We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Building is old and in need of an update - beds were horrible”
Review of Park Royal Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Royal Ixtapa
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Building is old and in need of an update - beds were horrible”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We are Royal Holiday owners and we were told when we joined that we would be able to get the remodeled rooms. That was not the case. Some of the rooms are still very outdated and have no view at all. We booked an ambassador room that gave us a corner view and a sitting room. We were on the 11th floor for the second time staying at this particular resort and had a view of the middle of a palm tree. The room smelled old and the beds were so uncomfortable that it was difficult sleeping. The food is buffet style and not very good. Although we paid for an all inclusive we ate out most of the time. The noise coming from the lounge was very loud.
The employees are the high light of the resort. They are the most pleasant resort workers we have experienced. The property was very clean and the ladies that cleaned are room were excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor above the 13th floor for a view. Ask for a remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Dear Theresa S

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    377
    169
    91
    55
See reviews for
363
284
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 weeks at the Park Royal. We found some favorite staff (Abraham @ the pool bar, Osvaldo - waiter in the Veranda and Pescador, Cythia - hostess, Lourdes @ the Veranda,Nicholas @ the beach bar, Luz @ the towell hut, Jose @ the Veranda and Pescador, Andres @ the lobby bar) and enjoyed talking to them as much as we could in Spanish. When we were lost for words ... we all just laughed. Our room (1921) was great, most of the food we tasted was excellent. We tried the Italian restaurant because some one said "you have to go!" We both agreed that the choice of the buffet was better. The oriental night was pretty good and so was the Tex Mex night. The BEST was the coconut fish at the Pescador ( I had that everyday for lunch - pefect serving and sooo good!) We had no problems getting a beach chair at the beach everyday. There was always fresh fruit and vegetables. The walking path right across the street can take you to Playa Linda (about an hour walk - maybe a bit longer) or you can take a bus for 9 pesos! If you walk down to the Pacifica Hotel (to the left at the very end of the beach) you can watch them feed crocodiles every day at 3pm! The great thing for us was that it was FULL of Mexicans. They were all so friendly! We loved to see the kids playing with their parents! It was quieter during the week if that's what you are looking for. The music from the chill out lounge didn't bother us, the bed was comfortable and the sun sets were nice. We will be back!

Room Tip: Room 1921 had the sunset ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvmexico506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Dear luvmexico:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Attentive staff. Nice rooms. View of the ocean is great. Easy access to the beach. Beach palapas as well as comfortable loungers close to the pool. The late night boom-boom loud music from the Chill-out Lounge is a bit noisy. Liked the pool table there but it needs much better overhead lighting! Loved the Italiano restaurant on site - risottos are wonderful. Waiter Luis was especially a joy to get to know during our six-night stay. Breakfast and lunch restaurants also have a lot of choices and quality. Coconut fish filets excellent. Enjoyed the bartenders at the swim-up and lobby bars. Mega influx of Mexican families during the Friday through Sunday weekends but we got to enjoy uncrowded time for our Sunday to next Sat. stay. Daily activities could use more attention and staff. We loved the 2 massages for 300 pesos at the massage shacks down the beach. Very nice!

Room Tip: Rooms are from the 10th floor to the 23rd floor -- we liked our room with ocean view halfway down th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Dear Janie S:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

A friend has a Royal Holiday time share, so we use it approx every other year. This is the nicest place we have stayed yet and we loved the Ixtapa/ZIhuatanejo area. The rooms were gorgeous, the weather was beautiful and the area was very easy to get around. One of the things we enjoyed was that most of the other guests were Mexican not US/Canadian tourists. Internet access could have been better - their secured wireless system wouldn't work, so we ended up using an unsecured connection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qwerty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado qwerty50:

Deseo agradecerle el tiempo que se tomo en escribirnos, permítame comentarle que revisaremos todo lo concerniente a los comentarios que nos realizó, para que en sus próximas vacaciones que nos haga el favor de visitarnos y tenga usted una excelente estancia en nuestro hotel Park Royal Ixtapa.

Reciba un cordial saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Having now stayed here two years in a row I still like this hotel. That being said I would strongly warn about the disco music noise on Friday and Saturday nights. We were on the 20th floor and it was still loud enough to vibrate and boom through the walls. Earplugs helped somewhat. The bed was extremely firm but sleepable without asking for a topper this year. The air conditioner worked and the room was cool during the day and tended to be cold at night, which was nice. However, the drip pan didn't drain properly and every two days water was all over the floor and we'd have to call maintenance in to manually drain the pan. A bit of a pain, but then again the a/c cooled great. The food was exellent and we even went to the local fish market in Zihuatanejo and brought back fresh fish that the chef in the Pescado restaraunt fixed for us that turned out fabulous. The other thing that I noted this year was the influx of families with children for the weekend. The same thing may have happened last year but we were too busy with the wedding to notice. If you want quiet with fewer kids running around avoid the weekends as earlier in the week was just about perfect. Other reviewers have said it's quieter on the other side of the hotel that does not overlook the pool and I may try that next time. All in all we had a great time and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 10, 2015
Dear Suzy K:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts. The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some parts of our beautiful place and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

You heard don't drink the water in mexico,well don't go to the villas. We had been to Ixtapa before and when a relative offered us a week of time share we choose the villas. When by chance they discovered that we did'nt own a time share it started by asking us to attend a sales presentation,we said no. At 8.30 in the morning we had a knock on our door.Would you like breakfast and a introduction to our vacation club. No less than 5 times per days we where accousted by sales people. for a minimum of 35 times in which they can't take no. They where waiting
outside the restrooms.
If you take the cost of transportation,and the long hours from New Jersey, the cost of food and local transportation etc. This is not a cheap vacation to be spoiled and this is not in a 5 star resort but an aged one and the villas are in need of upgrading and some repair.

Room Tip: .Find a week when the time share staff have all come down with a stomach virius and any room will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 10, 2015
Dear Mar1222:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts. The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some parts of our beautiful place and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ixtapa hotels

Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

It's just average hotel, it needs maintenance and improve the swimming pool.

The activities in the hotel are just good, the food is good and the location is very good.

The beds are not quite comfortable, this is another opportunity area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Himer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 10, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado Himer:

Gracias por tomarse un poco de su valioso tiempo para compartir su experiencia en Park Royal Ixtapa.

Es para nosotros muy importante la opinión de nuestros visitantes y claro que tomaremos en cuenta sus comentarios.

Cada uno de nuestros departamentos están trabajando diariamente para ofrecerle un mejor servicio en su próxima visita.

Saludos cordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,655 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#8 of 22 in Ixtapa
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Royal Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Ixtapa

Property: Park Royal Ixtapa
Address: Blvd. Ixtapa Lote No. 5-A | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Radisson Resort)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all inclusive vacation packages and specials that will allow you to do more on your visit to the beautiful Park Royal Ixtapa in Mexico. Seasonal specials and vacations are offered throughout the year, so come back often to see what’s new.Our all-inclusive program lets you enjoy yourself even more by keeping it simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Royal Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Park Royal Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Park Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing