We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ata Sushi Bar

Ata Sushi Bar
Ranked #15 of 117 Restaurants in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The best Sushi Bar at Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo!La mejor barra de Sushi en Ixtapa y Zihuatanejo!
Silverado, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I am sorry but to prepare Sushi, one should be Asian at least. There is no lack of fresh fish supply here in Ixtapa that is for sure. And the sushi here is fresh. I am just biased towards total authenticity.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GregoryOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    18
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Mexican Sushi”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Simply excellent! Great for an alternative dinner! Price from 4 usd. Highly recommended! We were looking for sushi since Cabo and this was really great! The restaurant have a great location, we only needed to cross the street from the hotel. The dessert was gelatin cafe with kalua.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarioUriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good Mexican Sushi”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We eat lots of sushi when we are home and we were pleasantly surprised to find the Ata's had quality dishes at a decent price.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sushi on the Boulevard”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I come from a place where you get very good sushi and sashimi and ATA holds up as being very good, especially for a place in Mexico.

Sushi is fresh, tightly rolled, presented nicely and, though priced a bit on the high side, acceptable for what you receive. Their Ixtapa and Mango rolls and Tuna Sashimi is excellent!

They do tend to use sauces in a lot of their offerings which distracts from the taste of the fresh seafood and other ingredients - easy fix ... just tell them to cut back on the sauces and they will oblige. Some of their rolls (ie Calif Roll) use fake crab (pollack) rather than fresh crab, hence their slightly lower rating.

Not a lot of atmosphere here but you can watch the happenings on Ixtapa Boulevard while filling your sushi craving.

Service is normally pretty good but can slow to a snail's pace if more than 3 tables are being served.

They have a few brands of Saki and will serve it either warmed or chilled per your request - prices are appropriate.

Yea .... Sometimes you get a craving; if in Ixtapa and you crave sushi, this place is worth a visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PappaChorizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ata Sushi Bar also viewed

 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to Ata Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing