We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Would love to be back there today!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Royal Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Royal Ixtapa
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Would love to be back there today!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stayed at the Park Royal from March 5th to the 12th, it was a wonderful place to stay! We were on the 21st floor with a spectacular view of the ocean. The entire staff from the waiters, maids, bartendars, front desk to the entertainment team were awesome! I can't say enough good about it. We never had a problem getting a chair by the pool OR down on the beach. The chill-out lounge is a fun place to go and dance. The AI food was great! The only thing we didn't not like about the restaraunts was that we had a group of 10 people and they did NOT want to let us all sit together. They would make exceptions now and then but they did NOT want to. There is a snackbar grill out by the pool that has great hamburgers but no french fries. Try the El Pescador Restaraunt and have the catch of the day. Buffet is great espcially for breakfast. The Park Royal is also within walking distance to alot of great restaraunts (if you want a meal out) and shopping. There are great high end shops and also a local market for shopping. If you are looking for night life like Cancun has, this is not the place. It is more laid back and not as modernized/commercialized as Cancun. We recommend Eloy if you want to take a tour or go fishing, he is located in the lobby and is very very helpful. We have been to Ixtapa 3 times, last time we stayed next door at the Tessoro which was a disappointment. We would recommend this hotel AND we will definitely go back here, hopefully to stay longer then a week.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mndisneyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 15, 2015
Dear mndisneyf...:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    266
    120
    69
    42
See reviews for
228
207
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

We stayed at the Park Royal from March 26-April 4th, and would go back tomorrow, if we could! This was our 3rd trip to Ixtapa, last year we stayed at the Dorado, and enjoyed that, but couldn't pass up a deal at the Park Royal, even though I was pretty apprenhensive, prior to our trip, about doing an AI in Ixtapa. Upon arrival, we were greeted with the drink of our choice, and then after a quick check-in, escorted to our room. Unfortunately, we were given only one of a few rooms that did not have a balcony, so we went back downstairs, and were assured we could move the next morning, and to check back in around 9. Upon doing so, we were immediately given a new room, and were told we could move, ASAP. Orlando, a bellman, came to retrieve our luggage, and take us to our new room, 2110. Orlando was GREAT..not only did he chat with us, but when we made it to our new room, he made sure our luggage was exactly where we wanted it and then he went thru everything, making sure it all worked...tv, hairdryer, shower, etc. He left nothing to chance. From that point on, he was friendly, remembered our names, and chatted with us as we would walk thru the lobby. We wanted to exchange emails, etc with him, before we left, but missed him, and feel awful.

The rooms were clean, nothing too fancy, but completely acceptable for our stay. We couldn't hear our neighbors, the floors were clean, and our maid was great. We tiipped her a bit, everyday, and it was always fun to see what kind of towel creation would be awating us, after a day at the pool!

The food in the restaurants-AMAZING. Really..the best AI food I have ever had! As others have said..lunch is for sure the best, but there were amazing breakfasts, as well. We ate dinner there once or twice, but usually like to take the short walk to the numerous restaurants, in town.

The pool and beach were great. There were not a lot of people there to begin with, but even on the weekend- finding a chair was never a problem, unlike a lot of other places we have been. The bars were great, and Jesus and the others made sure we always had what we wanted.

We did go to the 'Chill-out' bar a couple of nights, and no matter how hard I tried, I just couldn't get my 60something mother to lounge on one of the beds-it was just a little too strange for her! haha. But, what a cool atmosphere. It would be a great place for a reception, or something like that.

We did do Ixtapa Island, this time, and what a great day. We took the bus to Playa Linda, hopped on a water taxi, and spent the day in front of Lili Caprianis. After a bucket of cold cervesas, we did a little shopping with the vendors, and had a great massage from Isidro's massage business. 25 dollars for an hour, and it was great!

I highly suggest the Park Royal and Ixtapa in general. The people are amazing, from the employees of the hotels, to the restaurant employees. We even found a Washington State Cougar banner in one of the restaurants-you know they have to be good people then! :)

If you have any specific questions, please feel free to ask and if you get to the PR, be sure to say hi to Orlando for us...he will definitely make you feel welcome!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SunNFun07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 15, 2015
Dear SunNFun07:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakebillychinook
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

We went to Park Royal on a timeshare exchange. We had a very difficult time when we arrived to check in and pay for the all-inclusive part of our package. Our credit card company would not let the charge go through and they posted a fraud alert on our credit card. The staff at the front desk offered no help with this situation. They told us we needed to call our bank and then they sent us out on the street to a pay phone to make the phone call. It took us a couple of hours to get everything straightened out. Needless to say, it was a very difficult beginning. While I appreciate the credit card company attempting to avoid a fraudulant charge, I'm sure the hotel staff could have been much more helpful. So, let me remind everyone - call your credit card company before you leave the country to let them know your schedule.
The hotel was nice and the room was big. We had a corner suite with 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms and 2 balconies. The view of the beach and the pool was great. The sunsets were spectacular.
This was our first time at an all-inclusive resort. We don't think it was a good value for us. We didn't really like the breakfast restaurant, which was also the dinner restaurant and we didn't care much for the Italian restaurant. We had some issues with the food. However, we did like the lunch restaurant. The fresh fish was great and the restaurant is located right out by the pool and the beach.
The pool was very nice and there were plenty of lounge chairs by the pool and on the beach under the palapas. The drinks were watered down, but they tasted pretty good and the bar staff was accomodating. The chill out lounge was a nice, relaxing place to hang out in the evening.
Ixtapa island is a great place to spend the day. There is snorkeling and swimming and lunch is included if you go on a tour.
We were told about the free internet service on the 4th day of our trip and we were able to use it.
I believe some of the issues that we had were because it was our first trip to Ixtapa and we were unfamiliar with how it all worked. There were some things about Ixtapa and Zihua that we really liked, but I don't think we would do the all-inclusive at Park Royal again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lakebillychinook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 15, 2015
Dear lakebilly...:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

I came here on an RCI trade. I had read the reviews before I left and everyone was right on. The staff is impecable.
When we arrived at the airport there was a Park Royal sign & RCI. I was so happy to see it. Our name was on the list. We did have to pay for the taxi but the RCI center there gave us the taxi fare in cash for the return trip.
When we checked in our room was not high enough for my liking. they assisned us a rep for the week. He got us a room on a higher floor the next day. We had a lovely corner unit on the 17th floor. The unit had 2 seaparate bathrooms. Both had balconies-great for watching the sun set over the ocean.
I usually don't choose AI resorts but said OK on this one because I wanted to go back to Ixtapa. Would I come here again-probably not through an RCI exchange. We met some people from Chicago who had gotten their airfare-the all inclusive and the airport shuttle for what I paid for the all inclusive-Through Apple Tours. I had never heard of them.
Any time we needed anything they were right up to fix it.
The Italian Restaurant was great-It was nice to choose from the menue instead of a buffet. The fish restaurant also cooked fresh fish & kabobs etc to order.
I didn't think the liquor was of high enough quality and I didn't like the idea that I couldn't take a wine glass & half a caraf of wine to my room to enjoy there.
I missed not going to local restaurants for my meals,but at 75$ per person per day that wasn't going to happen.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeniciaChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 15, 2015
Dear BeniciaCh:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

The Park Royal is in a great location - it's an easy walk to Ixtapa shopping, dining and the marina. Hotel is a solid 3 star. Nothing overly luxurious, but rooms are large, very clean, and we had a fabulous view of the ocean. The pool is very large with a swim up bar - water is very warm. The beach is great for walking and again, the ocean is very warm. Food was o.k. - breakfast and lunch were great, dinner in the Italian restaurant good. We ate a few dinners away from the property - Reuben's hamburgers (great place), a pizza/pasta place also in Ixtapa, and our last night's dinner we went to the marina. Not a hotel/property for young families. The sun and heat are formidable and there is little for young children to do. Also, not the place for young adults who like the "club" destinations - there is no "Coco Bongo" or "Daddy Rock" similar to Cancun. The staff at this hotel are exceptional and will do all they can to make sure you have a great stay. If you like reading by the pool, walking the beach, and stolling the small markets of Ixtapa, this is the place. If you are looking for options of tours, clubs, etc., this is not the place. We had a relaxing stay with perfect weather, great staff, and would return again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToogyOntario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 16, 2015
Dear ToogyOnta...:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st paul,mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

outstanding friendly hotel with great service all vacation long. hotel pool was nice. food overall was very good(breakfest was fav) maid service was great(always clean sheets and plenty of towels and bottled water) $2 to $3 dollars a day tip goes a long way with the maid service and the bar keepers in general. the only thing missing was lack of nightly entertainment but wouldn't stop us from going back tomorrow. outstanding place. can't beat the weather although we saw our first cloud in three trips to ixtapa. recommend highly...... also $20 per hour messages on the beach ask for EDITH

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 16, 2015
Dear gbehr:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

The Park Royal Ixtapa was the perfect all-inclusive hotel. They have an army of staff who work all day and night to keep the place clean. It is right on the beach with plenty of sun and shade spots facing the beautiful view where you can lounge all day if you want. The hotel itself has all the necessities and amenities that could satisfy any vacationer, including good restaurants, a wide variety of tasty food options buffet style, multiple bars, a large pool, and beach access. The rooms are standard and comfortable enough, but the view from the upper floors is spectacular. I went with my husband and parents, and we had a great time together. The weather in Feb. was high 80's and sunny every day, and it is the only hotel/location I have ever said I would like to come back to and there was nothing I would change or improve. It's more beautiful then the pictures, and exceeded our expectations in every way.
We did not do much exploring off the resort property, so I'm not sure how much there is to do in Ixtapa itself if you are looking to explore.
*Note* Don't buy the airport transportation voucher that some packages offer. It can be $50 per person, when the taxi is less then $15 each way. The trip takes 15-20 minutes and is easy enough.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLChicagoStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 16, 2015
Dear LLChicago...:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.1 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#11 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#21 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Royal Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Ixtapa

Property: Park Royal Ixtapa
Address: Blvd. Ixtapa Lote No. 5-A | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Radisson Resort)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all inclusive vacation packages and specials that will allow you to do more on your visit to the beautiful Park Royal Ixtapa in Mexico. Seasonal specials and vacations are offered throughout the year, so come back often to see what’s new.Our all-inclusive program lets you enjoy yourself even more by keeping it simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Park Royal Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Park Royal Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Park Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing