We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Beautiful Weather”
Review of Park Royal Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Royal Ixtapa
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Kennewick, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
“Great Location and Beautiful Weather”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a week here. The weekends are crazy with locals and lots of kids. I would say the mix is 90 percent locals, the rest from USA and other countries. Yes they play Mexican music because they are catering to their clientele. No complaints here though, hey you are in Mexico. The room are very clean. We had a corner room and we liked it. The bed are ROCK hard. We asked for mattress toppers and they brought some foam toppers that were short and did not cover the bed. We had double beds in our room so my husband and I slept apart, not what we like. We had no problem with the AC and we had safes in our room. We had no problem with noise that others complained anout.There is wifi in the lobby and there is a pleasant breeze way area to sit and have a drink and use your computer or phone. The pool was warm without any depth and there was this black mold crud on the tile walls that grossed me out. The drinks were good and the bartender would make you whatever you wanted, They had Modelo on tap. They beach is beautiful but be careful, I got slammed in the waves and lost my glasses. I loved having a massage on the beach at 10 in the morning and emerging when the Moby Dick Bar opened. I heard they were cheaper if you walked down the beach but I liked the massage therapist. We went fishing and caught fish. We walked to the movie theater and Señor Froggys at night. No problem, we felt very safe. The food was pretty good especially Pescadors down by the beach, loved it for lunch. The fancy Italian was hit and miss. My hubby had the steak and it was awful but we heard others rave about it. We loved the antipasto bar and their soups. Be careful in the hotel, many step downs and uneven floor, concrete edges, definitely not ADA accessible. Yes I know we are in Mexico. They set up a room for the Super Bowl and a waitress came and took your order. It would have been cool to have some food too but nada. Watch out for the taxi drivers. They will try to overcharge you. Ask at the hotel and they will tell you the cost and then refuse to pay more. Watch out for the time share people, they are sharks. You have five business days to cancel if you sign and have second thought. I loved Ixtapa but would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank juliebug52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Dear Juliebug5;

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    377
    170
    91
    55
See reviews for
363
285
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winona, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed March 10th -17th.The staff was great, the bartenders were great,so was the entertainment crew.The food was average kinda the same everyday. Omelettes were great. The place was empty until Friday and then the locals arrived. They were nice but it got a little crowded.Our room was on the 23rd floor and had a wonderful view,But trying to sleep two adults on a double bed is not easy.And they were hard.The rooms need upgrading and need a safe in the room.The wifi worked good in the lobby.The weather was great so we might try another resort next time We go to Ixtapa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LYNN E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Dear mississip...

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This 'all inclusive' resort is on the big beach in Ixtapa, that is still as beautiful as ever. One upside to this property is that all rooms have an ocean view. HOWEVER, the rooms are old, shabby and in disrepair. They need a SIGNIFICANT RENOVATION of this property. The only renovated floors go to people who sign up for Royal Holiday's 'owner packages' (more on that below). The noise from the lobby band and disco go well into the night so if you are looking for sleep, this is not the place to get a restful night's sleep.

The staff is very friendly in the restaurants and work hard but the food, while plentiful, is average at breakfast and dinner. The lunch served at the Pescador is very good. The pool area is fine but they blare loud music and run activities constantly throughout the day making the beach a better place to relax.

The other thing that makes this lodging experience less than wonderful is that you have the Royal Holiday sales people swarming all over the Mexican guests in particular to sell them time share packages. They are like vultures and as they lurk right near the elevator and entrance to the breakfast buffet. It appears that the Park Royal management have chosen to focus on the Mexican middle class market, as they provide inexpensive packages on the weekends that make the resort very crowded and loud.

Ixtapa is lovely, a bit sad versus its hay day but still very nice and the weather is terrific. I would consider returning but not to the Park Royal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Dear Alice W:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ixtapa hotels

London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was our fourth trip to this property. Ixtapa is famous for perfect weather, and this was true again! The staff at the hotel are, without question, the best! No request is too difficult for them. The property is beyond clean, from the pool to the public washrooms, to the guest rooms..immaculate!

Now, for the cons....this place needs a huge refurbish. The pool is in bad shape with rust and tiles missing. The furniture in the rooms, excluding the owner's floors, is beyond tired. The bathrooms are extremely outdated. The music around the pool is blaring all day long. The band in the lobby bar is the same group from four years ago, and we know their repertoire better than they do. The food is good, however, the Italian restaurant has an appropriate dress code which was enforced when my husband arrived with leather sandals and was asked to put on closed shoes. No problem. The next day, eight young ladies were allowed to dine in flip flops and shorts which were so short that the pockets were the longest point on them. They had clearly had a few drinks and proceeded to be so loud in the dining room that we left mid meal. On the weekends, Park Royal offers the equivalent of day passes to families. Sadly, the pool area and restaurants cannot handle the huge influx. We couldn't use the pool....too many kids, and many adults who choose to swim in their street clothes. Elderly women entered the pool in blouses and Capri pants. Not very hygienic. All of these issues were brought to the attention of management, but were brushed off. We can only assume that money coming into the property is the motivation, so it was easy to look the other way.

We would love to return to,Park Royal, but until many issues are addressed, we will be staying elsewhere. Good luck, Park Royal, and let the world know when things improve. We will miss you...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ToogyOntario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Dear ToogyOnta...

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Went to Park Royal in Ixtapia from Feb. 18 through the 25 2013. Staff were friendly,helpful. The drinks were great in the lobby bar by the pool they could use some work They didn't use coconut rum in the piña coladas. But the lobby bar did. . Our room was nice,clean....ocean view. My friend thought her bed was hard but I liked mine. She was able to get a mattress topper from the maid.. Food on buffet was typical. The evening buffet seemed better. They also had food till after midnight. Just sandwiches,soup & a dessert...but hey it was after midnight. The tuna sandwiches were very good. No high pressure sales there. They were doing some kind of thing but we said we weren't interested and they were ok with that. One day there was some nasty gunk in the pool but it was some piggy guest/s not the fault of the workers or the hotel.they could have improved on their entertainment. They had the same band every night. But the easy fix was we just went downtown. Speaking of which...if you go downtown,go to Alex's bar. Beers are a $1.50 & also go to Lalos Reasraunt they have a house filet or fish on the menu for $15.00 and it is well worth it. You won't be disappointed. Plus I think beers were a buck! The general public is very,very nice. We were two women traveling alone and felt very safe. Good luck & have fun!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Proroofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Dear Proroofer:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had 9 in our group, and this was the first time I stayed in Ixtapa. Let me first say that we found the area beautiful. Now for the resort, This resort needs an updatet. When we first arrived, we were late arriving at the hotel, and the busdriver let us out on the street, so we had to drag our luggage in ourselves, Not a huge deal, but, would have been nice to at least been offered a cool towel or even a glass of water. Our room was on the 17th floor and it smelled very musty and the bed was as hard as a board.Our air conditioner did not work properly and our patio door would not close properly and would not lock. But being on the 17th floor I was not overly concerned about that. After saying this I would also add that the room was spotless and so were the linens and towels. Take your own lotions and soaps because they were very sparce.There was only 1 al a carte restaurant, and two small buffets. The food was good but not much variety. Not even a toaster, So you must order toast or bacon. No one told us that , so it was 3 days before we found that out.Staff is very pleasant, but to me did not go out of there way. Our poor waitress seemed to be overwhelmed and over worked, I sometimes felt bad asking for more coffee, so I didn't bother to ask. The resort itself is very clean and the staff was on top of any mess that might be there.they were constantly cleaning the pool area.The music was very loud all the time, even in the pool area, it was constantly booming, and after dark the lobby was filled with very loud music.It was difficult to just sit and chat, as you were always saying" WHAT did you say" Too Too loud. The resort was filled with locals and their families, They were very polite and so were the children. As the weekend progressed, we found more and more locals and thier kids were using the resort, and the pool showed it. The last 2 days we would not use the pool as it became very murky and yucky.I think their was a lot of peeing in the pool with the little ones. I will go back to Ixtapa but not to this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joannemsbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Dear joannemsb...

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We loved our week at Park Royal. For mostly buffet dining - the food was amazing! I wanted to try everything I that I had never eaten before and there was more than enough to satisfy at every meal. I especially like the coconut fish at the Pescador restaurant. The beach was beautiful and we really enjoyed watching the para-sailors from the comfortable shade of the palapas. I watched those beautiful parachutes fly up every day and finally got the nerve to try it myself! Wow!
All in all -- I can't say enough about this beautiful place! The staff was friendly, it was imaculately clean, the drinks were good, the view terrific, comfortable beds, and an amazing sunset every night! Paradise!!

Helpful?
3 Thank 73Jeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Dear 73Jeep:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,668 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#8 of 22 in Ixtapa
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Royal Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Ixtapa

Property: Park Royal Ixtapa
Address: Blvd. Ixtapa Lote No. 5-A | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Radisson Resort)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all inclusive vacation packages and specials that will allow you to do more on your visit to the beautiful Park Royal Ixtapa in Mexico. Seasonal specials and vacations are offered throughout the year, so come back often to see what’s new.Our all-inclusive program lets you enjoy yourself even more by keeping it simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Royal Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Park Royal Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Park Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing