We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good snorkeling” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ixtapa Island Escape

Ixtapa Island Escape
Ranked #9 of 30 things to do in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edmonton
Level Contributor
151 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good snorkeling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Was a good day, probably the calmest waters we found on our trip. Picked up and dropped back at hotel.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    23
    10
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We did take a tour from amstar tours in the lobby of las brisas hotel. The money was well worth it. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. He kept us comfortable at all times. The ride in the car to the marina was air conditioned, many taxis are not. There were plenty of people to make sure I did not fall in the water getting on the boat and off the boat. Once on the island ther were plenty of comfortable lawn chairs and palapas for shade. The water was beautiful and we swam and floated and read books. So relaxing. The tour provided lunch a drink, fresh fish prepared any way you like guacamole and chips rice andsquash. Delicious, fresh and good. Our guide would take us to the other side of the island for snorkeling and to see the deer, but we were happy just to float and relax. We also went to see the iguanas and alligators in their protected environment. Awesome trip. I highly recommend it. This is one of the top 2 tours, the other one is the sunset catamaran ride. Must do.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottsdaleSchnoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had Juan from Ixtapa Tours take us there. We didn't snorkel cuz the water was pretty rough and kinda murky. We did get some food and just drop it in the water and all the beautiful fishes swam around us. We did do the massages so worth it. We also ordered the seafood platter which feed like 6ppl for only 40pesos which is like $38. Highly recommend it. We also saw some great big crocs!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mona35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ixtapa Island”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a fun trip on a 15 minute boat ride to the island. Eateries are situated all along the beach. Take any of them because they're all good. Water sports of all kinds on the one side and snorkeling on the other (a very short walk over the hill). Do not take a tour! It's way too expensive. Arrange your own transportation for a very fun and reasonably-priced day.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank amagnuson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tujunga, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very nice island with 3 beaches to visit,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

i liked the island, it was very nice, snorkling was good, kayak was good, even though the ocean was wav, the only thing about this tour was the service, we didn{t like. the food was yummy, but the service wasn´t good enough

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nvard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ixtapa Island Escape also viewed

 

Been to Ixtapa Island Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing