We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Ixtapa
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The food was great. The internet (free wireless) was fast. The rooms were very clean and the price was right on. One thing you look for also is the staff and they were all very well educated with the hotel and protocol of check in and check out. You can't go wrong but if you like to be right on the ocean this is not your place. It's just a short walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bajapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    136
    67
    25
    12
See reviews for
155
85
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had to overnight here due to a SNAFU with United Airlines November 4th 2012.

The hotel was typical Holiday Inn. You know what you are getting before you get there.

Beds were Mexican Firm.

Small desk for your computer needs. Free WiFi which was a plus for ATTEMPTING to rearrange travel plans.

The upside here was the hotel staff and management, that scrambled to make rooms available for the sixty or so of us that were stranded overnight.

They kept the buffet up late, and arranged for taxi's to be available for a VERY early checkout and departure to the airport.

Not waht I would pick for a family vacation, but a great place in a pinch!!!!

Thank you again for your care of us on such short notice Holiday Inn Ixtapa Staff!!!!!!!!!!!

Keith & Leslie

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Labrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

This has to be the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else. There are plenty of other very nice hotels for the same price in Xtapa Out of the way, dirty, unprofessional staff, over priced... what else can I say?

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveling4Real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londra, Regno Unito
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I have spent only 2 nights in this hotel with a group of friends travelling around Mexico.
The rooms are holiday inn rooms. Big and comfy. Breakfast amazing with fresh fruit salad.
Gorgeous swimming pool with a bar inside!
The beach is a short walking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielChimera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hotel is in general good maybe for a weekend or some nights but this is not a hotel to spend family vacation or to stay for holidays.
What we liked:
big rooms, very clean, good equiped - at least nothing we missed. The pool is big and perfect for kids of any age. Even they have a nice water slide. There was always a sunbed available and the people were all friendly and provided very good service. The restaurant is open and is nice to sit there. The food-packages were good and fair value. Enough (free) parking. Also free wireless internet everywhere.
Downsides:
The hotel needs some renovation. Starting from the pool and is visible in the rooms (e.g.electrical socket coming out of the wall, picture missing , mirror partially blinded, etc.).
The hotel is 600m walking distance from the beach. For us it was ok but this is a big disadvantage for family vacations. Breakfast was good. Buffet, not big choice but all we had expected (Buffet, eggs order to cook, selection of fruits, and some local mexican stuff). Dinner actually I would say acceptable considering the cheap price but not really good. At least strange was that they never filled up neither the coffee nor the two water bottles in the room which we found complementary when we entered the room the first time.

Room Tip: rooms in the first floor have an ugly view on the parking space. The higher upstairs the better (bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ulcologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The Holiday inn is alway from the other hotels on the strip...about a 5 min walk to the beach,market and restaurants. The hotel staff was great! There is a bell person name(Alfredo) who speaks good english and can help you find your way around town. If your looking for a nice quiet clean hotel...the Holiday inn Ixtapa should be your chioce!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ritchi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This hotel was clean, the pool is really nice and it is walking distance to great restaurants and typical mexico shopping. But it is farther to the beach than the website implies...if being close to the beach is important to you (it wasn't for us) I would not recommend this hotel. The staff was not friendly at all, we had to constantly ask for help which made us feel like needy guests, which we aren't. The pool was empty except for us the entire week we were there and no one ever came out to ask us if we wanted a drink or food, we had to go inside to the bar ourselves (swim up pool bar was closed our entire stay). I wouldn't recommend this hotel and will not return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingfool76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
travelingfool76,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.7 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#11 of 24 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.5 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#22 of 24 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#6 of 24 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa

Property: Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Address: Paseo De Las Palmas Esq | Agua, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Ixtapa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamma Plaza Ixtapa is a modern building with high quality facilities and services for the leisure visitor or businessmen. 'Executive Rooms' . Air conditioned rooms, hallways and meeting rooms. Room service, restaurant, garden side cafeteria area, a combination of swim-up / dry pool bar, free-form precious large swimming pool with kid s area. Gamma Plaza Ixtapa can accommodate meetings up to 350 people theatre set-up and 200 for banquet. Convention registration room. Inside parking facilities for up to 110 vehicles. Not a beachfront property, we are located two blocks from El Palmar Beach. European, American, MAP and FAP plans available. Convenient rates and packages for groups, seminars, small conventions and all type of events. Natural ambiance surrounded by lush mountain and green gardens. Also, ecological and protection of species areas. We are 20 minutes driving to and from the airport. Ixtapa is the modern concept with all types of comfort and Zihuatanejo is the typical nice town with beautiful bays and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ixtapa
Ixtapa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing