We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Ixtapa for flaming shrimp and banana desert.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quique's Place - CLOSED

Quique's Place
Cuisines: Seafood, Mexican, American
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Holland, Michigan
1 review
“Best place in Ixtapa for flaming shrimp and banana desert.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The service and food are excellent as well as the servers love to put on a show while making at your table their famous flaming shrimp and for desert, their flaming banana.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank svanderhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manaitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food and great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had the house shrimp. The show in making it is worth the trip to find it! Delicious. Well priced. Nice serving staff, although run off their feet the night we were there. The caesar salad was also delicious and so was the lobster bisque my husband ordered. This was my favourite meal in Ixtapa. I had different favourites in Zihua.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PennyV63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eveleth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Different name, still great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

After eating here a number of times in the past couple years since Lalo opened it up, we were wary of the change to Quique's. No worry, still great food and good service. Our party of six ordered a variety of entrees and it was all good. Young Eduardo spoke excellent English and did a nice job preparing the shrimp at the table. Other than poor restroom facilities in the adjoining hotel pool area, this is a great place to eat.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Now called Quique's Place. Still the best shrimp ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This place changed hands but much of the menu remains the same. The House Shrimp and the Coconut Shrimp are devine. We ate here three times on our two week trip. The staff is great and friendly. The food is fresh. The margaritas pack a punch (unless you go for the free one they offer. It is worth it to just pay for the regular to not get a watered down version). We love this place. It is next to the General's near the back of the town. Behind the big band stand and far behind Deborah's.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank turtletravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria MN USA
Level Contributor
293 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great Shrimp de Lalo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you are not worried about calories, try the Camarones (Shrimp) de Lalo. They will cook it table side and add the secret ingredients in front of you. If you like a rich creamy sauce, then it is worth the calories. The spinach salad was also very good. Many people love the salmon, but we did not try it. Service was very good both nights we were there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quique's Place also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing