We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice Facilities - Food only SoSo”
Review of Park Royal Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Royal Ixtapa
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Pleasanton, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Facilities - Food only SoSo”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I am a timeshare owner and have stayed in many Mexico all-inclusive hotels - In comparison, the Park Royal - Ixtapa facility with ideal with for (a couple) and the room was great! We had a view from the 20th floor of the beach and were 100% satisfied with our room.

I have to say the staff were fantastic - everyone was upbeat and very helpful ALL the time - from the restaurant to the pool to the lobby we could not have asked for a nicer group of people.

The gym is in desperate need of attention - equipment is barely functional.

We were warned to be wary of Zihua by fellow travelers and by staff- evidently this once-sleepy fishing village has drawn the attention of some not so friendly gangster types. We were repeatedly told not to stay in Zihua after dark and NOT to take a bus home in the dark - only take a taxi. What a shame!

During our visit we took a private tour from Pablo - a local taxi driver. Pablo was fantastic and provided lots of information about the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald C, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Susan P:

Thanks for sharing your experience at Park Royal Ixtapa. For us is very important the opinion of our visitors and we will consider your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    382
    173
    92
    55
See reviews for
373
286
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Staff was excellent. Grounds very clean. Pool is only 31/2 to 4 ft. Hardly any shade around pool area. Rooms definitely need upgrading but were clean. Beds hard. Restaurant could have better selection of food and at times some food was cold. Loud music especially the Chill Out Lounge who played loud music until 2AM every night. Could not get a good night sleep. The activity staff hardly announced what they were doing in English so at times we were at a lost of what they were doing. Watch out for Royal Holiday sales people as they are everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, August 26, 2015
Dear Becky W:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this resort. The level of service and hospitality from the employees was excellent. The Veranda Restaurant opened for lunch only and was the best meal of the day, especially the fish fried in butter and garlic! The night club they have on-site was awesome. The main room was covered but with ocean breeze, large bed/chaise lounges, bar, good music. It then has an a/c area with couches and big screen and downstairs area with pool table, lounges and big screen! You do not have to leave the resort at all!!
Now a few of the reasons for my lower overall rating.... No place to cool off, the swimming pool was ALWAYS the temperature of a jacuzzi and unfortunately because of the location the beach/waves were too rough to enjoy. The black flag was up the whole time! You just got pounded!!
Also the area around the pool is soooo slippery, 3 from my family alone fell and one man fell, hit his head, had a two inch gash bleeding. All they would say is we should be wearing our shoes!! They have someone mopping up the water continously which does nothing. I told them they need to put an outside carpet there.
And last, the rooms are ok, but definitely need remodeling, especially the bathrooms.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lorraineaguilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, August 26, 2015
Dear Lorrainea:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have been owners since 1996...........It used to be "the place" to stay. We cannot recommend this place anymore! There have been some improvements in the last couple of years, but it seems the improvements have come too a stop! The mold smell is just horrible, down the halls and in our room. The food is horrible, and we love Mexican food. We do not like the "all inclusive" idea, the food just didn't seem as fresh for each meal. We couldn't even get water from anyone since we were not "all inclusive!" No coffee pots, no refrigerator in room. We had our family staying at another timeshare in Ixtapa, the staff at the Park Royal wouldn't allow them up in our room! They had to wait for us downstairs in the lobby. Bedding didn't feel clean, sheets are very very scratchy! Bugs in our room crawling everywhere. Floating things in pool! We had to have the sofa and chairs cleaned immediately the first night we arrived! Towels in poor condition. What else is there to say? Such a disappointment to stay here any more, makes us sad.

Room Tip: The "show rooms" are very misleading, they are different than the actual room you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, August 26, 2015
Dear Jan B:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ixtapa hotels

South Haven, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Beware of Manny at the airport telling you to stop in and visit Park Royal. No Time Share pressure sales, free Taxi ride to and from airport, free tours, meal etc., blah, blah. All of it is a scam. If you want to go to Park Royal in Ixtapa and stay, do so on your own. The Hotel should not let people like Manny work for them, he gives them a bad reputation.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Kqrs9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, August 26, 2015
Dear Kqrs9876:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a week here. The weekends are crazy with locals and lots of kids. I would say the mix is 90 percent locals, the rest from USA and other countries. Yes they play Mexican music because they are catering to their clientele. No complaints here though, hey you are in Mexico. The room are very clean. We had a corner room and we liked it. The bed are ROCK hard. We asked for mattress toppers and they brought some foam toppers that were short and did not cover the bed. We had double beds in our room so my husband and I slept apart, not what we like. We had no problem with the AC and we had safes in our room. We had no problem with noise that others complained anout.There is wifi in the lobby and there is a pleasant breeze way area to sit and have a drink and use your computer or phone. The pool was warm without any depth and there was this black mold crud on the tile walls that grossed me out. The drinks were good and the bartender would make you whatever you wanted, They had Modelo on tap. They beach is beautiful but be careful, I got slammed in the waves and lost my glasses. I loved having a massage on the beach at 10 in the morning and emerging when the Moby Dick Bar opened. I heard they were cheaper if you walked down the beach but I liked the massage therapist. We went fishing and caught fish. We walked to the movie theater and Señor Froggys at night. No problem, we felt very safe. The food was pretty good especially Pescadors down by the beach, loved it for lunch. The fancy Italian was hit and miss. My hubby had the steak and it was awful but we heard others rave about it. We loved the antipasto bar and their soups. Be careful in the hotel, many step downs and uneven floor, concrete edges, definitely not ADA accessible. Yes I know we are in Mexico. They set up a room for the Super Bowl and a waitress came and took your order. It would have been cool to have some food too but nada. Watch out for the taxi drivers. They will try to overcharge you. Ask at the hotel and they will tell you the cost and then refuse to pay more. Watch out for the time share people, they are sharks. You have five business days to cancel if you sign and have second thought. I loved Ixtapa but would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank juliebug52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Dear Juliebug5;

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed March 10th -17th.The staff was great, the bartenders were great,so was the entertainment crew.The food was average kinda the same everyday. Omelettes were great. The place was empty until Friday and then the locals arrived. They were nice but it got a little crowded.Our room was on the 23rd floor and had a wonderful view,But trying to sleep two adults on a double bed is not easy.And they were hard.The rooms need upgrading and need a safe in the room.The wifi worked good in the lobby.The weather was great so we might try another resort next time We go to Ixtapa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LYNN E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Dear mississip...

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,751 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#8 of 22 in Ixtapa
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Royal Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Ixtapa

Property: Park Royal Ixtapa
Address: Blvd. Ixtapa Lote No. 5-A | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Radisson Resort)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all inclusive vacation packages and specials that will allow you to do more on your visit to the beautiful Park Royal Ixtapa in Mexico. Seasonal specials and vacations are offered throughout the year, so come back often to see what’s new.Our all-inclusive program lets you enjoy yourself even more by keeping it simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Royal Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Park Royal Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Park Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing