We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ixtapa Palace Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$44
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$119
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$120
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$85
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$234
$185
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$190
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$344
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$180
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$190
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$357
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
82
38
12
9
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
38
12
9
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaya elquiet resortrooms are comfortablewalking distancejust returned from a weekkitchenetteleonelclassespoolspalmarzumbalocalsaccommodationstennis
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 164 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2009

This place was an exchange through RCI , cannot believe they are even associated with them. this place is so run down, nothing worked, or was open. handle on slider was broke,we got the screw in enough to lock the door, no pillow cases on pillows, which look like just bags of stuffing, water in pool was very dirty looking, microwave didn't work, bathrm light was as bright as a nitelite, no room safe, so had to carry all doct. and money with us, waterslides were not working, stayed 1 night and found another hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2B-in-Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Ixtapa_Palace, Guest Relations Manager at Ixtapa Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Dear luv2B-in-Mexico,

We thank you for staying with us. Your comments are very important as its the only way we can improve.

I wanted to take this opportunity and let you know our rooms and common areas have been remodeled.

The RCI rooms have safety deposit boxes, new furniture, flat-screen tvs, all our room lighting is with LEDs. There is free WiFi available in most of the Resort's common areas.

We hope you give us the opportunity once again in the future.

Best Regards,
IPR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We traveled in Feb 2009 had a wonderful family vacation the staff was friendly and very helpful since we didn't know much Spanish. The hotel is centrally located. Lush tropical vegetation. The room was clean & spacious, large pools ,walking distance from beach. The water park was fun for the kids. Would go back again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keego91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

Staying at the Ixtapa Palace was a terrible experience. We spent the first 5 days of our 8 day trip searching in vain for another hotel to stay at. The rooms were clean, but that is the only nice thing I have to say about them. We were told they slept 4 but in reality were only given a king sized bed and a futon-ish couch. The rooms were dark, dank, had no view, no kitchen. There were 2 bathrooms, and we only felt comfortable showering in one of them, the other one was dirty. The resort itself had no "resort" qualities, the pools were in the shade all day, the bar had no food or drinks, the lobby was dark and quiet frankly scary. The restaurant next door was our only hope for a cup of coffee in the morning, but several mornings they were out. The staff was nasty, disrespectful, and snide. Towels were not available until 9AM and at 9:10AM we had to FIGHT to get the towels, as they often ran. As far as using the "public" beaches suggested by the staff, that was an absolute WASTE of time- they were crowded, disgusting, and had no lounge chairs to rent. I suggest that if you have booked this resort change your plans ASAP- I wish I would have. There are plenty of nice, reasonable resorts in the area that cater to vactioners- IXTAPA PALACE IS NOT ONE OF THEM!! BEWARE!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MStierle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

This place is terrible. We were led to believe it was beach front, in fact it is a good 15 min walk. All the furnishings are 2nd and 3rd rate. Bed is a 5" foam mattress on a cement slab. The so-called kitchen doesn't have a microwave as was indicated, the coffee pot is a 12 cup maker with a 4 cup carafe, the utensils are barely acceptable for camping. The "stove" is just two burners set into counter top, 1 was broken and the other burner didn't work. It took 3 days and 6+ requests to have this fixed. There is a steep narrow spiral staircase to bedroom level, really safe after a few tequilas. We probably will come back to Ixtapa, but never to this resort again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Ixtapa_Palace, Guest Relations Manager at Ixtapa Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Dear billp55,

We thank you for staying with us. Your comments are very important as its the only way we can improve.

I wanted to take this opportunity and let you know our rooms and common areas have been remodeled.

Also to clear up the situation. The beach is 5 minutes walking distance from the Resort. Unfortunately we cannot control what 3rd party travel agencies say. I do wish there was something we could do about it. We do take great effort in providing them with the latest up-to-date information every few months. We want each and everyone of our guests to have a pleasant experience.

Our remodeled rooms have safety deposit boxes, new furniture, flat-screen TVs, all our room lighting is with LEDs. There is free WiFi available in most of the Resort's common areas.

We hope you give us the opportunity once again in the future.

Best Regards,
IPR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2007

We travel frequently! This was single handedly the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. The service was terrible, the people were rude, the hotel jacuzzi had no water in it, one of the pools was NASTY dirty, the mini golf course had weeds growing out of the holes and it was tiny, the rooms had no towels and only 1 clear channel and 1 fuzzy one. I called before we had the reservation and they said they had free wireless internet in each room it DOES NOT!!! They have wireless only within a 100 foot radius around the pool and they charge $25 a day! The sheets were hard, the towels felt like brillo pads :( I will never come back and am trying to spread the word to save your money and go somewhere decent!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank montigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Ixtapa_Palace, Guest Relations Manager at Ixtapa Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Dear Montigg,

We thank you for staying with us. Your comments are very important as its the only way we can improve.

Regarding free WiFi, most public areas are equipped with wireless internet such as the reception, lobby, restaurant and pool area. Only a portion of our rooms have WiFi.

I also wanted to take this opportunity and let you know our rooms and common areas have been remodeled. We hope you give us the opportunity once again in the future.

Best Regards,
IPR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews