We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic get away”
Review of Park Royal Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Royal Ixtapa
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Royal Villas are located on the property of the Barcelo Hotel. Beautiful property right on the beach front. The villas were air conditioned, hot running shower and a nice view of the Pacific Ocean. Our villa was facing the mountain side but had a balcony facing the ocean.

This was our honeymoon get away yet had the 2 full size bed.

Downside: beds were bit stiff, tv was in ok shape, and we did not have all inclusive.

Barcelo had 2 restaurants, a club and three pools,

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lencho_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2015

Dear lencho_79:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 991 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2008

We stayed at the Park Royal Ixtapa through a family member who has membership with the Royal Holiday. We had never done a "resort" type vacation before and it was actually really fun. They had as many activities as you wanted. They had a casino with fake money which was fun for the kids. We had a great time. Everything was clean. The people were so accommodating. Great if you have kids, young or older. One of our best vacations. Would love to go back. One warning...arrange transfer (taxi) before you get there or other hotels (time shares) will try to trick you into an expensive taxi and timely presentation.

We went in early April. It was quite hot and more humid than I expected but there was a great ocean breeze everyday, lots of shade umbrellas and air conditioning in our room. We had a presidential suite which was beautiful. I heard it was recently remodeled so it was all fairly new and very clean. The view from the balcony was awesome. We brought our child and a friend. They had their own room and balcony and they loved everything about the Park Royal, especially the free flowing lemon slushy drinks. The house keepers left adorable towel animals on their beds everyday which they loved too.

Staff was super friendly and wanted you to be happy. We arrived on a Friday and it was quite crowded. They celebrate every weekend in Mexico like it is a holiday so they had a live band and music went quite late, but it was still fun. If you want really quiet relaxation maybe arrive Monday or Tuesday so you are ready to party by Friday. They are a social, lively people. Some people don't find Mexico restful but you rest more during the day and it cools down at night and you go for dinner and dance, etc.

We expected to be surrounded by Americans but I guess they built a highway so well off locals show up on the weekends. We were some of the only Americans so we were stared at quite a bit but it was okay, didn't bother us. There were a lot of extended families that were vacationing together (grandparents, aunts, uncles, small children).

We did the Delfiniti experience (dolphin swim) which was a few dollars but so worth it. The only complaints we had is the food was a bit rich and exotic for the kids so they ate at the hamburger place. I ate fish everyday at the lunch place and we went to the Italian restaurant a bunch so it worked out as well.

One WARNING, Beware of the TIME SHARE people from other hotels at the airport. They fooled us into an expensive taxi ride and never gave us our money back. If you know what's up, a simple no thank you will get them off your back but we didn't want to be rude and pushy people use that. Besides that, we loved Ixtapa/Zihuatanejo. Would go back for sure. It was just beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TreeofThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2015

Dear TreeofThr...:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

I would give this hotel a 2 close to 3 stars.
The bathroom/shower horrible, shower made for kids under 10. The tub was raised and 1/2 the size of a normal tub. Looked dirty the entire time, just a public looking bathroom. Request to verify why we didn't have full cable service, no one ever got back with us. The beds were on concrete raised that would tilt if you sat on the edge of it. No coffee pot. I understand it is an all inclusive, but I like to sip coffee in my room. Ice makers only on the 15th floor. One of our rooms wasn't cooling off and no one ever tried to fix it. So we kept the door from the other room open and blasting in order to keep the other room cool. The pool only 3' high the entire area, it does not get deeper than that. We either had to spend our time in other beaches or in the pool because the Black flag at our beach was up the entire time. The staff, was awesome. Very nice people. The manager was only there to gripe at everyone but had no solutions for ac/cable/fungus issues. Sad because they could have a very successful hotel, under different management.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodelgrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2015

Dear rodelgran...:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Just back from Ixtapa. Park Royal Hotel is just ok. Our room was high enough and in the hotel wing closest to the beach and views. That's the one you want. We were on floor 15. You don't want lower floors. Views are obstructed. Could hear the music from the bar/disco. Didn't bother me. The food was ok. Breakfast was good and lunch was good. Try to eat indoors. It is air conditioned and outside it is hot and muggy. Also the birds and some flies will attack your food if you leave it unattended. Had to sit through the timeshare presentation. Very annoying, had to say "NO" only 20 times. The room had tiny little insects in bathroom area. I guess they live there year around. Housekeeping was good. There is what they call a "gym". It is not even close. Pool is good but cool only in the mornings and evenings. Not cold at all in between. Only 3ft deep. Bare feet get irritated from constantly touching the bottom. Beverages were great and cold. Family locale. Lots of kids. Area is great place to visit. Would I stay there again? Maybe. Questions? Write me.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank El_Macho_Prieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2015

Dear el_macho...:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Wonderful accommodations. Very clean. Helpful and friendly staff. Great buffets. Nice pool area and beach area. The only thing we didn't care for were the Royal Vacation sales people waiting at the elevators every time we came downstairs. Be firm and let them know you are not interested, not to bother you again and they will leave you alone.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lacope68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2015

Dear lacope68:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

Just returned from the Park Royal. Enjoyed the stay and very relaxing. The breakfast and lunches were excellent. Dinner was average to bad and pretty much the same every night. I am sure it is tough to cook for so many. Buffet style food and was edible for dinner but not great. The service was excellent all around. The facility was clean and above average. Overall a very relaxing place but had to avoid the sales pitch for timeshare. Also if you want a chair you had better get up early and put your towel out or you will be in the sun all day. Had two incidents where I was standing in line waiting for food and drinks and when a national came up, they were served first even though I was standing there. Not really a problem because it gave me a chance to see the other side of discrimination.

I would stay at the Park Royal again because we met so many nice people from all over the world. But would look at other places as well.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank michaeljohnston117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2015

Dear michaeljo...:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

This might be OK if you're looking for a mid-grade - cheap place to stay. If you're looking for a nice place, then look elsewhere.

Look:
* Overpainted, old, tired looking

Food:
* Salsa bar was horrible, no guacamole, cheap pizzas, hotdogs

Room:
* No refrigerator
* No safe
* No mini-bar

Internet costs $3.85//30 mins and only works near the biz center.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank OdellQuigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2015

Dear OdellQuig...:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#15 of 23 in Ixtapa
956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#11 of 23 in Ixtapa
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#5 of 23 in Ixtapa
3,051 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Royal Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Ixtapa

Address: Blvd. Ixtapa Lote No. 5-A | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Radisson Resort)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: $146 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all inclusive vacation packages and specials that will allow you to do more on your visit to the beautiful Park Royal Ixtapa in Mexico. Seasonal specials and vacations are offered throughout the year, so come back often to see what’s new.Our all-inclusive program lets you enjoy yourself even more by keeping it simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Royal Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Park Royal Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Park Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing