We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“It needs renovation and the swimming pool is very small :(” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Royal Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Park Royal Ixtapa
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It needs renovation and the swimming pool is very small :(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

It's just average hotel, it needs maintenance and improve the swimming pool.

The activities in the hotel are just good, the food is good and the location is very good.

The beds are not quite comfortable, this is another opportunity area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Himer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 10, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado Himer:

Gracias por tomarse un poco de su valioso tiempo para compartir su experiencia en Park Royal Ixtapa.

Es para nosotros muy importante la opinión de nuestros visitantes y claro que tomaremos en cuenta sus comentarios.

Cada uno de nuestros departamentos están trabajando diariamente para ofrecerle un mejor servicio en su próxima visita.

Saludos cordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    297
    140
    76
    47
See reviews for
273
230
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Mexico and Gulf Coast, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Horrible beds. Spent four very uncomfortable nights and woke up with sore, aching backs. People are nice but not worth the effort or price. Have tried it three times and probably will not go back even though we like the area.The administration did not do anything to relieve the situation. They totally ignored it. They are not sensitive to the needs of
the people staying there. i know of others who complained by to no avail. Swimming area really crowded. Food service was good. Have to watch out for the extra tourist stuff. There are different prices for the same activity. This hotel is ruined by Royal Holiday. They will hound you to death to become a member. Way overboard with the pressure

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 10, 2015
Dear Thomas S:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts. The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some parts of our beautiful place and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ixtapa hotels

Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

I was very concerned about staying at this hotel after reading the reviews. I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Let me first say it is not a 5 star facility at best 3. The facilities are in need up being updated:workout room is small and equipment is very outdated. The lobby and interior of the hotel is outdated as well. They have no rooms with king or queen beds only doubles. Our first night ,we stayed in a room that was very old, musty, and the beds felt like we were sleeping on the floor. Because I had reserved a one bedroom suite and I'm a timeshare owner there we were moved to a very modern.This room was fantastic. Only complaint is the beds are too hard and they seem to program the air conditioning unit to rise after 10 pm. We called maintenance twice because we were so hot. They came quickly and told us the temperature would lower and it did. The service staff was the best we've ever had! The 22nd floor is totally remodeled, ask to stay on that floor.

The facilities are kept immaculate. Staff is always cleaning. I would take a hard bed any day of the week over a dirty hotel. If you like clean these folks clean. Our housekeeper was on hands and knees cleaning toilets and showers. I've not seen this type of effort in some of the 5 star hotels I've stayed in. Public restroom were always being cleaned, quality control staff were always checking the food and wiping things down. We were totally impressed in this area.

The hotel has free WiFi..that was definitely a plus. I do wish there were smoke detectors in the room/building along with water sprinklers. I didn't see any, and being on the 21st floor, that was a concern for me. They did have fire extinguishers on the floor if that helps.

The staff was friendly and always willing to serve.

The food was good. Three restaurants to choose from. Veranda is open for breakfast and dinner..buffet style (meals and service good, food was usually not hot but warm). The Italian resturant requires reservations and you have to make them between noon and 4, we never had a problem with this. They are only open for dinner. The menus is limited and men must wear long pants and closed toe shoes however we enjoyed everything we ate there and it was cooked to order. Our favorite place to eat was Pescador Grill. It is only open for lunch, wish it was open for all meals. It's buffet and cooked to order menu. Love, love, loved it!. There is a small grill by the pool that is open most of the day for snacks such as burgers, chips, hotdogs, and nachos.

Service in all the restaurants was fantastic..Cynthia the hostess, and Elizabeth one of our waitresses were incredible. Benicia the Royal Holiday staff/hotel employee was hands down the best.


We enjoyed the family atmosphere. There were plenty of kids, but all well behaved. If you are trying to get away from kids don't choose this hotel. For us it was a blessing to see so many families vacationing together. On the weekends there are definitedly more kids but again that didnt bother us.

We were really impressed that despite this being an all inclusive which meant all the alcohol you could drink, no one, absolutely no one was drunk, belligerent, or out of order with their conduct.

We felt very safe outside of the hotel. There is a 9 mile bike/walkining trail across the street from the hotel, lots of little shops and restaurants.

The pool area is kept sparking clean with plenty of chairs and umbrellas.

Taxi's come by the dozen. A one way trip to the airport (15-20 minutes away) is roughly 20 bucks. The key is to make sure the price is set before you drive off.

All in all this was one of the best vacations weve had in a while. We would return, but would definitely check to see if they've changed their beds and updated the facilities first. Beds were just to hard.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the 22nd floor. All the room on the 22nd floor have been remodeled and hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bdanasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 10, 2015
Dear Bdanasgir...

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some parts of our beautiful place and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at the Park Royal in Feb. and had a very nice stay. The hotel and grounds were very clean with staff constantly cleaning throughout the day. The staff were friendly and accommodating. A safe in the room would have been helpful. The beds were extremely hard and did not know to ask re a topper. The pool was beautiful and we never had a problem getting a deck chair. The food and bar service were very good. It would have been nice to have one more ala carte restaurant especially when you are staying for 2 weeks or more. We would have really appreciated being able to keep our bracelet on the day we were leaving until time to go to the airport as our flight left very late in the day and our checkout time was hours earlier. Overall, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on top floor away from disco and it was a lovely view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rn526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 10, 2015
Estimada rn526:

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some parts of our beautiful place and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary alberta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at Park Royal the week of Easter break. The hotel was wonderful, very clean and friendly., but very busy at that time, mostly with Mexican tourists. The rooms were average with a nice balcony overlooking the pool area. The beds were comfortable and we did not need a bed topper. The food was very good most days, lots to choose from and the staff was excellent! Pool was nice, lots of chairs and shaded areas. Two different washroom areas close by, plus a fitness gym, and store. There is a restaurant near the water which is a nice change from the main buffet. Beer came served in a cold frosty mug. You could order specialty of the day or have buffet. We ate a few times at the snack bar which had burgers, nachos,pizza, ect. Beach was beautiful with a soft brown sand, lots going on with parasailing, banana boats, and travelling musicians. Our son went parasailing which was 25$ for 10 minutes, those guys were very busy and had things down to a science, perfect landings! We went to the a la carte restaurant twice and the Italian meals were very good with excellent service. The staff really strive for you to enjoy yourself and relax. We had no problem or line up to make reservations, wish we had gone more there. The Chill lounge, night club was comfortable, mostly beds to relax on, but the music was played way too loud!! It was impossible to talk there and mainly complaints that the music went past 2am, very loud. We did get used to it but bring earplugs. Ixtapa was a wonderful place and I will definitely go back there. I would stay again at Park Royal. The one negative would be the time share people at the elevator exit. They were friendly but sometimes annoying. We were grateful to have our Westjet Rep. named Ulysis who was a great help, very friendly, non-demanding and reassuring to help ease any concerns we had. Overall Had a great time!!

Room Tip: King size bed rooms have the best view but the loudest music!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poolmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 10, 2015
Dear poolmom:

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some parts of our beautiful place and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

We had the best vacation at Park Royal Ixtapa. The staff was always friendly, helpful and courteous. The resort is very clean. We enjoyed the food and were surprised the selection was better than at other Park Royal resorts we stayed in. However, the birds if you sit outside for breakfast are thiefs if you leave food on your table and were a bit annoying. We also enjoyed the excellent service at the Pescador from Adrian and one other waiter. The live music at lunch and in the evening was fabulous. Alycia, the waitress in the lobby was very good too. The nightclub on the beach is the best. We also enjoyed the bike tour through the conservation park and borrowed the bikes for several of our own excursions. That was a nice feature. We drank too many chango sucios and felt that all alcoholic beverages were free poured and not watered down as in some other resorts. We took several day excursions and really enjoyed the countryside tour where we went to Petatlan, Xihuacan (archeological site), Barra dePacotas. It was a full day with amazing memories. Some reviews said the beds were too hard. They were firm and not a problem for us as we slept very well. We had to ask to get moved due to strong smells of paint where they were renovating down the hall. We were very happy to be moved to the top floor corner where we had views of both directions on the beach and a very large balcony. We plan to return in January!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aquaaurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 10, 2015
Google Translation
Estimada Aquaauror...:

Le agradecemos profundamente el que se haya hospedado en nuestro hotel y sobre todo que haya disfrutado de nuestras instalaciones, restaurantes, sus alimentos y la calidez de nuestro personal, las mejoras que se le han hecho al hotel, es precisamente, pensando en que ustedes nuestros clientes, pasen una estancia inolvidable.

La invitamos a que regrese pronto, para poderle ofrecer nuevamente un excelente servicio a usted y su apreciable familia.

Saludos cordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Just got back from Park Royal Ixtapa, We went as a group of 21 ages from 19-55,. Had a great time, Arrival was fast, Everyone at front desk great. We were given our rooms, called down for bed topper, it arrived within minutes. Food was good too. buffet is just that a buffet, it changes everyday. Italian was fantastic, however much too much food to eat, Second time I just had antipasta and entree much better. Pescador for lunch was fantastic. Bartenders were wonderful never without a smile, were willing to learn new drinks. All enjoyed disco at night, wish karoke would have been held at the disco hall and held for a longer period. Walking distance to Sr. Frogs and others. Taxi to Zihua 6.00. All and all it was a great time, we are booking for Cozumel next year and you will find us at the "Park Royal"

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diamondgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 10, 2015
Dear diamondgi...:


We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts. The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some parts of our beautiful place and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#20 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#12 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Royal Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Ixtapa

Property: Park Royal Ixtapa
Address: Blvd. Ixtapa Lote No. 5-A | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Radisson Resort)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all inclusive vacation packages and specials that will allow you to do more on your visit to the beautiful Park Royal Ixtapa in Mexico. Seasonal specials and vacations are offered throughout the year, so come back often to see what’s new.Our all-inclusive program lets you enjoy yourself even more by keeping it simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Park Royal Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Park Royal Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Park Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing