We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My partner and I had a lovely stay at the Azul Grand at the end of January, with a combination of amazing weather, incredible service and an awesome hotel we had a vacation bordering on perfection. This almost new property has 5 star decor and service. Check-in was extremely smooth, and quick especially considering we arrived with 2 bus loads of guests.
The rooms are spectacular, a great view, soaker jacuzzi tub, comfortable beds, cozy bedding and a lovely rainfall shower. You have two queens or a king size bed to choose from.
I agree with a lot of other reviews that say the food wasn't on par with the hotel's over all look. But really it's a smaller resort, and all inclusive...what are you expecting? All the food was tasty and there was always a nice variety at the buffet. The a'la cartes we tried were okay as well. Nothing spectacular. Having to wait in lines to make reservations and limiting the amount of reservations is a pain, (especially if you're used to the Dream's chain). All in all though, food and everything were just fine. We weren't there to eat, we were there to soak up the sun.
The pools were a great place to do that, our favourite was the infinity pool. Though the resort was full, there was always a spot at one of the 3 pools, and it never seemed that crowded.
The beach wasn't great but as other reviewers mentioned the beach at the sister resort was nice, and the public beach to the left of the resort ( a 2 minute walk) was awesome.
We had a tour of the world class spa at the resort, it looked amazing. The gym was also the best I've ever seen at an all inclusive resort. It also offered a wide variety of classes.
We also took the water taxi ($4) to Ixtapa island. We loved it there. The snorkeling at the coral reef was really great (I was completely shocked, comparable to snorkeling I have done on the Mayan side of Mexico) and the island itself was rustic and beautiful. I recommend taking the water taxi first thing in the morning at 9:30 to avoid the crowds. Food and beverages are served right on the beach for a nominal cost. The snorkeling gear can be rented for about $10. (negotiate at will) The hotel also offers a free kayaking and snorkeling excursion to Ixtapa island if you don't mind being on a tight schedule. Just book through the entertainment team.
It should be noted that the resort itself is about a 10 minute drive to Ixtapa, about 15 minutes to Zihuatanejo. $7 to get to Zihuatanejo by cab or take the bus for $1. My partner and I went to Zihuatanejo to buy some souveniers and then discovered that we could have bought the same stuff at the market right beside the hotel. Oh well, live and learn. We did get to see Zihuatanejo, it was quaint, beautiful, and it was nice to see all the fishermen selling on the beach.
We booked through Sunwing and had no major complaints, though having two full planes leave the airport at the same time made for about a 2 hour line up at departure.

Danny was a great Sunwing rep at the hotel, never pushy, great to help out, however he was not knowledgeable about the length of the archaelogical tour we took to the ruins. He promised us we'd be back by 12:30-1pm and we didn't return until 3;30. The tour was great, it was just too long and wasted an entire day. The tour included the very non archaelogical one hour stop in a Mexican village so the tour guide could try and get us to buy silver from his friends. Adorable Juan.
Sunwing was great. Resort was perfection. And the weather our week in Ixtapa was perfect as well, sunny and hot, we were told this is the norm for this area.
I would highly recomend the resort and Ixtapa.

Room Tip: All the rooms are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank HUGS154946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just returned to Ontario on Jan 28th, 2014. Travelled with my husband and another couple. The resort was impeccable. The rooms are spacious and modern with the biggest ocean view balcony I've seen at a resort. The infinity pool was beautiful, and the pool washrooms were always spotless and smelled of cinnamon air freshener. The food was good, with the oyster bar restaurant being our favourite, where we had surf and turf (filet mignon and large shrimp)...delicious. Could not ask for better service. The staff are all extremely friendly, and aim to please. Lounge chairs by the pool were plentiful. I must agree with LAOulette regarding the lack of entertainment. Definitely NOT a party place, although we did not make it to the disco..which was a bit out of the way. Our stay was completely enjoyable!

Room Tip: Not a bad room to be had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jessaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The resort was beautiful and extremely clean. Rooms were great, service good, food average. My biggest complaint was the lack of entertainment. The lobby bar had the same band play every night which got annoying. Our last night they did a dance competition which at least got the crowd involved. Need more entertainment to get people up and involved with activities both by the pool and the lobby bar. Could barely hear any music playing by the infinity pool. The show put on twice a week was boring and food worse than buffet. Overall for the price it was a 5, just need to tweak a bit with the food and entertainment. Perfect place if wanting quiet relaxing vacation, not so much if wanting to party.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loulette2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Travelled with Sunwing departure 11:15 am-delayed-stop into Peurta Vallarta to clear customs arrival to Azul Grand 10pm.Resort kept there buffet open to accomadate our late arrival.Room beautiful soo clean,great view of everything.Service A+.Food was good always lots of it be sure to try green juice at breakfast,presantation++.Drinks around the pool area were not the greatest banana daiquires tasted like crushed ice and milk worth the jump into the pool and see bartender there.Mostly Canadians and middle aged people.Travelled into Z not small.Resort itself perfect from our balcony able to watch the nightly shows at sister hotel.Not a typical Mexican resort very modern,clean,still only a year old.Defiately return.Each day not a cloud in the sky.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ramona V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at the Azul Grand Jan 20-27 and were on floor 20 of 24. We would have to agree with most of the reviews posted that this is a wonderful place. It is a new resort so there are a few kinks they are still working out but over all we really enjoyed our stay!!!
We have had better service only once and that was at a Sandals where we paid almost 3x as much for that trip.
As we said this is a new resort with modern architecture design. To me plain white walls and huge plain foyers every where you look is quiet boring but this place was beautiful in its own way. The marble tile, and floors everywhere enhanced the décor and made this place stand out in way that says money.
BEACH
Its not the best beach we've been to but not the worst either. If the beach is your thing and your not happy with this one just walk 5 minutes to the sister resort to enjoy theirs. Either way the warm Pacific water is great to swim in . Just be cautious of the strong pacific undertow. We usually swam on the small beach which is just to the left of the resort and it had a nice sandy bottom to walk on.
ROOMS
The rooms were beautiful and spacious. Every room faces the ocean so enjoying the sunsets are not a problem. They have a large walk in closet equipped with a safe and lots of shelving. Next you have your vanity area ,your toilet and your large shower area with lots of water pressure and plenty of hot water.
Next you have your large two person Jacuzzi tub which was nice!!! Next to that was either two queen beds or one king bed depending on your room. And finally you have a sitting area next to the entrance to the spacious balcony equipped with a lounge chair , two chairs and a table.
The rooms had air conditioning (your balcony door needed to be shut to have it work) a fridge that was stocked daily. ( a small note and a tip inside the fridge always ensured I had the amount of beer I needed LOL) The room also has a DVD player in it so you can bring your favourite movies with you.
Friends we met showed us their two room suite. Basically the same as ours but they had a larger balcony, more wasted space ( one side was a large sitting area and a huge entrance foyer) and a sauna. In my opinion its not worth the extra money to get that room for space you'd never use.
FOOD
Let me begin by saying we are so sick of people wining about food in these reviews. Your food review is totally subjective to your tastes alone which will differ from ours. We have NEVER been to a resort and came home hungry! If this type of mass produced food is not your style then please stay at home and eat your home cooked meals. This place provides excellent choices and quantities in a cost efficient manner. Really how many ways do people need their eggs, potatoes or meats prepared anyways?
We only ate at the buffet for dinner on our first night when they kept it open for our late arriving flight and was impressed with the food and service. Breakfast and Lunch was great as well and so was the snack bar near the infinity pool.
We went to every al a carte except the steak house(grill) so we cant comment on that one but the rest of them were very good.
You are only allowed to do 3 al a cartes per week;however , you can have one every day if you want to. After 3 pm you can go to the booking agent and see what they have available for that day. We never had a problem getting another booked.
POOLS
There are three pools with enough chairs for everybody. Unfortunately you do have to play the towel game if you want to sit around the infinity pool in a certain spot. Even if you choose not to reserve chairs you would still get seats. The family pool ( activity ) was busy with families but there was always chairs available. The adult only pool was not to busy early( mostly in the shade till about 11) but filled up later in the afternoon. This is where 3 of the 4 hot tubs are located. The infinity pool was always busy. This pool had the swim up bar in it and had one hot tub. The life guards kept a close eye on people fooling around the wall of the infinity pool and did not allow kids near it in case someone went over the wall.
The bar service around the pools was awesome! The waiters always made sure you had the refreshments you required .
DAY TRIPS
there are lots of trips you can plan through Danny (The BEST Sunwing Rep ever) or you can purchase your own at playa Linda or in Ixtapa.
We spent one afternoon over on Ixtapa Isle and had a great time. The snorkeling was amazing just a few feet off the shore. This will cost you I think 40 pesos for the water taxi and whatever you choose to spend while there . i.e. beer lunch etc.
We also went deep sea fishing which is good this time of year. Our boat had a great day and caught lots of fish. Others didn't catch anything so we got lucky bringing in 5 smaller fish , a 3.5 ft shark, a seagull LOL and a 10 ft sailfish.
If you want to shop it is only 10 minutes by local bus to Ixtapa and about 20min. to Zihuatanejo ( $1 per person each way) . Playa Linda is only a ten minute walk where they have a market as well and an crocodile/ iguana farm for your viewing enjoyment.
GYM
All I can say is Amazing!!! you would think you just walked into a Goodlife. Lots of equipment and classes if you wanted to do that ( i.e. spinning P90X etc). It opens at 6 am which was perfect for us early risers who could get their workout done and over with early and enjoy the sun later.
CONS
The only items that were slightly negative about this place was that this resort needs a lobby bar where you can enjoy a nice quiet drink with friends after 12 pm or before your dinner reservation. All bars close at 11 pm . Most nights we just ordered a bunch and closed the place down around 1-1:30 am. By midnight this place is a ghost town.
The second minor issue is that the sports bar ( only bar open at night) is WAY TO LOUD!!! with lousy acoustics. You cant enjoy a conversation inside and have to move out on the patio. I addressed this with a manager so maybe in the future that will change.
I think I've covered everything but if there is any questions you may have. Please don't hesitate to contact us and ask them. Contact us at steelly64@hotmail.com and put grand Azul in the subject line so we don't delete your question
P.S. thanks S&T , D&G meeting you guys and socializing for the week made our trip!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Shellysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here Jan 23-30, 2014. Fast check in and check out. Buffet food was good with breakfast being the best. We had dinners at the Italian, Asian and Oyster bar next door. All 3 were excellent. People who complain about the food should not go to all inclusive resorts. Just get a room and go out to restaurants which will cost you a lot if you like to have some nice drinks with dinner.
The gym was the best I have ever seen. The rooms are 5 star. The staff everywhere were the best. I have been to many all inclusive resorts for the past 20 years and this one ranks in the top of my list. The infinity pool area is spectacular! The taxi ride over to the island is well worth the 40 pesos. There is a crocodile farm which is free plus and big flea market area which is by the pier where you take the water taxi over to the island.

Room Tip: Do not take the 12th floor. You can see the ocean but not the pools and other areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank millerk59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Very nice resort but everything closes at 11 or 12 You can't eat after 11. I'm a picky eater and The buffet restaurant was very limited and offered no options. I didn't eat. Was very disappointed. The service is good but the hours suck. Would not come back because of the hours. No night time Entertainment. It has a gorgeous view but I can't give it a pass because of the limited food and hours. Not a place to vine if you want to stay up pass 11. Very disappointed

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
14  Thank Quackshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
2.7 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.8 mi away
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
3 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
3.5 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,664 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center

Address: Paseo Punta Ixtapa Lote 2, Zona Hotelera II, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Price Range: $173 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort with an eco-conscious environment, offers suites with spectacular views along with multiple dining options so you can pamper your palate throughout your stay. Relax in a tropical environment while enjoying captivating views of the Pacific Ocean. The details, the sophisticated architecture and the refined comfort of Azul Ixtapa Grand combine to make a resort like no other. The Resort is located in Ixtapa Zihuatanejo on the Pacific Coast of Mexico, southwest of Mexico City. Ixtapa is considered one of the “Jewels of the Mexican Riviera.” It is located 20 minutes from Zihuatanejo International Airport (Code: ZIH) and just minutes from the Marina. The Resort is close to shopping areas and golf courses in Ixtapa. The area has an average temperature of 86 degrees Fahrenheit throughout the year with about 255 sunny days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing