We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-star service, tasty food, shiny and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed six days at the Azul Grand after staying South near Ixtapa for the first 1/2 of our vacation. We had a great first impression of the big, shiny, Vegas-style hotel. The lobby was sparkling clean and filled with friendly staff who were happy to help. Our check in was very quick and the representative who helped us was one of the only negatives of our entire stay as she was very unfriendly and didn't crack even a smile. We received all the hotel information we needed and directed to the restaurant and activity representative right after check in. We were able to make restaurant reservations for our stay and get activity info. We booked a master suite (some have referred to this as a one-bed suite. It was huge and comfortable. There was a grand foyer with a small quarter bath, a living area, the bedroom had a large jacuzzi tub, a sauna and was spacious, in general. The terrace was double what a typical Mexico balcony is and had an incredible view of Playa Linda, Playa Quieta and Isla Ixtapa. The resort had three pools: adults-only, activites pool and an infinity pool. A swim-up bar was located inside a grotto area off the infinity pool. The infinity pool was my favorite for beauty but we often relocated to the adults-only in the early afternoon when Grand guests can order drinks at the bar (Azul Ixtapa) also. One thing I didn't like about the bar or drink service was that cocktail menus were not readily available. I saw a few servers with them in their pocket but I never actually got to look at one. That would've been nice to see. An even better beach than Linda, Playa Quieta, was located on the South side of the Grand. It is only accessible from the Grand on the street side but if you are a beach person, you must go! We are at Bambu and Sakura the first night and really enjoyed the food. Guests get to order four courses and all were equally delicious. They don't fill the restaurants up even 1/2 way but they do not allow many reservations either. It's kind of a weird thing that I've seen at many all inclusives but it's frustrating to hear "no" when there are plenty of open tables! We went to the lobby bar for a few drinks and enjoyed the music videos playing. Drinks were pretty weak and I often asked for double rum but don't think that happened. The lobby bar was great, very spacious and clean. There was an outdoor section, an indoor lounge section and a game section with board games, fusball and billiards. There was never a dull moment! We received turn down this evening which was a nice touch although it was not consistent every night of our stay. We ate at the buffet a few dinners and I thought the food was quite good! The selection was small but we didn't mind at all because it seemed the quality of each dish was much higher than than most AI's. There was always a fresh grill station with a different entree each night also. The dinner buffet didn't open until 6:30pm and didn't get busy until 7:30pm (late in my opinion!). We also dined at Flor de Agave which was by default since our first choice (Olivio and Vid) was closed and thankfully so! This is the only specialty restaurant with a balcony to watch the sunset. The food and service were fabulous! The steak was perfectly done and seafood fresh. We also dined at the Oyster Bar which was located along the boardwalk between the Azul properties. I was most excited about dining here under the stars and over the waves and was most disappointed with our food and service. The steak was so salty, it was inedible and the rest of the meal was just really bland. It was too bad. The breakfast buffet was my favorite, it was huge and there were tons of brunch options. Lunch at the buffet was good also. The snack bar by the pool had the same munchies every day, chips and dip, hot dogs, hamburgers, seafood ceviche and fries. We often grabbed a quick bite there. The gym at Azul is incredible and there are workout classes throughout the entire day as well as training. This was in addition to various activities like biking, kayaking and other ocean sports. This was such a bonus for an all inclusive. The spa treatments were additional, as expected, but the spa is something to be seen! There is a therapeutic pool that was one of the best I've seen. I recommend it! There were a few nightly shows but not every night and they are located at the Azul Ixtapa (not the Grand). Grand guests were welcome to join though. The only negative aspect of this hotel was it's distance from Ixtapa and Zihua. We were happy to stay on property since we had already spent a few days in Ixtapa prior to our stay at the Grand but we really would've missed out on those local experiences if we had stayed at the Grand the entire time. It really just depends on the type of stay you are seeking. Aside from our initial check-in, service was 5-star. Employees passing in the hallway always said "hello" and everyone was smiling, friendly and helpful. It really made a difference in the mood of our stay. We walked next door to Playa Quieta one day which we loved and also to Playa Linda and took the water taxi to Isla Grande. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to my friends and family! As far as other posters warning about timeshares, not one person even so much as mentioned a timeshare so not sure what that's about??

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SEGMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 974 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel will not disappoint. While the food could be slightly better, the facility, it's staff, the activities, etc are hands down.....outstanding! It's affordable now because its still new but once word gets out.....probably not so much. It's a gorgeous hotel. The rooms are huge and have a balcony that is open and the view will leave you breathless.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We just got back from the Azul Grand, we flew with Sunwing Travel, Jan 2 -9/2014, our flight, transfers were excellent as always, we have went to many all inclusives, sunwing is my favorite to fly with. We upgraded to a bedroom suite, jaquzzi tub, rain shower, & a sauna in our room plus a living room, 2 toilets, 2 TV's, huge balcony absolutey beautiful, the rooms & resort were very clean, the service was excellent, the swim up bartender was great the main bartender new what we were drinking right off the bat, Lobby bartenders were very good as well. As far as the food goes I have never seen a worse buffet, not a lot of selection & what was there was usually cold, we had all 3 al a cartes, all were okay but nothing to wonderful, over all we had a great time & would still probably go back to the same resort, we took the bus into Zihiatenejo walked around the melacon, watched the fishermen come in with there catch, we took a cab back, felt very safe & comfortable, we also walked over to the sister resort & down the beach to the pier, looked at the crocadiles in the reserve, took a water taxi to Ixtapa island, very nice as well, had a fabulous time, the weather & sunsets were spectacular, will most definitely go back to the resort but hope they do something else for food

Room Tip: for the price of the up graded room it was well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sananAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We did a last minute booking and it was a pleasant booking. The only draw back is the number of steps required to climb to get from your hotel room to the beach(84 steps minimum to be exact)This location is about 20 minutes away from the tourist town of Ixtapa and about 30 minutes to the small fishing village of Zihuatanejo. We felt very safe as we walked from this resort to the sister resort on the next beach over. We also walked about a kilometer down the common public beach and felt very safe as well with all the locals on the beach. The people are very nice they will ask if you want to sit down for food at the beach restaurants and if you refuse they will leave you alone. The hotel also offers a kayak and hobie sailing trip across to the island of Ixtapa and let you use the resort snorkel equipment with no charge. If you go make sure you ask to go to Coral Beach as the snorkeling there is very good and you will see several fish, and they do not always bring you there. The resort makes sure to not let you go out kayaking on your own, we felt that this was a good policy especially for families. We went with a couple that had never kayaked before and the guides quickly helped them out to get to the island and taught them well paddle the kayak well enough so that they could keep up with us on the way back. Ceasar the guest service concierge is very helpful and loveable. Our sunwing guide Daniel Horn was quite helpful and was willing to take his personal time out the help us and the other travellers. The ferry across to Ixtapa was only 40 pesos per person, but if you want a personalized ferry across just walk down the beach and look for an orange umbrella where they are selling para-sailing and ask for Ivan and he will take you across and pick you up at a predetermined time. We had a great time and highly recommend the Xihuacan tour if you like archaeology you will meet some amazing people and see some amazing history. Food was good. The beach is small but its a 2 minute walk to 2 other beaches and a 10 minute walk to another beach, plus the 4 beaches on the island of Ixtapa ... you won't miss the beach at the resort. Bring some water shoes if you don't like to step on rocks when swimming as the beaches tend to have some stones in some spots.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same with a jetted bathtub included, no upgrades and all face the wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tctrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at the Azul Grand just after Christmas. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the hotel did not disappoint. The local community members are very friendly and definitely want to make visitors feel welcome and safe. Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo are very close by and give you a great perspective of the Mexican culture. The resort food and service are the best I've experienced at an All-Inclusive Resort. Only bad experience was the theft of my wife's iPhone from the Lobby Bar on New Year's Eve. Known as "apple picking", this definitely has left a sour taste from our overall experience. Having said that, if you want new, clean, exceptional service, good food, no line ups at the bar and perfect weather, then visit Azul Ixtapa Grand!

Room Tip: All room are ocean front, can't beat that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JonnyK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We just returned from a great vacation we spent 7 days from the 26 Dec to Jan 2. This hotel is beautifull. The staff really try to please you. Many of them dont speak English but I think they understand, if they dont they go get another staff to interpet. The rooms are very spacious and everything works. When we first checked in (went very quick) we noticed a wet towel by the sink, no big deal we thougth so then we unpacked ran off to explore, the next morning all of our makeup, cosemedtic cases were soaking wet. we contacted the desk and immediately I mean immediately they were there, they showed us another room 2 floors down and asked if wanted to move, everything was unpacked hung up and if the problem was fixed we said we would stay. WE noticed at the end of week the wet was starting to happen again. WE were smarter and had moved everything any way. The pools were awesome, I liked the fact that they re-enforced the rules at the adult pool, as soon as small children came around they quietly came over and told them, I think that the infinity pool(best drinks at the swim up bar and the snack bar bar) should only have older teens too, there is plenty room for small children at the actvity pool. It was a disappointment for the buffet and the al a cartes the italian we never did get into, they kept telling us to come back the next day as the new week schdule was not out yet and then it was full; also you could only eat once at them. Thats a first for us we have been several resorts where you could book more than once. The buffet was never consistant in food temp or variety, the desserts were tasteless, and very limited. The food just didn't match the quality of the fauclity. We were discouraged to use the other sister resort as it was very busy, we booked at the grand so we could access both. We did check it out and thier mexican night seemed to be better. Also when we did go over and use the banos they were never clean and were very well used. I have to say the staff member( at the grand)( female) that took care of the bottom bathroom by the beach and infinty pool was outstanding!! very friendly and always smileing. Also a young man in the lobby bar very graious and helpfull. We were returning on a local bus to the resort from Zwhat and all seat s were full and he gave it to our daughter immediatly what a gentleman!! We flew with sunwing and I was surprised that thier service outdid westjet! We have flown with westjet last few times because they are very consistant and comfortable but this was too. They serve complimentary food and its edible. This resorts gym is the best I have seen anywhere there is no reason to gain weight(I did thou) we did the Kayak tour to island the bike trip the trx all great. I did not care for the entertainment, it was all recorded music and danceing all the time, We were very disappointed in the new years eve Gala we understood it was part of our package then they wanted to charge us they said Sunwing got better rate, but after seeing the other entertainment on festival night we opted to do something private in xtapa with several other resort guests and had great time! I still feel kinda ripped off about that but this resort overall is great. I have maintained I would never go back to the pacfic side after being on the Carribean side, but ixtapia and Zihuatanejo have changed my mind. This was a authentic feel to mexico no starbucks on every corner or fast food places(a few ) but not North Americanized at all. Something we only learned while there they do not want American money bring pecsos or Change canadian dollars., They wanted our passports to change american money at a Scotia bank in downtown Zihuat but you can get pecsos at any bank machine and evan some other hotels along the strip in ixtapa. Our hotel the grand wouldnt change American money either!! I felt safe here and there is plenty to do and see in Zihuat and Ixtapa and around the resort and the market at the marnina just 10 minute walk from the hotel. this hotel is a 4 and half star only because of the food once they get that all polished up and good chefs then it will be 5 star!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wanttohavefun35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here from the Dec 26 to Jan 2. Rooms are huge and very comfortable with great ocean views. Resort is very clean and staff very nice and helpful. Pools are awesome clean and service was top- notch. We will plan to come back as we enjoyed our stay. The only thing I can say that is negative is we didn't book longer to stay.

Stayed: December 2013
4  Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
2.7 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.8 mi away
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
3.5 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,508 reviews
2.7 mi away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#8 of 23 in Ixtapa
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center

Address: Paseo Punta Ixtapa Lote 2, Zona Hotelera II, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Price Range: $165 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort with an eco-conscious environment, offers suites with spectacular views along with multiple dining options so you can pamper your palate throughout your stay. Relax in a tropical environment while enjoying captivating views of the Pacific Ocean. The details, the sophisticated architecture and the refined comfort of Azul Ixtapa Grand combine to make a resort like no other. The Resort is located in Ixtapa Zihuatanejo on the Pacific Coast of Mexico, southwest of Mexico City. Ixtapa is considered one of the “Jewels of the Mexican Riviera.” It is located 20 minutes from Zihuatanejo International Airport (Code: ZIH) and just minutes from the Marina. The Resort is close to shopping areas and golf courses in Ixtapa. The area has an average temperature of 86 degrees Fahrenheit throughout the year with about 255 sunny days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing