We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive - but fun”
Review of Delfiniti

Delfiniti
Ranked #5 of 33 things to do in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive - but fun”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The dolphins appeared well cared for and we had a great time. The people answered ALL of the kids questions!

They did charge $8 per picture - no cameras allowed. And they wanted $79 for the video - too much for us!

One thing we did find very upsetting - they had a lion cub there on a chain for people to take pictures ($$) with, the lion was not happy to be there and it seemed very inhumane. Our kids (and us too!) were quite upset by that.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MinesingPeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    115
    53
    11
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing dolphins”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I was pleased to see they appeared well-treated and happy. The kids and my wife loved being in the water.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suburbadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First time and loved it!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My 12 and 9 year old boys did the full experience and didn't stop smiling and laughing the entire 45 minutes with the dolphins. My wife and I did the family experience with our 2 year old and was blown away on how amazing and gentle the dolphins were. Staff was great and you could tell they really love and took great care of the dolphins. BTW you might see a lion cub there. That was a surprise at a dolphin excursion. Highly recommend it

Helpful?
1 Thank ChadBaltimore_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a great opportunity!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have two animal-loving kids, & this was one of the most amazing things we've ever done. First of all, they had a REAL baby lion there, on loan from the zoo, to pet & sit for pictures with. Wow! Second, the dolphins are incredible: apparently well-loved & cared for, well-trained, & so, so cool. We've never done anything like this before--maybe the ones in the states allow for similar experiences--but we couldn't believe they let us swim with, pet, hug, kiss, feed, & even (if you're eight or above) surf on the backs of dolphins! The dolphins put on a show for us & the trainers answered all of our dolphin-related questions.

It was expensive: our family of four did the "family experience" for parents & kids under 8, & it cost around $300 (yikes), plus the price of pictures they took & sold us at the end. (They won't let you take your own pics, but they take tons & have them for sale for $8 apiece at the end.)

Our particular trainer was a bit grouchy, but everybody else seemed super friendly. The place was clean & well-run, & all in all, in spite of the shocking price, totally worth it for the experience & the memory.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CharityO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Mountain Club, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“smile from ear to ear”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've done this before and enjoyed it so much, I did it again. Both on valentines day. I'm a huge animal lover and would love having this job :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delfiniti also viewed

 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to Delfiniti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing