We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great for Royal Holiday owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Royal Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Royal Ixtapa
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for Royal Holiday owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A friend has a Royal Holiday time share, so we use it approx every other year. This is the nicest place we have stayed yet and we loved the Ixtapa/ZIhuatanejo area. The rooms were gorgeous, the weather was beautiful and the area was very easy to get around. One of the things we enjoyed was that most of the other guests were Mexican not US/Canadian tourists. Internet access could have been better - their secured wireless system wouldn't work, so we ended up using an unsecured connection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qwerty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado qwerty50:

Deseo agradecerle el tiempo que se tomo en escribirnos, permítame comentarle que revisaremos todo lo concerniente a los comentarios que nos realizó, para que en sus próximas vacaciones que nos haga el favor de visitarnos y tenga usted una excelente estancia en nuestro hotel Park Royal Ixtapa.

Reciba un cordial saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    279
    132
    69
    44
See reviews for
252
213
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Having now stayed here two years in a row I still like this hotel. That being said I would strongly warn about the disco music noise on Friday and Saturday nights. We were on the 20th floor and it was still loud enough to vibrate and boom through the walls. Earplugs helped somewhat. The bed was extremely firm but sleepable without asking for a topper this year. The air conditioner worked and the room was cool during the day and tended to be cold at night, which was nice. However, the drip pan didn't drain properly and every two days water was all over the floor and we'd have to call maintenance in to manually drain the pan. A bit of a pain, but then again the a/c cooled great. The food was exellent and we even went to the local fish market in Zihuatanejo and brought back fresh fish that the chef in the Pescado restaraunt fixed for us that turned out fabulous. The other thing that I noted this year was the influx of families with children for the weekend. The same thing may have happened last year but we were too busy with the wedding to notice. If you want quiet with fewer kids running around avoid the weekends as earlier in the week was just about perfect. Other reviewers have said it's quieter on the other side of the hotel that does not overlook the pool and I may try that next time. All in all we had a great time and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 10, 2015
Dear Suzy K:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts. The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some parts of our beautiful place and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

You heard don't drink the water in mexico,well don't go to the villas. We had been to Ixtapa before and when a relative offered us a week of time share we choose the villas. When by chance they discovered that we did'nt own a time share it started by asking us to attend a sales presentation,we said no. At 8.30 in the morning we had a knock on our door.Would you like breakfast and a introduction to our vacation club. No less than 5 times per days we where accousted by sales people. for a minimum of 35 times in which they can't take no. They where waiting
outside the restrooms.
If you take the cost of transportation,and the long hours from New Jersey, the cost of food and local transportation etc. This is not a cheap vacation to be spoiled and this is not in a 5 star resort but an aged one and the villas are in need of upgrading and some repair.

Room Tip: .Find a week when the time share staff have all come down with a stomach virius and any room will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 10, 2015
Dear Mar1222:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts. The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some parts of our beautiful place and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

It's just average hotel, it needs maintenance and improve the swimming pool.

The activities in the hotel are just good, the food is good and the location is very good.

The beds are not quite comfortable, this is another opportunity area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Himer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 10, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado Himer:

Gracias por tomarse un poco de su valioso tiempo para compartir su experiencia en Park Royal Ixtapa.

Es para nosotros muy importante la opinión de nuestros visitantes y claro que tomaremos en cuenta sus comentarios.

Cada uno de nuestros departamentos están trabajando diariamente para ofrecerle un mejor servicio en su próxima visita.

Saludos cordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Mexico and Gulf Coast, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Horrible beds. Spent four very uncomfortable nights and woke up with sore, aching backs. People are nice but not worth the effort or price. Have tried it three times and probably will not go back even though we like the area.The administration did not do anything to relieve the situation. They totally ignored it. They are not sensitive to the needs of
the people staying there. i know of others who complained by to no avail. Swimming area really crowded. Food service was good. Have to watch out for the extra tourist stuff. There are different prices for the same activity. This hotel is ruined by Royal Holiday. They will hound you to death to become a member. Way overboard with the pressure

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 10, 2015
Dear Thomas S:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts. The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some parts of our beautiful place and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I was very concerned about staying at this hotel after reading the reviews. I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Let me first say it is not a 5 star facility at best 3. The facilities are in need up being updated:workout room is small and equipment is very outdated. The lobby and interior of the hotel is outdated as well. They have no rooms with king or queen beds only doubles. Our first night ,we stayed in a room that was very old, musty, and the beds felt like we were sleeping on the floor. Because I had reserved a one bedroom suite and I'm a timeshare owner there we were moved to a very modern.This room was fantastic. Only complaint is the beds are too hard and they seem to program the air conditioning unit to rise after 10 pm. We called maintenance twice because we were so hot. They came quickly and told us the temperature would lower and it did. The service staff was the best we've ever had! The 22nd floor is totally remodeled, ask to stay on that floor.

The facilities are kept immaculate. Staff is always cleaning. I would take a hard bed any day of the week over a dirty hotel. If you like clean these folks clean. Our housekeeper was on hands and knees cleaning toilets and showers. I've not seen this type of effort in some of the 5 star hotels I've stayed in. Public restroom were always being cleaned, quality control staff were always checking the food and wiping things down. We were totally impressed in this area.

The hotel has free WiFi..that was definitely a plus. I do wish there were smoke detectors in the room/building along with water sprinklers. I didn't see any, and being on the 21st floor, that was a concern for me. They did have fire extinguishers on the floor if that helps.

The staff was friendly and always willing to serve.

The food was good. Three restaurants to choose from. Veranda is open for breakfast and dinner..buffet style (meals and service good, food was usually not hot but warm). The Italian resturant requires reservations and you have to make them between noon and 4, we never had a problem with this. They are only open for dinner. The menus is limited and men must wear long pants and closed toe shoes however we enjoyed everything we ate there and it was cooked to order. Our favorite place to eat was Pescador Grill. It is only open for lunch, wish it was open for all meals. It's buffet and cooked to order menu. Love, love, loved it!. There is a small grill by the pool that is open most of the day for snacks such as burgers, chips, hotdogs, and nachos.

Service in all the restaurants was fantastic..Cynthia the hostess, and Elizabeth one of our waitresses were incredible. Benicia the Royal Holiday staff/hotel employee was hands down the best.


We enjoyed the family atmosphere. There were plenty of kids, but all well behaved. If you are trying to get away from kids don't choose this hotel. For us it was a blessing to see so many families vacationing together. On the weekends there are definitedly more kids but again that didnt bother us.

We were really impressed that despite this being an all inclusive which meant all the alcohol you could drink, no one, absolutely no one was drunk, belligerent, or out of order with their conduct.

We felt very safe outside of the hotel. There is a 9 mile bike/walkining trail across the street from the hotel, lots of little shops and restaurants.

The pool area is kept sparking clean with plenty of chairs and umbrellas.

Taxi's come by the dozen. A one way trip to the airport (15-20 minutes away) is roughly 20 bucks. The key is to make sure the price is set before you drive off.

All in all this was one of the best vacations weve had in a while. We would return, but would definitely check to see if they've changed their beds and updated the facilities first. Beds were just to hard.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the 22nd floor. All the room on the 22nd floor have been remodeled and hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bdanasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 10, 2015
Dear Bdanasgir...

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some parts of our beautiful place and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at the Park Royal in Feb. and had a very nice stay. The hotel and grounds were very clean with staff constantly cleaning throughout the day. The staff were friendly and accommodating. A safe in the room would have been helpful. The beds were extremely hard and did not know to ask re a topper. The pool was beautiful and we never had a problem getting a deck chair. The food and bar service were very good. It would have been nice to have one more ala carte restaurant especially when you are staying for 2 weeks or more. We would have really appreciated being able to keep our bracelet on the day we were leaving until time to go to the airport as our flight left very late in the day and our checkout time was hours earlier. Overall, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on top floor away from disco and it was a lovely view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rn526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 10, 2015
Estimada rn526:

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some parts of our beautiful place and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.1 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#11 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#20 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Royal Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Ixtapa

Property: Park Royal Ixtapa
Address: Blvd. Ixtapa Lote No. 5-A | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Radisson Resort)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all inclusive vacation packages and specials that will allow you to do more on your visit to the beautiful Park Royal Ixtapa in Mexico. Seasonal specials and vacations are offered throughout the year, so come back often to see what’s new.Our all-inclusive program lets you enjoy yourself even more by keeping it simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Park Royal Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Park Royal Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Park Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing