We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“don't waste your or money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ixtapa Palace Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ixtapa Palace Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“don't waste your or money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

This place was an exchange through RCI , cannot believe they are even associated with them. this place is so run down, nothing worked, or was open. handle on slider was broke,we got the screw in enough to lock the door, no pillow cases on pillows, which look like just bags of stuffing, water in pool was very dirty looking, microwave didn't work, bathrm light was as bright as a nitelite, no room safe, so had to carry all doct. and money with us, waterslides were not working, stayed 1 night and found another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2B-in-Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    7
    9
    21
See reviews for
30
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

We traveled in Feb 2009 had a wonderful family vacation the staff was friendly and very helpful since we didn't know much Spanish. The hotel is centrally located. Lush tropical vegetation. The room was clean & spacious, large pools ,walking distance from beach. The water park was fun for the kids. Would go back again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keego91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

Staying at the Ixtapa Palace was a terrible experience. We spent the first 5 days of our 8 day trip searching in vain for another hotel to stay at. The rooms were clean, but that is the only nice thing I have to say about them. We were told they slept 4 but in reality were only given a king sized bed and a futon-ish couch. The rooms were dark, dank, had no view, no kitchen. There were 2 bathrooms, and we only felt comfortable showering in one of them, the other one was dirty. The resort itself had no "resort" qualities, the pools were in the shade all day, the bar had no food or drinks, the lobby was dark and quiet frankly scary. The restaurant next door was our only hope for a cup of coffee in the morning, but several mornings they were out. The staff was nasty, disrespectful, and snide. Towels were not available until 9AM and at 9:10AM we had to FIGHT to get the towels, as they often ran. As far as using the "public" beaches suggested by the staff, that was an absolute WASTE of time- they were crowded, disgusting, and had no lounge chairs to rent. I suggest that if you have booked this resort change your plans ASAP- I wish I would have. There are plenty of nice, reasonable resorts in the area that cater to vactioners- IXTAPA PALACE IS NOT ONE OF THEM!! BEWARE!

  • Liked — Leaving on the last day!
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MStierle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ixtapa hotels

Winnipeg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

This place is terrible. We were led to believe it was beach front, in fact it is a good 15 min walk. All the furnishings are 2nd and 3rd rate. Bed is a 5" foam mattress on a cement slab. The so-called kitchen doesn't have a microwave as was indicated, the coffee pot is a 12 cup maker with a 4 cup carafe, the utensils are barely acceptable for camping. The "stove" is just two burners set into counter top, 1 was broken and the other burner didn't work. It took 3 days and 6+ requests to have this fixed. There is a steep narrow spiral staircase to bedroom level, really safe after a few tequilas. We probably will come back to Ixtapa, but never to this resort again.

  • Liked — The weather
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

We travel frequently! This was single handedly the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. The service was terrible, the people were rude, the hotel jacuzzi had no water in it, one of the pools was NASTY dirty, the mini golf course had weeds growing out of the holes and it was tiny, the rooms had no towels and only 1 clear channel and 1 fuzzy one. I called before we had the reservation and they said they had free wireless internet in each room it DOES NOT!!! They have wireless only within a 100 foot radius around the pool and they charge $25 a day! The sheets were hard, the towels felt like brillo pads :( I will never come back and am trying to spread the word to save your money and go somewhere decent!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing! The entire experience stunk! It was so nice to leave!
  • Disliked — No cable, no internet, yucky sheets, yucky towels, dirty pool
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank montigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

I was very,very,very,disappointed with Ixtapa Palace Resort. First of all to me that was not a resort,the lobby was plain kind of dirty no kind of entertainment in the lobby what-so-ever. The bar in the main lobby was there for show not available for a drink. the rooms were shocking,the phones in the room weren't working the whole week of being there. We stepped out to have dinner when we came back I found some of my things missing. There is no security safe box in the rooms! I didn't feel to safe there. That's a shame because I've been to Mexico 3 times to different places that are beautifulllllllllllll!!! I would never,ever go back there again and I'll make sure no else goes there either! If anything the weather was very good and hot!!! (P.R.)

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Spring46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

We also received a complmentary 5 night stay as a bonus from a time share we purchased in Florida. The Florida trip not so good.... When my husband purchased our trip to celebrate our 2nd anniversary he clearly communicated to the agent that we did not want to attend a time share. The price was to good to be true. It was indeed a time share. The orginal hotel in Florida was a mess, downtown dump, so when my husband complained they put us in an upgraded condo on the beach and threw in this little trip as I said as a bonus. Truthfully we feared the worst. What a delightful surprize in many ways, I don't want to mislead you in any way. The hotel is old, the tennis court needs work, the Gym has a lot of equipment , all kinds of classes going on all day and night with lot's of locals attending. Wonderful pool clean and maintained. They have a simple resturant that they will open just for you, The rooms decor is 70ish and so is the entire building pretty much in that same stlye. The rooms are clean. What makes this hotel so special is the people that work there. It's all about the service..... What a delightful staff. They all make you feel as if your a long lost friend that has come back into town. Gill at the front desk was informative, knowlegable and accomadating, he speaks English, and is always available to help you in any way. We enjoyed the local shops and lot's of places to eat. The focus of this trip was to go scuba diving my husband has been certified for many years so we took this as a opportunity for me to get certified as well. We found a local company over the internet Carlo Scuba which is a 3rd generation diving facility located in Las Gatas and we were hopeful that this would turn out ok as well. Again I can't stress enough how wonderful these people are. I took a 4 day training course it was one on one with Thierry, it was off season the water was warm, not great visability for someone just learning but the attention and service was surperb. Looking foward to going again. Enjoy!

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — tennis court
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank scuba1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.5 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Suites Ixtapa Plaza
Hotel Suites Ixtapa Plaza
#19 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
0.4 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#21 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Puerta del Mar
Puerta del Mar
#15 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ixzi Plus Hotel
Ixzi Plus Hotel
#17 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#11 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixtapa Palace Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixtapa Palace Resort & Spa

Property: Ixtapa Palace Resort & Spa
Address: Paseo de las Garzas esq. Paseo del Rincon, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ixtapa Palace Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a condo in a tropical town, beaches with crystalline water, colorful fish and exotic drinks.Ixtapa Palace Resort welcomes you to Mexico’s best kept secret with a true Mexican atmosphere, original charm and tradition. A distinctive resort to relax and enjoy the tropical surroundings or take part of the many amenities Ixtapa Palace has to offer its guests. - Relax in one of our 3 swimming pools. - Enjoy a relaxing day at the spa, with Ixtapa's only temascal. - Ixtapa Palace hosts the largest gym including free weights, machines, cardio, aerobics room, tennis and squash courts. - High speed tobogan for the kids. - Mini-golf and table tennis. - All suites are equipped with A/C and calbe tv. - Ask about our suites with kitchenettes.We hope you enjoy your next vacation to Ixtapa Palace Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ixtapa Palace Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ixtapa Palace Magic World Hotel Playa La Ropa
Palace Magic World Ixtapa
Palace Magic World Hotel Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing