We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends what you are looking for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Depends what you are looking for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hotel is in general good maybe for a weekend or some nights but this is not a hotel to spend family vacation or to stay for holidays.
What we liked:
big rooms, very clean, good equiped - at least nothing we missed. The pool is big and perfect for kids of any age. Even they have a nice water slide. There was always a sunbed available and the people were all friendly and provided very good service. The restaurant is open and is nice to sit there. The food-packages were good and fair value. Enough (free) parking. Also free wireless internet everywhere.
Downsides:
The hotel needs some renovation. Starting from the pool and is visible in the rooms (e.g.electrical socket coming out of the wall, picture missing , mirror partially blinded, etc.).
The hotel is 600m walking distance from the beach. For us it was ok but this is a big disadvantage for family vacations. Breakfast was good. Buffet, not big choice but all we had expected (Buffet, eggs order to cook, selection of fruits, and some local mexican stuff). Dinner actually I would say acceptable considering the cheap price but not really good. At least strange was that they never filled up neither the coffee nor the two water bottles in the room which we found complementary when we entered the room the first time.

Room Tip: rooms in the first floor have an ugly view on the parking space. The higher upstairs the better (bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ulcologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    134
    63
    25
    11
See reviews for
149
83
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The Holiday inn is alway from the other hotels on the strip...about a 5 min walk to the beach,market and restaurants. The hotel staff was great! There is a bell person name(Alfredo) who speaks good english and can help you find your way around town. If your looking for a nice quiet clean hotel...the Holiday inn Ixtapa should be your chioce!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ritchi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This hotel was clean, the pool is really nice and it is walking distance to great restaurants and typical mexico shopping. But it is farther to the beach than the website implies...if being close to the beach is important to you (it wasn't for us) I would not recommend this hotel. The staff was not friendly at all, we had to constantly ask for help which made us feel like needy guests, which we aren't. The pool was empty except for us the entire week we were there and no one ever came out to ask us if we wanted a drink or food, we had to go inside to the bar ourselves (swim up pool bar was closed our entire stay). I wouldn't recommend this hotel and will not return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingfool76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
travelingfool76,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
173 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

This hotel is a block behind the main drag which means it has good access to everything but no sea view. Check in was slowish and the receptionist extremely unsmiling. Some of the rooms have a nice view over palm trees and mountains but mine had a view of the kitchen roof and all the smells that go with it, which meant most of my waking hours actually spent in the room were spent thinking about food. The room was ok but I was amused by the labelled pillows "soft" and "hard", when "lumpy" would have pretty much described all of them. The sheets were also old and pilled and the curtains not easy to draw and one of the handles came off in my hand.
The pool area is fairly attractive and there was a nice family atmosphere and it struck me how well-behaved and quiet everybody seemed, especially as it was a bank holiday weekend.
The breakfast buffet was meagre and unimaginative and despite arriving well over an hour before it closed, several things had run out and were not replaced, and the egg chef was unsmiling and surly. Some nice looking meatballs proved to be gristly and disgusting and as I foolishly swallowed them, I knew I would be in trouble later in the day which proved to be the case. Since this was all I ate all day, I have absolutely no doubt as to the cause of the trouble.
The hotel needs some investment and some hands-on management and the staff need more training . The whole place shows the kind of laissez faire only too common in Mexican hotels recently. I have been to Holiday Inns that are excellent but this is not one of them.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archibalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel is like every other Holiday Inn in many ways - the decor, room furnishings and the same standard you would expect from a Holiday Inn. But it also had a fantastic pool and sunbathing area, and the staff were very pleasant and helpful, even bringing us drinks to our sun loungers. The food was good, nothing special, but good value for money. The entire hotel was spotless and very well maintained. Overall I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caz1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, ID
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay at this Holiday Inn. It is a very short walk to markets and restaurants, about 5 minutes. Another couple of minutes and you are on the beach whether you slip through one of the hotels like the Barcelo or use the public entrance to the left of the Barcelo. There is an OXXO convenience store close by as well to grab some munchies, beer, etc. The only thing I would have liked that was not available is a refrigerator but there was ice to lay my beer in to keep cold . The beds are a little firm for me but we still slept great. Also there was always at least one person at all times that spoke English so that was helpful. For the price, I highly recommend this hotel if staying on the beach is not necessary.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rparsons1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

This is the second time I stay here and I'm very satisfied with the service and the attention I received from the staff. The Front Desk clerks were very friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to book my next trip in this Property.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesusjruiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.7 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#11 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.5 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#21 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 23 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa

Property: Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Address: Paseo De Las Palmas Esq | Agua, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Ixtapa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamma Plaza Ixtapa is a modern building with high quality facilities and services for the leisure visitor or businessmen. 'Executive Rooms' . Air conditioned rooms, hallways and meeting rooms. Room service, restaurant, garden side cafeteria area, a combination of swim-up / dry pool bar, free-form precious large swimming pool with kid s area. Gamma Plaza Ixtapa can accommodate meetings up to 350 people theatre set-up and 200 for banquet. Convention registration room. Inside parking facilities for up to 110 vehicles. Not a beachfront property, we are located two blocks from El Palmar Beach. European, American, MAP and FAP plans available. Convenient rates and packages for groups, seminars, small conventions and all type of events. Natural ambiance surrounded by lush mountain and green gardens. Also, ecological and protection of species areas. We are 20 minutes driving to and from the airport. Ixtapa is the modern concept with all types of comfort and Zihuatanejo is the typical nice town with beautiful bays and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ixtapa
Ixtapa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing