We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Park Royal Ixtapa
Nearby Hotels
$157
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
$242
$169
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$88
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$272
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Posada Real Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$108
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$375
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,036)
Filter reviews
1,036 results
Traveler rating
217
434
222
105
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
434
222
105
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian restaurantel pescadorla verandapescador restauranttoed shoessnack barpool deckhigher floorpresidential suitesales peopleat noonocean viewfrench friesnachosmain lobbyall inclusive hotellobby area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 1,036 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I spent one week there during January. The hotel is incredible! The staff is really friendly and the area just looks like paradise! At the end of the day you can enjoy an amazing sundown in the Pacific Ocean. The food is also delicious and there's enough for everyone, no need to fill your plates to be sure to have a dessert ;)
I wish I could go back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tibonomeColdtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2015

Estimado tibonomeC:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel and was VERY pleased! Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Hotel itself was immaculate. Staff is cleaning all day. Pool is so fun for kids (and adults) there is a swim platform in the middle of the pool. Kids were jumping off it all day!! They were having SO much fun. Relaxing atmosphere, great food and the beach is spectacular. Parasailing right on the beach as well as massages. Italian restaurant (reservation only) on site was absolutely delicious. Would stay again. Highly recommend. Also, Ixtapa is a great place to shop and sightsee. Felt VERY safe at all times. Went out to the nearby city, Zihuatanero, for an evening meal and shopping and felt very safe. (We did stay on the main streets that were well lit).

Room Tip: They are all Ocean view with a balcony. You can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank djbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2015

Dear djbas:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We just spent a week at the Park Royal. The staff is fantastic and we were never bothered by the timeshare people while we were there. The ocean view from the room is the best. The rooms are average without a lot of bells and whistles, but just fine for us. The beach is great, except for the hard plastic lounge chairs and the pool area is really nice and has comfy lounge chairs. The biggest negative was the food which was just ok and lukewarm at best without a lot of variety and the times that the restaurants are open don't overlap, so from noon-1:30 they are both closed except for the snack bar by the pool (slight inconvenience). The Disco played down by the pool until 2 a.m. on some of the nights and could be heard loud and clear by everyone at the hotel and 1/2 the resorts on the strip! The beds are hard, but I asked for a mattress topper at check-in and that made a world of difference. I was surprised that they actually played some American music down by the pool and several of the wait staff could speak fairly good English and were fun to chat with. The waves outside of the hotel are huge and it's not a very good swimming beach, but fun to listen to at night and watch. We really liked the area and weather was perfect! If you go, please tip the staff they work hard and deserve it! We liked the hotel, but I gave it 3 stars just because of the food.

Room Tip: I think that the majority of the rooms are ocean view.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank timetovacation45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2015

Dear timetovac...:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed for one week, and glad we did not decide to book for two. We booked upon reading reviews and the 4.5 star rating on the selloff site. I guess we missed reading reviews that would have made us decide to look elsewhere. The park Royal is a must ask, never offered resort. The beds were hard as stated but after my back and leg were killing me, I asked the front desk if anything could be done and in five minutes we had a bed topper which made all the difference. The food at the buffet showed potential if it was the least bit hot. Always cold no matter what time we were there. Day 3 we saw people eating toast and bacon, again discovered it was a must ask not offered. No toaster at the buffet which I had never not had on any trip. Salad bar was always great and fresh. The disco club was open from 9pm till 2 am, so every night we were woken up about 2:05 to loud guests returning to their rooms. The pool bar offers no service till 11 am, But not offered you may ask for a water before they do open. The weather and ocean were awesome, but that is hardly the work of the Park Royal. The band in the lounge was very good for a nice relaxing drink. Two nights while we were there of karaoke from the guests is NOT my idea of a 4.5 star night show entertainment.

As a side note, there are safety deposit boxes at the front desk, however, your box number is on your key and they don't follow proper security protocol and verify identity or have you sign. If you lose your key, everything could be cleaned out.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jazzy2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2015

Dear jazzy2you:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We recently travelled to Ixtapa for our second visit to this lovely area. The weather there is wonderful and that is a lot of what drew us back. This time we went thru Air Canada Vacations and the flight was very enjoyable. Customs clearing and transfers to resort were handled very well. Return trip was equally enjoyable, flawless and handled very well by Air Canada. Perhaps the best part of the return however was finally getting out of the Park Royal resort.

My wife and I are seasoned travellers having done multiple trips for over 30 years. We've stayed at countless resorts, hotels and villas over these many years. Royal Park Ixtapa, while it had some merit, is without a doubt the single worst experience that we have ever been subjected too.

The room we were given was fine. It had the king sized bed we requested as well as a very nice ocean front view. The bed was an absolute horror though. If you go there, we'd suggest you immediately request a foam topper for the bed. Had we not gotten that by the third night we would have had to leave. Others have said this before that the beds are hard. They are not kidding! BTW. No in room fridge and no in room vault? Loose 1/2 star at least in my opinion.

The timeshare/club membership salesreps are absolutely relentless. We tried numerous times to be courteous and kind and say no thank you, but they just keep coming and coming. One saleslady in particular was overly pushy and even tried to lay a guilt trip on us that she needed to sign us up for the tour so she would get her 200 peso commission. We told her it was a lost cause because we had no interest but she just kept jumping on us numerous times during the day. We'd had enough by the fifth day and finally told her to take us off their list of marks. Being firm finally seemed to sink in and we weren't accosted again during the remainder of our trip. We're not unfamiliar with these sort of sales tactics from other resorts, but in the past it always seemed that one polite no-thank you was enough. Apparently here they expect to keep pushing until you finally give in or pop a vein.

PS. We did overhear a lot of the "pitches" in the lobby bar and around the pool and they are just as high pressure once you're into their clutches. They constantly are moving you to the close without giving details or specifics.

Lose another 1/2 star as far as these aggressive sales tactics as far as we are concerned.

The food... don't know where to even start with this one. Without a doubt, the food was the biggest disappointment. There are few venues to choose from to begin with at any point in time. Mostly it is buffet style, with one Italian ala-carte restaurant. We tried the Italian three times and it was totally hit and miss. The first attempt was poor, the second was not bad actually, and the third was so bad we left before finishing our meals.

As for the buffet restaurants... the food selections were pretty weak. They did attempt some theme nights, but their themes are totally out of sync. Chinese Night features Sushi and Tempura? Aside from little gaffs like that though, there was only one consistent theme that the buffet restaurants offered, that being "cold food!".

Seriously, we couldn't get anything warm. There was one senior manager that was constantly roaming around all the restaurants and facilities to inspect everything (I suspect he was the Food and Beverage Manager for the resort). He was always around and looking at everything. I suggest that the resort should invest in getting him a temperature probe to inspect the food being offered to the guests. He could then easily see why the plates being returned were still so full with uneaten food.

Lose one full star for the food quality as far as we are concerned.

As I said earlier, my wife and I have travelled for over 30 years and we have stayed at numerous resorts. We have written up reviews before on this site and have never had cause to say anything really negative. In this case, we cannot say anything positive about the Park Royal Ixtapa resort. Air Canada Vacations did their job getting us there in back in total comfort, but I'd suggest they might want to remove this particular resort from their offerings because the resort itself is not becoming of their quality of offering.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greg_Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2015

Dear Greg_Calg...:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews