We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hiked to the pyramids etc”

Xihuacan Museum and Archeological Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Xihuacan Culture and Archaeology Tour
Ranked #6 of 32 things to do in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hiked to the pyramids etc”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Juan was our guide and Chico (Francisco) was also a good storyteller. Learned a great deal about culture and history. Ate at a really good roadside cafe.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BETH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    42
    16
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st.paul, minn.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Educational”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

It was interesting to see an archealogical site under development. We learned so much about the area. We hired a guide available at the door, for $5 /person.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank grade2rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“LA CHOLE Museo y Zona Arqueologica”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I had visited La Chole 5 years ago and there wasn't much to see, The pyrimid was discovered but not excavated yet. The ball court was partially unearthed and the museo had not been built.
To get to the site I had to walk through high weeds and there were many mosquitos.
I was amazed at the progress that had been made, the museum is extremely interesting with many well preserved artifacts dating back as far as 450 BC. There were five different tribes that lived there at different times from 450 BC to 1100 AD. They were wiped out by a Tsunami. You can hire an english speaking guide at the muesum entrance, who will walk you through the museum and then escort you to the ball court and pyramid. Our guide Eric was very knowledgeable and after the tour guided us to the village of La Chole to see the Church where the statue of the Governor is displayed and introduced us to his Father and Mother who live in the village.
I highly recommend going to see La Chole.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank GarryC653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zihuatanejo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Things to do when going to Ixtapa & Zihua”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

You may have been to Yucatán or other Places with Pyramids, and you may say; seen one rock seen them all, but Not all civilizations were the same. Much History to find in Zihuatanejo that you may not have known it is not just a place for sun and fun.... Get a guided tour so you can get the most out of what they have to say and ask as many questions. Enjoy

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Zihuatanejodanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
168 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very Exciting Museum , Ball Court, and Pyramid!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This place has exciting excavations. The Museum has some fabulous artifacts and history of this area south of Zihuatanejo. The Museum itself is a nicely designed new building which houses
all of the well preserved artifacts. Beautiful historic objects! Expertly displayed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank KathyS181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xihuacan Museum and Archeological Site also viewed

 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to Xihuacan Museum and Archeological Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing