, pastries and home made soups were delicious.

All in all it was good value for the money , The beach & pool were just the best but would I stay there again? Probably not.

Malacon
Chilliwack., B.C.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Have been to the Emporio for 1 week in January the last 3 years. always a good time, meet a lot of people from the U.S. and Canada at the pool bar and in the lobby for happy hour that gos from 6:00 to 8:00pm. then we head across the street for dinner and drinks, some place different every night. The Generals is new this year went there for the play offs and a few. and dinner on a other night. The hotel was quite this year, thats how we like it. the staff all know us and service is always great, We do lunch there everyday and dinner at the Sunset Grill on the beach 2 nights the cost is 16.00 u.s. p/p.for all you can eat. I think its a deal. We did get a good room on the 9th. floor oceanview. I guess my only complaint the drink prices have gone up, the only deal is happy hour. Then every one goes across the street. I know a lot of bars in the area we live in are having a hard year so they lower there drink prices to bring in more people, But in Mexico they raise the cost to cover for the lack of people. Well any way Ixtapa is our NO.# 1 vacation place. We are already looking for a deal for March...

Room Tip: The ocean view is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank algoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patzcuaro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We spent 4 days in the Emporio, Ixtapa between January 15 and 19th, 2012. This was our second trip to the hotel. Because of my need to stay connected I enquired about a room that had an Internet connection but when we arrived our room was too far from the antenna. The reception staff was extremely busy and did not respond to my problem. I then found a staff person by the name of Miguel Angel who told me that he would do his best to find a solution. He asked me to wait in my room and within 10 minutes he called and asked me to come to another room to see if I could get a good connection. Not only did I have a good connection but he had upgraded us to a nicer room. As people who worked in the service industry for over 17 years we always notice when someone has gone above and beyond to fix a problem. Not only did Miguel fix our problem but he helped us feel like someone cared and because of him we will definitely return.
The Emporio is one of the only hotels on the beach that caters to a more relaxed environment away from the boom box volly ball set. It is the perfect place for couples. Our room attendant Monclovia did a wonderful job keeping our room fresh and clean as well as making a daily sculpture out of towels. We ate in the buffet dining room for both breakfast and dinners and found the staff incredibly attentive while keeping the tables cleared of dirty dishes and the floors constantly swept. The beach side "Sunset Grill" was wonderful! Extremely fresh food BBQ`ed to order with crisp and well prepared salads, soups and side dishes. Our waiter Jose was a pleasure to be around. My only critisism was with the daily menu variation which did not change very often other than the salads and soups. Still I had no complaint with the freshness and the tasty offerings.
Most of the hotels on the Ixtapa strip are from the 1970`s and some are quite tired but the Emporio has done an excellent job of keeping the hotel looking fresh and new with the only acception being the air conditioning which is very dated and inconsistant. It can take up to 12 hours of constant running to get the rooms down to a comfortable temperature, but, this should not be a reason not to come to this hotel.
We spend most of the year in Patzcuaro, Mexico which is only 3 hours from Ixtapa and it is nice to know that we have an excellent hotel to return to for special occasions.

Room Tip: The corner Junior Suites have fantastic wrap around views and are extremely well insulated from pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skye2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We were at the Emporio from Jan. 10 to 24. This was a nice quiet spot and not a place to go if you are looking for a lot of night life. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. We always slept with the sliding windows open so we could hear the roar of the surf. The food was average and more than enough to satisfy us. There seemed to be a little confusion re the a-la-carte inclusion in our Nolitours package but we are not complaining as we did not go short on food. I would suggest though that staff are correctly informed as to the policy of this all inclusive feature as every guest would get a different answer and we were all left feeling a little frustrated. The employees at this resort are extremely friendly and helpful. I especially would like to mention Damian and all of his staff. Raul in the Sunset Grill is simply "the best" and Evaristo on the beach keeps you well hydrated, always with a big smile. Another one of our favorites was Hugo in the lobby bar who makes the most awesome Margaritas (gratias Hugo). The beach is beautiful, the ocean is warm....what more can I say. We would definitely return the the Hotel Emporio!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdfritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Carmel, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This was probably our 20th visit to the Emporio, but certainly not our last. The staff is very friendly and remembers our names. The hotel is centrally located on the beach and also in Ixtapa. Food is always fresh and hot.

Room Tip: Upper floor overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittlePupsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.4 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.9 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emporio Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporio Ixtapa

Property: Emporio Ixtapa
Address: Boulevard Ixtapa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emporio Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emporio Ixtapa greets guests in a spacious lobby , which include clarity marble floors and abundant planters with tropical plants, covered by a dome inspired by Mexican colonial architecture. This peaceful atmosphere is ideal for couples or families seeking the privacy of a place to relax and enjoy the pacific and beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Emporio Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporio Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Emporio Hotel Ixtapa
Emporio Resort Ixtapa
Hotel Emporio Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing